1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox 360 Burning backups problem -- layer break?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by amuncey, Feb 23, 2007.

  1. amuncey

    amuncey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,
    I have got my hands on a samsung drive, so can rip fine (with schtrom or xbox backup creater).

    I have a nice stealth rip sitting here ready to burn.

    I am attempting to burn using any app possible (xbox backup doesnt burn, neither dvd decrypter/imgburn.

    Although i am using cheap media (Aone) dvd+r of course, and a laptop! burner (sony dw-q58a)

    However i am having troubles, dvd decrypter says:

    I/O error
    interpretation: send dvd structure dvd+r boundary info...
    /...
    interpretation: write protected
    ...

    Xbox backup creator:

    action:set layer 0 capacity
    WRITE PROTECTED
    cdb:send dvd structure


    Any ideas?

    P.S I changed book type to dvd-rom, and in dvd decrypter/imgburn set layer break to 1913760.

    Cheers
    Muncey
     
  2. mikeismad

    mikeismad Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    open notepad and type


    <filename>.iso
    Layerbreak=1913760


    save as filename.dvd and replace <filename> with the name of the iso file and burn that .dvd file with xbox backup creator
     
  3. techguy26

    techguy26 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    have you tried clonecd I would say get that and give it a go.
     
  4. amuncey

    amuncey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,
    Thanks for the reply guys,
    The first reply - i tried already, in fact xbox backup creater automatically creates this file, so no luck there.

    The second post, yes ive tried clonce cd, but...
    It fails and gives the least helpfull description of why it fails, it just says "burn failed" or sumthing along those lines.
    Any other ideas, or is it looking like the pioneer 111 for me?
    Muncey
     
  5. amuncey

    amuncey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    also i should mention ive tried different firmwares for the drive.
     
  6. mikeismad

    mikeismad Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ummm have you updated your drivers for your burner? and it could be that you have crap media and the discs are just faulty and wont let the layer break be set right
     
  7. amuncey

    amuncey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,
    Thanks for the reply,
    It would probably help if i mentioned what the drive is:
    Sony dw-q58a, (rebadged LiteOn SOSW-8?3S)
    The media i am using is cheap... :
    http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/119508

    although people report it works for some drives..
    Drivers seem to be a bit thin, if you find one, give me a shout!
    cheers
    Muncey
     
  8. mikeismad

    mikeismad Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    here is what you need
     
  9. amuncey

    amuncey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,
    Thanks for the link however..
    I think that is a firmware for the drive, which i am currently already running.
    Looks like ill invest into a pioneer :(
    Thanks anyway guys!
    Muncey!
     

Share This Page