1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox Live & Modchips

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by VCDjunkie, Jun 28, 2003.

  1. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I heard that if you have a modchip in your xbox, that when you connect to xbox live, it will know that you altered the hardware and it will cancel your xbox live subscription..

    Is this true? If true, does this also happen if you flash the bios and remove your modchip?
     
  2. Dank

    Dank Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you can put a switch on your chip and turn it off or with the matrix you can turn it off with the switches but you have to have the original in the drive and if u replaced the HD it needs to be locked.. if you do a search you should be able to find out alot more about it since i don't use it..
     
  3. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So, is it true or not then? How about if you do the chipless mod? or if you put in the mod chip, flash the bios, then remove the chip? does this keep them from canceling the xbox live subscription?

    I personally would not run the risk of losing my xbox live subscription over something like being able to backup my games.

    If anybody knows the answer to these questions, please reply. Thanks

    ;-)
     
  4. wongie_jm

    wongie_jm Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    when you flash the bios, you're flashing the chip. So if you remove the chip, you of course remove the bios too. If you're referring to the chipless mod as flashing the TSOP, then it will still ban you. You have to go online with the original bios.
     
  5. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Wow, that really sucks! I hope that changes in the future.. anyhow, thanks.
     
  6. darthnip

    darthnip Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    hey VCD, hows it going? you can run a matrix chip a nd just go into mode 1 to disable the chip and boot with an original game and live is just fine. i actually got external switches on my xbox running to the chip, pretty damn cool.
     

Share This Page