1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XGD3 Truncate vs Overburn

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by igbeserk, Apr 18, 2013.

  1. igbeserk

    igbeserk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Now I know that this topic has been discussed elsewhere numerous times. I can't seem to find the info i'm looking for though so i'm just going to try to post it here and hopefully someone can give me the info i need.

    Alright so I have a Ihas better got it right around when it first came out and didn't really use it until last november. Now when i used it in november I ad to fiddle with the settings but finally got good burns. Now i can't recall if I had it set to truncate or overburn. Formatted my PC back in january and don't have the previous link that showed me all the info i used to set it up accordingly. Followed the tuts i saw online using the mkm003 verbs i have. Burns kept failing kprobe. So i tried truncate because if i recalled i believe i had that as my set option back in nov. Now burned a disc and passed kprobe with flying colors. The people who i informed of this informed me never to do truncate one went as far as stating on the LT 3 firmware which i am using that truncated discs won't even work. But, the disc loaded just fine. The only thing i failed to do was run a check on abgx after the burn so i decided to do that and it passed with flying colors.

    Now if truncating doesn't burn all the data onto the disc then wouldn't it fail verification through abgx? because two games i've burned thus far have passed with flying colors via truncating. i've tried overburn and 8 failed discs and i tried via burner max payload tool and 2 dscs failed the kprobe tests horribly with that method.

    From what I gather I was reading another post where someone was getting a dirty disc error but it was with Skyrim and i figure hey skyrim has a lot of info so overburn would be needed. but games like fighting or some online game i doubt takes up the whole disc or close to it so in that aspect truncating should be ok correct?

    or is it regardless of the amount of space the disc takes there are things in place that have to be burned at edge/end of the disc that only overburn will allow and that even though abgx verifies the disc 100% it cannot tell or see if its truncated or overburned and won't shoot me a red flag saying that is wrong?

    i hope this is making sense. i want to use overburn but already 10 discs in the whole with that method :(
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,652
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Normally you shouldn't even need to truncate or overburn with an iHas drive. Is it flashed with burnermax?
  4. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Might be an idea to post your log file for both ImgBurn and kprobe when using a Ihas burning a full image and not truncating.xgd3 games require the use of the full disk due to the size of the ISO.Xgd2 games however are smaller in size.I would try burn a xgd2 game and see what the results are like in kprobe.Make sure they are patched properly before burning.Xgd3 games require the last 3% of the burn as this is where the new copy protection is held.Skipping this by truncating could flag or fail the challenge if M$ ever check against the disk.Try using the TUT provided by Funksoulb as a guideline.
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/t.cfm/f-152/new_guide_to_burning_xgd3_games_with_imgburn_2_5_6_0-912244/
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2013
  5. igbeserk

    igbeserk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the info fellas. Yea i'll try to post logs of the 2 games i did via truncate as well as the kprobe results and i'll do the same for the failed overburn one's. in terms of if the flash is burned with burnermax. i'm not sure? all i have is the burner max payload tool and i open it select my drive and go to the burner max option and it says everything is good. is there something else i need to do. like flash it? i know i flashed it or did whatever i needed when the drive first came out.
  6. igbeserk

    igbeserk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright first image is gears of war judgement truncate option
    abgx
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/546/gowjz.jpg/
    kprobe
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/194/gowj2.jpg/

    and Defiance using burner max tool with overburn setting.
    abgx
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/199/defiance.jpg/
    kprobe
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/27/defiance1e.jpg/

    i don't remember the exact settings i used. but if u guys nee dmore i can try to show more. i did do a xdg2 burn it passed in abgx but i didn't do a kprobe on it but i'll test that soon.

    Also, richitea i did follow that tutorial that you posted when i did Defiance
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2013
  7. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    what about your settings in Imgburn? what is the pc setup o/s etc?
  8. igbeserk

    igbeserk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Windows 7 64 bit ultimate, gigabyte x58a-ud5 board, i7 2.8ghz, 24gb ddr3 memory, SSD 256gb main drive, ihas and hitachi drive.

    imgburn settings as of right now.

    for the mkm003's its 4x, enable burn proof is on, perform opc write before is off. layer break is set to 2133520, option is set to overburn. buffer recovery is enabled all the way to 512mb. smart burn, hypertuning is enabled. Over Speed Writing or Online Hyper Tuning is disabled.
  9. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,652
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    What revision is your iHas drive? I don't know what effect it would have if you were actually using the payload tool on a rev b drive already flashed with burnermax.
  10. igbeserk

    igbeserk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    not really sure how to check my revision? and with burner max payload tool if it is lrady capable it will just tell u right off the bat which it did. didn't even have to do burner ma option on it but like i said tried different methods with overburn.

    ATAPI iHAS124 B AL0S (ATA)
    Current Profile: DVD+R DL
    not sure where to get the revision info. sorry
  11. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,652
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    It's a revision B model, if you have already flashed it with burnermax you don't need the payload tool, that is only for non-B models.
  12. igbeserk

    igbeserk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    alrighty, so what should i do try now. tried a mixture of things and still nothing. truncating works but like u guys are saying its missing data.
  13. Eisherz

    Eisherz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,652
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Just use the .dvd file that came with the download, open that file with imageburn and burn.
  14. igbeserk

    igbeserk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thats what i've done and it keeps failing the kprobe tests whether i use burner max or not
  15. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    As Eisherz said you don't need the payload tool if your drive is flashed to burnermax firmware.
    the Ihas124 i used my settings were as follows:
    perform OPC
    force hypertuning OFF
    online hypertuning ON
    overspeed disabled
    smartburn enabled
    Burnproof Disabled

