1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBOX360 Auto Resets

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by notseto, May 9, 2011.

  1. notseto

    notseto Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, so once again I have a problem.

    Since I learned how to burn XBOX360 DVDs I have burnt two games, Tales of Vesperia and Dynasty Warriors 7.

    Both seemed to work fine for the most part.

    However, I got to a specific point in Tales of Vesperia, namely when I try to synthesize an item, and the XBOX360 makes a click noise, freezes, then auto resets.
    Everything else seems to work fine, I just can't seem to synthesize one item.

    Then again, I played Dynasty Warriors 7 and when it got to one specific point in the game, the XBOX360 makes a clicking noise, freezes, then auto resets as well.


    Can anybody diagnose what exactly is the problem here? I think its one of these things:

    1. Didn't burn the DVD correctly
    2. The XBOX360, probably the lens, is effed up.
    3. Coincidentally, both ISOs are messed up.


    Thanks in advance!




    Okay. on a hunch, I copied both my Gamer Profile and Save Game onto the internal memory unit and unplugged my 120GB HDD... AND IT WORKED?
    I think it might have something to do with achievements? I unlocked an achievement for synthesizing right after I did it.

    So basically, is my HDD effed up?
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2011
  2. cab0747

    cab0747 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What DVDs are you using?
     
  3. notseto

    notseto Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Verbatim DVD+R DL Made in Singapore.

    Additionally,

    I have burnt two copies of Tales of Vesperia using the same ISO.
    I opened up the save file, went to the synthesis part (the part where the game freezes)
    and the game freezes, crashes, makes one singular click noise, then resets for BOTH discs.


    Also, I do not have the latest firmware.
    Instead, I use the Waves Patcher.
    Either way, this shouldn't be a problem as Tales of Vesperia is a Wave 3 game anyway.

    ALSO,
    I can't install Tales of Vesperia to the HDD. It crashes at around 86%, leaving a "corrupted data" file, which I have deleted.

    I can however, install Dynasty Warriors 7, although this does not seem to affect the auto-reset problem.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2011
  4. notseto

    notseto Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, it's official. My games are crashing because my big HDD will not allow me to unlock achievements.

    Every time I am supposed to unlock an achievement, the console crashes.

    I moved my gamer profile to the internal memory and everything unlocks fine.

    Is there a way to fix this? Or, more importantly, is there something wrong with my HDD?
     
  5. infam0us

    infam0us Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    does it do it only with these certain games,maybe your hdd is about to hit the fan,why dont u install the games on the hd and see if that helps
     
  6. outtatime

    outtatime Guest

    He said he can't install it.

    Have you changed hdds recently? I'd try recovering my gamertag, regardless.

    Is it a proper MS hdd or aftermarket?

    Are you using a .dvd file or setting the layer break in imgburn manually?
     
  7. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You said there was a click noise from the 360. The HDD may have clicked which is caused by a failing HDD. I'd say to just continue using the memory unit in the meantime until you can get the HDD replaced.

    The 360 restarted due to a hardware failure.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2011
  8. notseto

    notseto Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, I think I'll just keep using the internal memory unit.
    It's an official Microsoft HDD. I can save on it just fine. It's just the achievements which get messed up.

    Apparently, I have to clear up the cache or something? I don't know, don't care right now. As long as I can play fine it doesn't really make a difference whether my gamertag is on the internal memory unit or HDD.
     
  9. outtatime

    outtatime Guest

    Why not, wouldn't hurt, replacing the hdd is the last option.

    'To clear the cache on the Xbox 360 do the following:
    • Go to the Xbox Dashboard, select the System Blade, and select Memory.
    • Highlight the HD symbol and press Y.
    • Press X, X, Left Bumper, Right Bumper, X, X.

    You will see a confirmation message to confirm system maintenance, proceed.'

    Source: http://vgstrategies.about.com/od/xbox360faqs/a/ClearX360Cache.htm
     

Share This Page