1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xvid on standalone divx player...video no sound

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by cptcasual, Jun 28, 2007.

1. cptcasual

cptcasual Member

I have great video but no sound is there a simple reason for this? i am new to the world of divx and xvid. I would like to be able to take the xvid and burn it to a dvd and watch it and not have to spend 4 to 5 hours converting it to another file then watch it....Is this possible to fix the audio easily?

Thanks
    Cpt.

2. celtic_d

celtic_d Regular member

Xvid is a video codec only. It has nothing to do with audio. You might want to try something like GSpot to see what audio the file uses.

3. cptcasual

cptcasual Member

the audio codec from gspot is as follows

0x2000 (Dolby AC3) AC3

48000Hz 448 kb/s tot , 6 chnls (3/2 .1)

4. shadester

shadester Member

I have the same problem sometimes too, but retrying it a few times should work... Don't know why this happens though...

5. celtic_d

celtic_d Regular member

Never heard of a player that couldn't handle AC3. Re-encoding to 2 channel mp3 should fix the problem and not take long, however it would be much better if you could get the AC3 working. Has the player ever played audio for files with 5.1 AC3?

6. cptcasual

cptcasual Member

Is is a brand new player philips model number dvp3140 i took it out of the box and startied burning my xvids i will try something with mp3 file on it

let me know if you think of anything else also how would i re-encode the audio to a different format without throwing the sync out

Thanks

7. Bry_

Bry_ Guest