1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wireless router for MAC and PC

Discussion in 'Mac - General discussion' started by dogfssgrl, Mar 12, 2007.

  1. dogfssgrl

    dogfssgrl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can anyone tell me what is the best wireless router to use to connect both a MAC and a PC computer.
     
  2. neurokasm

    neurokasm Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2007
  3. Guided

    Guided Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I recommend it aswell, I had my 3 macs and my tablet pc getting wireless off it, works like a dream.
     
  4. dogfssgrl

    dogfssgrl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i ordered this router and received it in the mail and on the box it stated that it required a Windows platform. my Mac runs of OSX so i returned the router. any other suggestions?
     
  5. Guided

    Guided Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  6. neurokasm

    neurokasm Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hmm, thats wierd. my mac works splendid with it. maybe you have to use windows to set it up? i used windows to set it up, so i dunno

    edit: did you try to install it on your mac?
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2007
  7. Guided

    Guided Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just remembered I have the same router, Wireless G, and I have no problems when I have my PC and Macs connect it.
     
  8. 27stories

    27stories Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'd suggest one of the Apple brand base stations (Airport Extreme), for one simple reason: many of the new intel macs have trouble connecting to 3rd party routers because of firmware and security issues (make sure you're using the right kind of encryption!). Intel Macs seem to have the most trouble with 2Wire routers.

    If you have a powerpc based Mac, just about any router should work fine, and if you have an intel Mac, just make sure your firmware is up to date on both the router and the Mac.

    I've had good success with my iBook on a Linksys, and had decent success with a friend's Netgear too.
     
  9. amanda501

    amanda501 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a couple of questions:

    dogfssgrl I was wondering if you have hooked up your wireless router yet and was wondering if it worked to hook it up directly to the mac.

    Also I have a desktop mac so will I have to get a wireless card or can I keep it plugged in. And since my windows laptop havs a wireless card built into it I will not have to buy another one right?

    Clearly I am not computer literate, lol, but I am hoping someone can help me:) Thanks
     
  10. neurokasm

    neurokasm Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you can keep your mac desktop plugged in, and no, you won't need another card for your laptop pc.
     
  11. dogfssgrl

    dogfssgrl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i never did hook up that Lynx wireless router because on the box it stated that it required a Windows Platform. So, i returned it to the retailer. the last wireless router that i tried wasn't able to connect to my MaC and i only found that out after spending an hour hooking it up and talking to tech support on the phone. i've been trying to avoid spending the $179 and getting the Mac Airport wireless station. I KNOW that will work, i was just trying to spend less $$.
     
  12. dogfssgrl

    dogfssgrl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  13. vegetado

    vegetado Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi,
    i just got a macbook pro, but am a long time pc user. my pc is huge and i wish to use it as my data base, and use my mac for application (mostly final cut pro). is it possible to link both system together as a network?
    can i use my pc as a scratch disk to store my media files, that will be used on final cut pro on my macbook?
    my goal would be to set my pc as if it would be an external hard drive.
    thanks for any solution, i will be really appreciated.
     
  14. josh99

    josh99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    linksys WRT54GL is pretty good
     
  15. faqman98

    faqman98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    could i pop the wireless card from my laptop into my pc desktop
     
  16. Karma50

    Karma50 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Any wireless router should work with any computer as long as you have a working wireless adapter in it. IEEE sets standards that all WiFi networks use that is universal to all Operating Systems. You might have trouble connecting at the fastest speed. (ie. 802.11n standards are not finalized so you might have trouble connecting a Linksys adapter to a Netgear router at the "n" speed but it will still be backwards compatible at the "g" speed.) I have had an Intel mac (Macbook Core Duo) for almost a year and I have never had a problem with a wireless network.

    That said, routers come with CDs that allow you to set up the network with a wizard. This wizard is commonly for Windows only which is why it says on the box that it is not compatible with Mac or Linux. But it is not that difficult to configure the router manually from any computer that has an internet browser. Just type in the IP address for your router into the URL bar of your browser (usually something like 192.168.0.0) check your router documentation for the address.

    You can absolutely connect your PC with your Mac. Once they are both on the network, Right click on the folder you want to share and go to sharing options and share the folder. This should make it appear under your Networks folder on the root level of your Mac. However you definitely do not want to use the PC drive over a network as a scratch disk. Final Cut (or any other program that uses one) uses the scratch disk as a place to write info it is accessing regularly (kinda like RAM) so it will substantially slow you down to set the scratch disk as a network drive. You should probably just pull files over as you need them or spring for a larger HD for the Mac.

    I don't know what this means. Desktops don't have PC card slots (formerly called PCMCIA) and Laptops don't have PCI card slots. So I think the answer to this question is no. But I might have misunderstood.
     
  17. daspand

    daspand Guest

    Ok im really having trouble in settin up my Router D link Dl-524 . i cant access the router menu ? i tried 192.168.0.1

    , 192.168.0.2 , 192.168.1.1 ,even 192.168.0.253 still it didnt work ? i cant access the menu so i got this cmd Config all info and here it is any suggestion on how to access the menu ? i installed the driver thx.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Aamir and Abeer>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : p4-affan
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com

    Ethernet adapter Hamachi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Hamachi Network Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7A-79-05-A8-66-65
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 5.168.102.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 5.0.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, May 26, 2007 9:21:10 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, May 26, 2007 9:25:25 PM

    Ethernet adapter Roger Yahoo!:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Scientific-Atlanta WebSTAR 2000 seri
    es Cable Modem
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-92-FA-2C-63
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.96.31.83
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.128
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 74.96.31.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.96.30.129
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.71.255.198
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, May 26, 2007 8:21:54 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, June 02, 2007 8:21:54 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Aamir and Abeer>
     

Share This Page