1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

windows xp pro wont load, virus maybe?

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Saithen, Jul 31, 2003.

  1. Saithen

    Saithen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I searched the forum and didn't find anything about it so I hope its ok to post this...Anyways I turn on my comp. and it says windows can't load. I tried loading in safe mode and all other modes but it freezes. I've tried installing it again but it was a no go. I have no idea what to do, so if some one could help that would be great. Thanx
     
  2. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You want me advice?? format!! re-partition the drive and then install it again :)
     
  3. Saithen

    Saithen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried that and it still wont load windows...its acting like the hard drives not there, but I put it in mine and it shows up along with windows...could it be some other hard ware? If so I have no idea what it could be. Is it possible that the virus/worm affected somthing eles?
     
  4. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    maybe u have to think about another hdd then?
     
  5. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Does your BIOS correctly detect the drives?
     
  6. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yes actually good question because the same thing hapopened to me b4!!Sadly i lost a lot that time :-(
     
  7. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Same... spent a week trying to figure out how to install W98SE onto a dead hdd! hehe Oh the memories!
     
  8. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yep, I had at least 40gb of great stuff on that hdd!! sucks sooo bad!!
     
  9. xbennyboy

    xbennyboy Guest

    Check the memory speed. My comp supports PC 100 only and I put in a PC 133 and Windows wouldn't boot up. Also notice that Windows 95/98/ME have a 512 MB maximum memory size limit so don't add too much memory.
     

Share This Page