1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

winrar error???????

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by babymmm, Nov 1, 2004.

  1. babymmm

    babymmm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i got a winrar file the other day and when ever i go to extract it goe for so long then near the end it says " write erro: only NTFS file system supports files larger than 4 GB"
    is there any way i can extract this file?
     
  2. -LoNeR-

    -LoNeR- Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    well, do you have a fat32 system? if so it has a maximum file size of 4 gigs alowed - you will have to convert to ntfs if you want to extract it - or do it on someone else's machine
     
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    could you directly extract that to a dvd-ram disc?
     
  4. -LoNeR-

    -LoNeR- Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    no - you would have to burn to disc
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Are you sure? Can you not use dvd-ram discs as udf?
     
  6. -LoNeR-

    -LoNeR- Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    udf still has to be burned
     
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hmmm, interesting so you can't use a program like incd on dvds then. Because when i did that, it reduced capacity (annoyingly) but let me use the disc as it were a hard disk or floppy disk, without needing to burn. In that case, looks like my only option is to convert to ntfs. bummer.
     
  8. -LoNeR-

    -LoNeR- Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ewww

    don't use incd - it will mess up you computer...
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    lol i don't any more after what you said happened to me!!!

    it was a very poorly engineered program but it did have its uses...
     
  10. -LoNeR-

    -LoNeR- Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    kool

    lol - hows your extractin goin?
     
  11. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well, still not at the moment as i have yet to convert my hard disk to ntfs...
    Interestingly enough, incd was only installed (and allowed to cause havoc) on my old pc, on which the cd-writer (the worst pc component i have ever bought) is now deceased. It is this cd-writer that means i have vowed never to buy anything from acer/benq ever again. You're probably thinking along the lines of it destroying a disc or overloading my power supply or something horrific. That isn't actually the case, it just broke 12 days after having it installed. However, what makes this so bad is that i had it replaced and the same thing happened, only this time after 18 days. Worst £95 spent ever. (this was in 2000/2001 when 40x20x10s cost that much).
    I now have an okay (working but slow) dvd-ram drive (the infamous matshita sw-9581) but haven't had any problems (touches wood) with that so far...
     
  12. babymmm

    babymmm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    how would i convert my hd to ntfs??????
     
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well,you use the following doa command in cmd.exe for xp.

    CONVERT C:/fs:ntfs (if you want to convert drive C:)
    i'm not sure if i want to go ahead with it yet thoughin case something goes wrong...
     
  14. babymmm

    babymmm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what do i lose if i do this? space? programs? files?
     
  15. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hopefully nothing...
     

Share This Page