1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox 360 Games Being Burned

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by Greg, Jan 25, 2007.

  1. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey, Im using a LG GSA-H22N DL Drive. Just got it in by NewEgg. And Im trying to back up my Xbox 360 games but cant. Ive also got Verbatim DL DVD's. Ive gone to http://www.clevermod.com/index.php?article=12 and tried to open my drive...no luck with that. Is there any other way to get the .ISO from my game? Anything simple and easy? and what do they mean by PATCHING? A little help will be appreciated. Thanks!!

    P.S. Ive got CloneCD and everything else.
     
  2. K4kashi

    K4kashi Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2007
  3. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    But if you don't have that, and don't want to spend money, you can try this tutorial over at 360 Mods, and see if that helps. If you don't want to do the method that K4Kashi posted, this is the only way. You will have to open your DVD Drive, so that you can Hotswap. It really isn't that difficult! You just remove like 4 screws and your set to go.

    When they say "patching" they mean adding a file to the .iso file you created. The file (ss.bin), is a "Security Sector" that has to be added to the game backup, so that it will function properly.
     
  4. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ah okay ill try that. I tried to open my Drive and did remove the screws but it was only the bottom that was taken out, i couldnt take the part out where the lens was.
     
  5. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You don't need to mess with the lens at all! All you need to do is make it so that you can just lift up the lid to the tray.
     
  6. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    THE AGONY!!! lol, ok ok. The swapping seems easy. VERY easy. But when i take my drive out, theres 4 screws at the bottom. when i take those out, only the bottom faceplate comes off. I try to take the top part off so i can swap, but it wont open. Look at this photo.

    http://www.overclockzone.com/benz_2096/08-2006/LG_GSA-H22N/IMG_0816.jpg

    thats the top of my drive. Frustrating crap, i wanna cut open the bastard!
     
  7. K4kashi

    K4kashi Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think you have to push in those clips in the front/sides that hold the black tray cover on.

    I'm probally wrong though, or you may have already tried that.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2007
  8. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ahh okay, after that, i have to kind of push outward the metal faceplate because where the Screw holes were, they are like these inserts. So do i have to pull the metal to release them?
     
  9. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Let me try to get some pictures and show you guys.
     
  10. K4kashi

    K4kashi Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Alright, i'll try to help if you get some pictures up.
     
  11. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  12. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I GOT IT!!! YAY!!
     
  13. K4kashi

    K4kashi Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What did you have to do to get it open?
     
  14. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I did the emergency eject, that made the black cover move and what i found out was that the black cover was holding the metal faceplate. here, ive got photos.

    http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a335/Punkkid917/S4010011.jpg

    http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a335/Punkkid917/S4010012.jpg

    http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a335/Punkkid917/S4010013.jpg

    http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a335/Punkkid917/S4010014-1.jpg

    How do i get that blue thing to be placed on top so i can swap? I cant put the metal back on cause of that black cover interfering.
     
  15. K4kashi

    K4kashi Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try to pop it out with a knife or a small screwdriver(stick it in one of the holes and pry upwards).

    I figured the problem was probally the black clips on the faceplate holding it on.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2007
  16. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeap! i got the blue thing out. oh btw people. if you do hot swap, always add that blue/yellow thing to the disc!! without it, lmao. well, ull have DVDs flying everywhere. I should know.
     
  17. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I keep getting an error.

    Error Opening File LayerBreak=1913760...

    is that from the .SS?

    Cause im doing Lost Planet and at the http://www.ss.softmodfiles.net/

    site, they have the unverified one. I need help :( thanks!
     
  18. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Everyones mentioning this Image.000 file that I dont have, and i read that I would need to patch it? How? Thanks!
     
  19. fgamer

    fgamer Guest

    After succesfully getting the game image file you need to merge the ss.bin file with the iso/game image. Use SS Merger 1.6 to do that for you. I'm still new to this but I'm getting extremely better as the days go by. But when they say patching I think they mean merging the ss.bin file with the iso/ game image.
     
  20. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    sweet ive got it!!! It was hard, but i got it. I needed to get the newer version of CloneCD. Does any have the crack/patch for the newer version? Thanks!
     

Share This Page