1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wireless Router

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by rvn1, Mar 21, 2007.

  1. rvn1

    rvn1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What is the best wireless router to use with the PS3? Or is it just better to use a wired router? and if so which one is best?
     
  2. gkmpb4

    gkmpb4 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the PS3 is Gigabit ready so using a cable will be better as long as your network can run at 1000tbase instead of a hundred. May have to see if your ISP supports it. I may be wrong, you mayjust have to get the router that supports that speed. I havent heard anywhere where someone has teken advantage of the 1000tbase network connection for the ps3 but Im sure they are somewhere here in Afterdawn. Here is the one I want to get.

    http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Sate...nksys/Common/VisitorWrapper&lid=3266539789B03
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2007
  3. Mr_Pink

    Mr_Pink Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I have the linksys gaming adapter. I got the netgear rangemax router. I have absolutely no drops in signal strength. In fact, I've been downloading like crazy. If you can do a wired connection, go for it--it won't ever hurt. I had to go wireless (my modem/router is in the basement, i'm two floors up) so I tried many combinations that didn't work until I got to the linksys game adapter.
     
  4. sanecrazy

    sanecrazy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  5. Mr_Pink

    Mr_Pink Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    That router looks good. So, I'm assuming you don't have a router in your place? You can get the fastest router in the world but if you're laptop, desktop, or whatever else can't support that speed, the extra money spent on the router is a waste.

    The reason I have the rangemax is because my room is 2 levels up from the router. Both my desktop PC and laptop PC are 54mbps, even though the router is 108 mbps.

    Here's the game adapter I have: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16873999102

    With a wireless network set up, to hook up this adapter to the PS3 is simple as hell.

    54 mbps may be nothing but I still download the updates and games in less than 10 minutes. I'm sure the faster speeds are great but I'm not about to replace everything in my house for it.
     
  6. sanecrazy

    sanecrazy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  7. Mr_Pink

    Mr_Pink Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Do you have the 20 gig or the 60 gig? If you have the 60 gig, you don't need anything other than a wireless network set up in your house. The PS3 should detect it.

    If you have the 20 gig, like I do, you need to get it enabled for the internet. The way to do this is to directly connect it to a wireless internet enabled PC--through an ethernet cable. Depending on settings, this can be a real PITA.

    To simplify things, you can get the game adapter that I mentioned earlier and that you linked to. That game adapter is basically a wireless card that can stand on its own. You plug an ethernet cable into the PS3, coming from that adapter, and voila.

     
  8. sanecrazy

    sanecrazy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Are right ive got the 60 gig one. We cant buy the "0 gig one in the UK. So ill just be getting the router then.
     
  9. Mr_Pink

    Mr_Pink Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    There ya go!

    Since the PS3 is so advanced, if you don't have any additional PCs/Macs in your house--which you probably don't since this will be your first router, you should spring for the fastest router to work with the PS3 (remember I said it was useless if you have plenty of other computers that are only capable of 54 mbps etc.). It doesn't hurt to have faster downloads etc.

    So, yeah, get a router, set up a wireless network, turn on your PS3 and go from there (I'm assuming all you have to do is some simple work with the PS3 60).

     
  10. sanecrazy

    sanecrazy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    HA i like it
     

Share This Page