1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yet Another Common Problem Dvd Decryptor/Swap Magic

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by aries384, May 19, 2007.

  1. aries384

    aries384 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have been over the tutorials here many times and I am still having major problems. I am using DVD Decryptor to both rip and burn my ISOs. I am currently using Maxell DVD-R discs with the ID "Prodisc" which is supposedly 2nd class media. The game I am attempting to back up is TMNT.
    The ISO is 4.3 Gigs so I just burned it to the disc without rebuilding it. When I boot with SwapMagic, it makes it to the game's loading screen and never goes any further. Any suggestions would be helpful especially since I only have one disc left!

    Afterwards I tried to rebuild the ISO using Gnie's Expert Tool but the results did not seem to be right. The original file size is 4.3 Gigs but after using Expert Tool the "New-Image File" is only 479MB in size. Is this correct? Can anyone explain this?

    I appreciate the time anyone takes to read this!
     
  2. svtstang

    svtstang Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If you used Expert Tool correctly it should be fine, the ISO size justs shows how much crap data/padding the developer used. I dont have the game, so I couldnt tell you though. I have used Expert many times, and questoned if it worked when an original 4.37 gig ISO was shrunk to around 700 MB, but it played fine to my surprise. Wont know till you try.
     
  3. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I would trust this ^^^ guys judgements. Go ahead and burn it and see if it works.

    Personally when i actually use to use my PS2 i never had to rebuild due to the modchip i have. So i never had the pleasure of using Gnie Expert. Back when i had Swap Magic all rebuilding was done manually. (very easy if you have Nero)
     
  4. aries384

    aries384 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Obviously I did something wrong. I followed every step in the Expert Tool faq so I cannot figure out what the problem is. When I load the disc with Swap Magic the screen flashes red and says "Please insert a valid PS2 format disc". Unfortunately I do not have Nero to try it with that. I do have ISO Buster maybe I will give that a shot when I get more discs. Maybe it has something to do with my laser? I have the old PS2 with the 000 model number.
     
  5. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The rebuilt image size should be over 1gb,so you messes up

    If you havent got nero,use imageburn instead,it does exactly the same thing
    Just use isobuster to extract game files
    open imageburn....

    mode/build
    on the right hand side click the options tab
    on the file system drop down tab,select ISO9660 + UDF
    Drop all of your games files into the main window in image burn
    click through the next few options,and it will produce an MDS/ISO file
    burn the MDS
     

Share This Page