1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xbox360 update error

Discussion in 'Xbox 360' started by Muzikman2, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. Muzikman2

    Muzikman2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We had an older xbox360 lying around, my nephew decided to try putting a game in it to test it, see if it worked, who knows what his thoughts were. It failed to update, for whatever reason, so he took it out and hasnt messed with it since (*He thinks game was Resident Evil 6, which is a game we no longer own).
    I've now come across it again and when its booted its showing an update error and asking me to put the disc in the machine to continue the update. I've tried updating via USB, CD/DVD, everything. Tried trick where ya eject tray, unplug power cord, push tray halfway in and all that. Can't get it to update.
    My question is, Is there any other way to continue the update without the game disc or reset the console so it wont ask for the update anymore? I can't get to dashboard or anything, console boots up and goes directly to update error screen. Any help would be greatly appreciated, though I believe I know what answer is going to be. Thanks!
     
  2. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    I have read that removing the CMOS battery for a while can reset the Xbox 360, but I personally have never tried that.

    My bet would be that you had a spoofed drive in the console and it was below the dashboard version that flashes your drive back to stock. So when your nephew tried updating it by disc it got to the point when it flashes the drive, erased the drive firmware and then couldn't flash the non-fitting firmware to the drive. So if you want to fix the Xbox 360 you'd need the original drive key and a drive from the same brand as the original drive was.
     
  3. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Is it flashed? If not what is the update error code?
     
  4. Muzikman2

    Muzikman2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    From my undertanding there is no CMOS battery in a xbox360, date and time and etc is controlled through the power brick. So that is no good. The drive has modified firmware on it from years ago, it just got put away and never used for years. Even with a modified drive, it would just erase and update, then I would have to modifiy it again afterwards.

    Yes it was flashed over 4 years ago. Its a BenQ VAD6038 and has firmware on it from 4+ years ago. Which is im sure why it was trying to update off disc since its so old. The error code is "3151-397F-B800-0F00-C000-0013" which according to microsoft is

    xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-C000-0013 - The update could not be downloaded from Xbox Live. Try the following:
    1.Try installing the update again.
    2.If you’re having problems connecting or staying connected to Xbox Live, see Xbox Live connection problems.

    Note You can also update your console software by copying the update to a USB flash drive or a disc and then applying it to the console. See Troubleshoot console software update problems.


    The console was not plugged in on ethernet when he tried it, so sure that was a reason it failed. Started from disc, then was looking on live for more but couldn't. I've tried using Grand Theft Auto V game disc to try to finish update but all it does is change error code(3151-397F-B800-0F00-C000-0059), which is i'm assuming because I dont have original disc(Redident Evil 6 we believe) that was trying to load the update. Hope this helps give more details and will give a solution from it. Any more questions please ask, I'm still relatively knowlegable in this and far from a noob. Thanks guy!
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014
  5. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
  6. Muzikman2

    Muzikman2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ill give it a try right now and see what happens. Thanks richietea!
     
  7. Muzikman2

    Muzikman2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nice richietea, it worked like a charm. I would very much love to know how you determined the update I needed and how ya found it for future reference. Thanks so much!

    For future readers, I copied the download richietea gave me from the link, to a usb flash drive, removed from computer and plugged into xbox360, booted it up and it continued the update that was required from the original Resident Evil 6 disc(that I no longer owned) that broke system. Syetem rebooted, and boom went back to the dashboard from that period. Ran a xbox live connection test, all checked out, downloaded newest (12 December, 2013.) update and console is now 100% up to date. Now just have to reflash firmware and i'm back in business. This thread just proves that you do NOT need the original disc to complete an update if you no longer have the disc. Just have to find the correct update online from that time period the disc had. (However richietea did that ;-)) Hope this helps anyone in the future and thanks so much to richietea and afterdawn forums! Anyone needs some help I'll try my best to pay it forward, message me or comment here!
     
  8. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Pleasure glad you got it all sorted.The way to determine the update that failed and what was needed is to look at the error code you were receiving,take the second string of numbers from the code,copy/paste into a hex to decimal converter like the one in the link below.In your case 397F which equates to 14719.Give it a try.

    http://www.binaryhexconverter.com/hex-to-decimal-converter
     
  9. Muzikman2

    Muzikman2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Very nice richietea. Now I understand. So basically after I convert it, I just search web for that matching update. Very good to know and pretty cool too. Thanks again man!
     

Share This Page