1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CDEX v1.51 Vs EAC v0.95

Discussion in 'Audio' started by aeneas1, Apr 8, 2005.

1. aeneas1

aeneas1 Member

given that i am rather new to the world of ripping, i am hoping that someone might help me understand why eac takes over 10 times the amount of time to rip than cdex; and that's using a bitrate of 256 with cdex and a bitrate of 192 with eac - at least those are my results.

-------------------------------------

here are my settings:

[bold]cdex:[/bold]
    rip method: standard
    encoder: lame mp3 v 1.30 engine 3.92 mmx
    version: mpeg l
    bitrate: 256
    quality: normal (5)
    vbr method: disabled
    vbr quality: vbr0
    output sr: 44100
    other: on the fly mp3 encoding

[bold]eac:[/bold]
    extraction priority: normal
    extraction method: accurate stream
    read command: auto detect
    actual speed selection: auto detect
    reduction during extraction
    gap method: b
    detection accuracy: inaccurate
    external compression: lame 3.96.1
    parameter passing scheme: user defined
    bitrate: 192
    quality: high
    max vbr: 320
    vbr quality: normal (5)
    write xing vbr heading vbr encoding

-------------------------------------

i have never used eac before and was anxious to give it a spin based on the many great reviews here. i have used cdex in the past and found it to be absolutely great but, like most everyone i know, i am always interested in the best solution available!