1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xbox 360 vs ultimate vs elite

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by vamsilak, Nov 23, 2007.

  1. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sorry guys
    if this is a double post
    i know x box 360 with add hd dvd rom


    what is elite?
    whats the difference between 360 and elite one?
    i heard they are releasing xbox ultimate
    is that all means xbox360 w/hddvd rom init just like ps3
     
  2. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    The elite would be a newer version, usually in black rather than white, and i think was the first one to have the HDMI connections. I have not really read anything about an Ultimate version but have really not been looking.
    And the HD-DVD player for the 360 is an add on piece that you can buy seperate for about $200 unless of course it comes with the package you buy.
     
  3. vankorver

    vankorver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well speaking of the elite... If I were to purchase an elite, would there be any way of transferring my files that are stored on my current xbox360 hdd to the new elite hdd?
     
  4. Oner

    Oner Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I think you mean Pro not Ultimate. There is the Standard (no hard drive), Pro (20 gb hard drive) & Elite (120 gb hard drive). The older models of the standard & pro do NOT have HDMI while newer models of all are supposed to have HDMI (Elite 100% do). As for a 360 with HD DVD inside...never gonna happen since MS will get sued for excluding their current install base.
     
  5. Oner

    Oner Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    MS offers something but I have heard it is not a 100% fix. As some purchased content will not transfer or something to that effect. If I find the article about this one customer who spent a few thousand dollars on content only to be screwed as not everything would transfer I will post it.


    Edit:

    Not the article I read but has some pertinent info

    http://www.news.com/8301-10784_3-9714533-7.html
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2007
  6. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There is also the Halo edition. Those all come with HDMI.

    The standard edition, known as the Core, has been discontinued. The Arcade edition replaces it. It has the HDMI, and also includes a memory card and a game.

    I switched from a Premium to an Elite. MS will provide the transfer cable and software for transfering your 20gig information to the 120gig for free, but you must provide your Premium serial number as proof. At Xbox.com you can download and print out a form to fill out and send in to get the transfer cable, but I didn't want to wait so I called 18004MYXBOX and a service rep got one sent out. It took about 5 days to get it.


    BUT... once you transfer any PURCHASED info from one console to another you must then be logged in to Live to access it. That is because what you've downloaded is locked to the console it was downloaded to, not the hard drive. And any movies or tv shows you rent will not transfer so you must watch them first.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2007
  7. xbubbax

    xbubbax Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    also dont the majority of elites have benq drives....or is that just an old wives tale?
     
  8. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thankyou guys
    i just got the xboxhddvd rom

    i powered up with my vista
    it recognises without installing the driver

    but it won't play the kingkong though

    i have dualcore
    2gb
    the rom
    19" lcd hd panel hdcp enabled
    vlc player

    when i try to play it from the rom itsnot playing
    why
    please help
    thanks in advance
     
  9. Oner

    Oner Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The Halo Edition is just a Pro with custom paint etc and the Arcade Edition is basically a Core/Standard. But the additional info is a plus for this thread.
     
  10. vankorver

    vankorver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks oner and bhetrick for all the info.
     
  11. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i just got the xboxhddvd rom

    i powered up with my vista
    it recognises without installing the driver

    but it won't play the kingkong though

    i have dualcore
    2gb
    the rom
    19" lcd hd panel hdcp enabled
    vlc player

    when i try to play it from the rom itsnot playing
    why
    please help
    thanks in advance
     
  12. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I'm pretty sure you'ld need the hd dvd drivers. I just checked and they're on Xbins.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page