1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Write error when using Winrar or unzipping ISO files???

Discussion in 'PS2' started by jeph2k3, Aug 30, 2004.

  1. jeph2k3

    jeph2k3 Guest

    WinRar diagnostic message..."There is not enough space on the disK. Only NTFS file system supports files larger than 4GB! Is the message that I keep getting when I have been trying to unzip the ISO files from a certain few PS2 games. What am I doing weong? I have plenty of space! HELP!!!!
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    thats because your hd is in fat32 format and cant support files over 4gigs (which the iso's appear to be). what os are you running?
     
  3. nrk4594

    nrk4594 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You'll have to format your hard disk to NTFS.

    1)Go to My Computer
    2)Right Click on the Hard Drive
    3)Choose Format
    4)Choose NTFS as the File System
    5)Click Start
     
  4. Xian

    Xian Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you run XP or Windows 2000 you can convert your file system to NTFS by typing the following at a command prompt:
    convert [drive letter]/fs:ntfs
    This is a one way conversion, you can't go back to FAT file systems without reformatting.
    If you are running Windows ME or 98 then you are stuck. As sly said, the FAT32 file system only supports a maxiumum file size of 4 gigs and those OS's do not support NTFS.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2004
  5. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Nrk, wouldn't that format the drive also, which im sure he doesn't want to do? thats why there is the convert command as xian suggested.
     
  6. jeph2k3

    jeph2k3 Guest

    What do you mean by "A" command prompt? Run and then type in the command or is there another method that you guys are speaking of? I don't think either of the .iso files are 4gbytes or more either.
     
  7. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    what operating system are you running?
     
  8. jeph2k3

    jeph2k3 Guest

    XP professional
     
  9. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    is you c: drive the only one you have? if so, select start-run and type cmd. it will bring up the command prompt. then type convert c:/fs:ntfs
    Even if this doesn't fix your current problem, it will save you troubles down the road.
     
  10. GendoInve

    GendoInve Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My mistake, didn't see a delete post so this will be here for a while
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2004
  11. jeph2k3

    jeph2k3 Guest

    Should I take these steps in general any time I set a new operating system in effect? I usually go with two HDD's so I was just wondering for when I set up the new system I am putting together. Oh yeah, thanks for the advice! Everything worked out perfectly!
     
  12. jeph2k3

    jeph2k3 Guest

    Not to change the subject but how do you up your status as an Afterdawn member...ie. newbie, junior member, senior member, Afterdawn Addict!!!????? :)
     
  13. cek12345

    cek12345 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello everyone.
    This is on a similar topic and I wanted to post here to not create a topic if I can help it.
    I have a file that is about 3 gb's and I try to extract it from the "rars" onto my fat32 drive and it gives me that error that this topic poster was talking about. I then try to extract the file from it's "rars" from the fat32 drive to my ntsc drive and I get the same error. What is going on?
    Also I'm using Windows 2000 Professional operating system and extracting the file using WinRar.
     
  14. jeph2k3

    jeph2k3 Guest

    Why don't you just copy over the complete zip file to the other drive and then try to unzip the files? I don'y know if your OS has anything to do with it but the information that they gave me was pertaining to XP.
     
  15. sikersh

    sikersh Guest

    Hi,
    I have recently had the same problem, I tried to extract a file of over 4GB using WinRAR and it came up with the same error message.

    My operating system is WindowsME.

    Is there a way around this? Maybe using WinISO?

    Any help much appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  16. datatrek

    datatrek Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WinISO will only allow you to view the file after it has been extracted from the winrar file.
    As Xian said

     

Share This Page