1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBOX DVD DRIVE PROBLEMS

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by griff-1984, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey guys,

    Basically the drive is DG-16D4S now when the tray opens for you to put a disc in and closes the laser shows and the disc spins slightly but then stops. It seems to cut out within 1-2 seconds and then doesnt play. If you give the disc a slight bit of help when it starts to spin and catch it just right the drive works ok and continues to spin the disc.

    I have replaced the spindel with a brand new one the problem remains the same.

    please help asap

    regards
    mark
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  4. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Have you replaced the laser or just the spindle?If you just replaced the spindle either pot tweak the laser or buy a replacement laser.If you have replaced both make sure you havnt tightned the spindle down too much as this increases the space between the laser and any disk it tries to read.I ran into this problem doing my first dvd repair years ago and loosening the screws on the springs decreases the hight of the spindle.Be careful though as loosening too much will hit the laser on the media.Another trick is to take the magnet out of the top casing and spin the disks with no top case,just the magnet.Then you can asjust a lot easier and see whats going on with the laser.Additionally check all ribbons are in good condition and are clipped in place,are not bent/folded too much.
  5. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thankyou for your reply.

    Thats how i have been testing it. The console is opened and the top of the drive is also open. I have not replaced the laser as the laser still comes on. When i load the drive the tray closes. The laser lights up then after 1 second goes out. The disc starts to spin about 1 revolution then stops then the laser comes on briefly again and then goes out again.
  6. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    And yes i have removed the magnet from the top casing :)
  7. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    So you didnt replace the laser?.If its only spinnning a couple of times then my bet would be a dead or weak laser.I would go down that road now and either POT tweak or full replacement,as this is the sort of conditions associated with a half dead laser.It happened to my Hitachi 59(exactly the same senario as you) and after a full laser replacement worked a treat.
  8. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ah cool ok. Do you have a link to a good pot tweak thread etc? I did try this last night but did not get anywhere with raising it up. What is the max i can raise to on the pot tweak???
  9. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    where would you say the best place to get a laser from? the bay of E ???? Thats where i got the spindle
  10. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    This should help a little it will open up a PDF file,make sure you have Adobe reader installed.It will show you step by step and the min/max OHMS to use. boshdirect.com/category/9-installation-guides?download=15
  11. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    WKD buddy thankyou. If i find out the whole drive needs replacing where is the best place to get a new drive from? And its an xbox slim with a philips lite-on drive, do i have to go for exactly the same drive or could i go for something different as the lite-ons are about £40
  12. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You'll need exactly the same drive (actually I didn't know that there is more than one drive type for Xbox 360 slim), and you'll either need to replace the drive board or get the key off of the old drive and flash it to the new drive, which can be a pain or even impossible on the Slim, depending on it's age.
  13. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yea i knew id have to flash the drive too. Why would it be impossible?? Ive not long brought a sata card for my desktop but i would have to power the drive via the xbox.
  14. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Because some of the Slim Xbox 360s have not been hacked yet. But actually, yea, it seems that there are two (or actually 3) drive versions for the Xbox 360 slim, two made by Phillips LiteOn and one made by Hitachi and the Hitachis are those that aren't hacked yet. You have a LiteOn, so that drive is just a pain to flash. Sorry for the confusion.
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
  15. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no way so what are you supposed to do if you cant get it flashed? where is the best place to buy parts for drives etc online within the uk??
  16. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Firstly checkout c4eva's web page for more info on your drive version and firmware. http://c4evaspeaks.com/ this copied and pasted via jungleflasher TUT ..Currently Only the LiteOn Slim Drive with 9504/0272 (pre 13599 dashboard) can be written to (unless you have a unlocked 0225/0401 – Rare!) The Drives with Firmware Version 0272 (if you have dashboard 13599) 0225, 0401 and 1071 can ONLY have their Keys Read unless they have been modified or unlocked
    NOTE: AFTER DASHBOARD UPDATE (13146) ALL SLIM 9504 LITEONS ARE NOW STOCK 0272 FW – AFTER DASHBOARD UPDATE (13599) 0272 ARE NOW LOCKED!
    So depending on what firmware you have and dash you can dump the key,buy a TX unlocked pcb and flash with your saved dvd key,but as Eisherz said a pain.As you didnt mention anything about wanting the ability to play backups of your games,i would go back to your original questions and replace your laser.. ebay £6.00..If you want to flash the drive start a new thread with all your consoles details and im sure someone will help you further
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
  17. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thats a great help thankyou :)
  18. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    If you wanted to flash your drive to play backups of your originals,had no tools for flashing and wanted a new drive as well its going to cost a lot of money.Your drive alone would cost you £35-£40 and it may not have a unlocked PCB with a external lock/unlock switch.To buy a unlocked pcb seperate would be another £40.you would have to dump the key of your original dvd and flash it on the unlocked PCB to marry with your your slim.The tools to do it are around £50-£60 going for a safe x360 usb,cki combo not a cheap process.Not to mention a IHAS dvd burner which have gone through the roof in price(although new drives are been found to be compatable with burnermax firmware) .An xkey or similar is another option,enabling you to place ISO's of your backups onto a hard drive.You would firstly have to have a large HD depending on the amount of backups you own,and there is still the problem of extracting your dvd key from the drive to dump onto the xkey.Sounds a bit of a put off i admit but there really are no short cuts other than fixing the drive and then finding someone locally or respected online to replace the pcb and flash the dvd.As to where these services are its another "google it" but here is a link to the xkey info http://www.teensy.co.uk/X360Key-Xbo...ox-360-Key-HDD-DVD-Emulator/product_info.html
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012
  19. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Now this all seems so more complicated than originally thought. So i couldnt flash a drive with just a programme like jungle flasher :-/
  20. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    No you would have to have the tools mentioned above,as the drive would not be recognised via windows.also your updated dash on your console would of locked the pcb on the dvd drive so it cannot be written to only read,which means buying a blank,unlocked pcb so the firmware can be written onto it.
  21. griff-1984

    griff-1984 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    AH ok sorry about all the questions but you are being a great help mate. Is this any good for it??

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/320895984061?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

Share This Page