    Layerbreak set to calculate optimum
    buffer at 512
    write process set to realtime(under write tab in settings)
    Verbatims 003's set at 4x write speed
    clear your OPC until you start to get good burns
    make sure your eeprom has the same settings under IHAS124
    DEFRAG the HDD
    Burn the .dvd file from your main HDD
    Run kprobe as ihas124 on x4 speed.

    upload the kprobe results when finished.
    other than that the only thing i can think of is that (1)the Ihas124 is on its way out or (2)the laser in the 360 is too weak to read backups.
  16. igbeserk

    igbeserk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  17. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Not bad could be worse,but does the backup install to your xbox360 hdd ? you didn't say.
  18. igbeserk

    igbeserk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I didn't install it. since it didn't pass the kprobe test by a mile. I wouldn't dare put it in my 360. I just ordered another drive the samsung 224bb drive. did the burner max payload tool and it temp flashed it or whatever. followed the tutorial did 2.4x since i'm using mkm001's disabled enable burn proof. enabled clear opc before write, and enabled buffer recovery and set it to 512. then ran kprobe at 4x on it and ran it through abgx and it failed got an unrecoverable read error...
    got this

    http://img833.imageshack.us/img833/3807/defianceg.jpg

    Date : 4/23/2013 10:13:02 AM
    Model : 1-0-0-0 TSSTcorpCDDVDW SH-224BB SB00
    Disc : DVD+R DL , MKM001 [Mitsubishi Chemical

    Corporation]
    Speed : 4x
    ECC blocks sum (PI/PIF) : 8/1
    Scanned range : 0 - 4267021
    Sampling count : 266626
    Errors : 0
    PI Max : 25
    PI Average : 2.23
    PI Total : 74490
    PIF Max : 5
    PIF Average : 0.11
    PIF Total : 3806

    ÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄ
    \\//\\//\\//\\//\\/Û\\//\ \ \/ /ÚÄ¿ÚÄ¿ÚÄ¿\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\
    //\\//\\//\\//\ÛßÛ\ÛßÛ\ÛßÛ/ /\ \ Ä´ÃÄ¿³ ³//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//
    ÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄßßßÄßßßÄßßÛÄÄÄÄÄÄÀÄÙÀÄÙÀÄÙÄv1.0.6ÄÄÄÄÄÄÄ[http://abgx360.net]ÄÄÄÄ
    ßßß
    Checking for updates to abgx360.dat...
    Server file abgx360.dat no newer than local file - not retrieving

    Checking Game
    ISO: "TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-224BB SB00 < 1023> [ATA] (D:)"
    Layerbreak: 2133520
    Size: 8738865152 bytes
    Files in ISO: 213, Folders in ISO: 4
    Total bytes used: 5562824403 (64.22%)
    Game appears to have random padding

    Checking default.xex
    Original PE Filename: DefiancePatcher.exe
    Original PE Timestamp: 2013/02/06 02:43:02
    Min Kernel Required: v2.0.16202.0
    Game Name: Defiance
    No Avatar Awards
    Achievements: 50 Achievements totaling 1000 Gamerscore
    XEX CRC = BD63DA43
    XEX Media ID: DFC91B435A0B3F0A2D96CC36-497D4222

    Region Code: 0xFFFFFFFF
    Region Free!

    Checking topology data
    Querying the online database to find the appropriate verified data to use...
    Topology information was downloaded successfully

    Looking for TOP_XGD3-DID-F87A804E_v1.sha1 in the online verified database
    Server file TOP_XGD3-DID-F87A804E_v1.sha1 no newer than local file - not re
    trieving
    Topology data is currently verified

    Checking SS
    Timestamp of Authoring: 2013/02/27 00:00:00
    Timestamp of Mastering: 2013/03/15 05:44:53
    SS Version: 2 (trusted)
    SS CRC = 4F966204 (RawSS = F9AFDAA1)
    SS Media ID: DFC91B435A0B3F0A2D96CC36-497D4222 (matches game)
    SS looks valid

    Checking DMI
    Timestamp of Authoring: 2013/02/27 00:00:00 (matches SS)
    DMI CRC = 0A767430
    DMI Media ID: DFC91B435A0B3F0A2D96CC36-497D4222 (matches game)
    DMI looks valid

    Checking PFI
    PFI CRC = 26AF4C58
    PFI matches known data (XGD3)

    Video partition found
    Video CRC = 2EA421BF (V0 = D841EB9A, V1 = D1722B69)

    Basic Stealth check passed!

    Starting Verification
    Looking for 4F966204BD63DA43.ini in the online verified database
    Server file 4F966204BD63DA43.ini no newer than local file - not retrieving

    Using 4F966204BD63DA43.ini (340 bytes)
    Video CRC matches
    V0 CRC matches
    V1 CRC matches
    PFI CRC matches
    DMI CRC matches
    SS CRC matches
    Xex CRC matches

    Checking Game CRC... (press Q to cancel)
    Percent Elapsed Estimated Time Average Current Errors Total
    Done Time Time Left Speed Speed Recovered Retries
    49% 17:42 30:32 12:50 3.9 MB/s 5.4 MB/s 0 20
    ERROR: Unrecoverable read error while checking the Game CRC!

    All Stealth CRCs match (Error occurred while checking the Game CRC)
    Stealth was verified but game data wasn't

    Press any key to exit . . .
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2013
  19. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Only use your ihas burner to check through kprobe your other drive is not compatible.Use only a DVD Burner (Lite-On Branded/Rebadged i.e Sony).It might be an idea to use verbatim 003's(Singapore)instead of 001's.Try installing the backup you made via Ihas burner yes the PIF average and MAX are a little high but far better than using the payload tool.And it wont ban your console for doing so.

Share This Page