1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xvid is just too big for dvd???? help!

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by cern, Dec 3, 2003.

1. cern

cern Guest

I've used g-spot to analize the file I want to put on dvd - it tells me size 692meg xvid codec 817kb bitrate 23.97 fps audio is mp3 as mpeg1 layer. I tried using the excellent guide posted here on how to use tempgnc to convert this file but I find that no matter what I do it tells me that this will take 215% of dvd storage space! The only setting that seems to make a diff on final size is the audio bit rate - when I take that all the way down to 64bits it will only take 99.7% of my dvd. Am I missing something here guys? any help would be appreciated. Please note : I am a total noobie to all this dvd stuff, and if it wasn't for the great info here - I might not be this far.

2. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

Its the mp3 file i think you must make it layer 1 PCM then that should make it smaller!

thx...

3. dRD

dRD I hate titles Staff Member

4. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

5. cern

cern Guest

I tried adjusting the average video bitrate earlier also - even when turned all the way down to 2000 which seems to be the lowest it will allow me to set it at - it's still way too big for the dvd.

6. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

its the right way but i think you need to change from mp3 to PCM layer 1 which is alot samller!

now i think you can convert the avi to 2 files with tmpgenc if i remember rightly?

I think its ES vidoe+audio creates 2 files?

Thx...

7. dRD

cern: If the size is too big for a DVD with 2000kbps, the movie simply wont fit to one DVD. Make sure though you really chose DVD as the media size, not a CD or anything like that. At 2000kbps video + 224kbps audio you can fit 4 hours and 33 mins to a DVDR.

8. cern

cern Guest