1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xvid AC3

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by aussieoak, Apr 23, 2007.

  1. aussieoak

    aussieoak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a dvd player that will play xvids. I have a receiver that plays dolby digital... and I have xvids that are with AC3 sound. How to I get it to play in Dolby Digital?

    Thanks
     
  2. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Assuming the dvd player correctly processes the xvid/ac3 file,
    don't you just have to connect the dvd player to the receiver using the
    appropriate connections ?
     
  3. aussieoak

    aussieoak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have everything hooked up through my receiver with a fibre optical wire. If I play a regular dvd I get dolby digital but not xvids.
     
  4. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    This is down to the player and/or its firmware.
    Seems like it doesn't support ac3/avi.

    I guess you could convert the xvid to a DVD using tmpgenc or similar,
    but it seems like overkill.
     
  5. aussieoak

    aussieoak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The player says it accepts AC3
     
  6. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Each dvd player works a little differently, there's no standard answer.
    Does it say it supports ac3 in an avi file?
    If it does or is implied, call the dvd player
    manufacturer and ask them.
     
  7. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    What comes out the regular audio jacks when playing an AVI disk?
     
  8. aussieoak

    aussieoak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    pro-logic
     
  9. aussieoak

    aussieoak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can anyone else help?
     
  10. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  11. aussieoak

    aussieoak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [​IMG][/URL][/img]
     
  12. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Your image only shows two channels.
    This is an example of AC3 with five channels.
    I guess two channels is all you will get from that video.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. aussieoak

    aussieoak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks -- is there a way to convert it to 5 channel?
     
  14. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Unless you have access to the original (multi channel)file, I don't think so.
    It would seem that the original audio stream wasn't saved with the video.
     
  15. aussieoak

    aussieoak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks for the help
     
  16. nextyoyo

    nextyoyo Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, sorry to bump this, but I am having a problem with this. I have Xvid files with AC3 audio. Virtualdub tells me it is 448 kb/s 480000HZ, and 5.1 Channels. Gspot says the same except that it is 3/2.1 channels.
    I am only trying to increase the volume, so my output parameters should be the same as my input. However, when I select Audio>Compression and then select the AC3 (with the checkbox for all formats checked). With this data rate option, I can choose mono, stereo, 3/0, 2/2, 3/2, or 5.1. none of these works; I always get the error message :

    the audio codec cannot compress the source audio to the desired format

    I have AC3 filter and AC3 decompresser installed...What am I doing wrong?

    EDIT: It appears I just have a bad header or something, and I guess I accidentally omitted checking it in just stereo. My guess is the header says what was on the dvd these were ripped from said, even though it was downmixed to stereo when it was ripped? Does this seem plausible? (btw, yes, I'm a noob, kinda)
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2007
  17. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128

Share This Page