1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox 360 Elite Flashing

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by kayum, Nov 8, 2007.

1. kayum

kayum Member

i have recently heard that you can flash the elite and play backup games on it. is this true? if it true how reliable is it?

2. kayum

kayum Member

anyone?

3. barricade

barricade Guest

4. kayum

kayum Member

i am completely new to this, should i do it myself or get it flashed professionaly?

5. barricade

barricade Guest

It really isn't very difficult. I have never flashed a console before I tried mine but all you do is open up the xbox and connect the dvd drive to your computer with a sata cable. It was easy for me because the chipset on my motherboard was supported ( nforce 4 ). I flashed it in windows not in dos and it worked perfectly. The readme for dosflash explains it step by step. What kind of motherboard do you have?

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 9, 2007
  6. kayum

kayum Member

my motherboard is i think 3years old

7. kayum

kayum Member

can you tell me everything i will need to flash the benq drive?

8. bhetrick

bhetrick Active member

I have a pc set up just for flashing and I use a 3 year old MSI board with a NForce 2 chipset. So it doesn't matter how old your board is... just as long as you have the right chipset. And even if you don't you could just pick up a pci sata card.

Here's a guide for the Benq: http://www.zshare.net/download/45829924e78175/

9. kayum

kayum Member

how do you know if you got the right chipset?

10. bhetrick

bhetrick Active member

Just look at it. It'll be to the right of your PCI slots.

[​IMG]

I've got an NForce 2 in my flashing pc. Or if you're still not sure, Google the model number of your motherboard. You want to know the southbridge chipset.

Last edited: Nov 10, 2007
  11. kayum

kayum Member

should i flash the firmware now or wait for a updated version?

12. mshockey