1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBOX Elite Hackable/Modable?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by hartigan, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. hartigan

    hartigan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    SSIA

    Just wondering if I purchase an Elite, whether it has a DVD drive that would be chipable.

    If anyone who has purchased one could let us know what drive is in it and whether it's modable would be appreciated.

    -hartigan
     
  2. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The one I got had the 79fk firmware. That's still not moddable.

    - team fdou
    - lot 0712
    - mfg date 2007 03 20

    You can check 360drives.com for what others are posting.
     
  3. guyblack

    guyblack Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I flashed my hitachi 00078fk last night, it was a pain to do though and would lockup my computer every minute or so. Had to boot/ dump/ reboot/ flash. It said the flash was successful then 20 more seconds and xp froze up again. I used my motherboard sata slots intel chipset as the hitachi is picky with chich chipsets it likes and I used the Slax cd. I also bought the via chipset pci card but didnt use it.

    I also would get the 3 red led error when it locks up my computer. I dont know it it works as it locked up too often to allow me to dump one of my backups. Maybe its just a cooling issue because as soon as I put it back together that issue was gone. I will let you know later once I get in my kreon's flashed drive and I can try to backup one of my games.
     
  4. bailey07

    bailey07 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I thought this would happen.I think the elite was realeased so it is more difficult to mod your 360.No doubt ther'll be a hack for it soon though.
     
  5. theridges

    theridges Guest

    supposedly the Elites were going to have the Phillips BenQ Drives...Even hearing that they have the htiachi 78 and 79 is still a good thing...
     
  6. hartigan

    hartigan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the replies guys!!

    I'm sure a chip will eventually come out so I'll sit back and play my chipped xbox and ps2 until I'm sure of a fully functioning 360 chip.

    Thanks again!!

    -hartigan
     
  7. caliph

    caliph Guest

  8. theridges

    theridges Guest

    the second one isnt the elite its a normal 360 with the XCM Case....
    and yea 2 people stated above that one of theres had the 78k Drive which is flashable...
     
  9. 360kid

    360kid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I sure hope they come out with a mod for it, all that hd space would be nice. Just a matter of time i suppose.
     
  10. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It seems that a few of the early releases had the 78fk.
     
  11. AJ56

    AJ56 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Got mine yesterday nite. NYC here. It was a 78FK. Fully flashable. Flashed it last nite. Works like a charm.

    TEAM: FDOU
    LOT NO: 0710
     
  12. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    What's the mfg date?
     
  13. AJ56

    AJ56 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    2007 - 03 - 03

    I posted it at 360Drive.com

     
  14. Spartan28

    Spartan28 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You can look at the Lot # and Team on the side of the box.

    Lot #'s 0709, 0710, and 0711 made by team CSON are most likely 78fk

    Lot # 0712 made by team FDOU is most likely 79fk
     
  15. Spartan28

    Spartan28 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if you have
    lot # 0710 by team fdou confirmed as 78fk
    lot # 0711 by team CSON confirmed as 79fk

    You can look at the Lot # and Team on the side of the box.
     
  16. roots1528

    roots1528 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I got an elite that had had a Hitachi 78. However, it is ruining my day because I cannot get it detected in mode b. I am using my 6421L sata card and the slax 2 alpha 1 disc, but the darn thing won't go into mode b. Can anyone who has modded their hitachi 78 elite help me get mine detected? Thanks Alot!
     
  17. AJ56

    AJ56 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I followed the same EXACT steps in 360hax.com

    Great site. Follow them and you should be ok. Done plenty of Boxes with the tutoriols.
     
  18. jelle2503

    jelle2503 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you ever get a Xbox 360 Elite... and you have a Hitachi v79 drive,

    i'd suggest talking to a guy on Xbox-Scene called "uberfry"

    all you need to do is ship your DVD-drive (board only) to him, and he'll do all the desoldering of the TSOP and flashing etcetera etcetera.

    this way you can get yourself a modded V79 drive ;)
     
  19. roots1528

    roots1528 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the help guys. I was able to flash my elite 78 drive with an onboard sata port I found. For some reason, I think my pci sata card(6421) was not configured correctly in DOS. I was a non-RAID card, so I dont know what happened. does anyone know what has to be done to configure the card correctly? Thanks
     
  20. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Or wait a little while longer. Here's a quote from C4E:

     

Share This Page