1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi8 Analog to digital video

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by _bayman_, Jan 8, 2009.

1. _bayman_

_bayman_ Member

Hello all

First, I would like to start of by saying I am somewhat of a novice, when it comes to video editing/encoding. I have a Sony Hi8 CCD-TRV68 NTSC handycam. I have been fooling around with this for awhile(6 - 8 months). I want to digitize my home video collection. Looking for the best way to do this. I have read many post on this forum(and others), where people have asked for help, but their seems to be none available. Hold on now, I'm not trying to shit on anyone. Don't get the wrong idea here. Just, I have spent a long time reading all kind of stuff, not useless stuff, I have learned alot. Just not what I wanted to learned. Just wondering if anyone really knows how to digitize Hi8 analog video, without loss of quality and having audio in-sync.

Hardware

1. Camcorder - Sony Hi8 CCD-TRV68 NTSC handycam with S Video and A/V Out.

2. Computer - Intel Core 2 6400 @ 2.13 GHZ, 2 GB RAM, Sound Blaster X-FI Platinum, ATI All-in-Wonder 2006 PCI Express, 1 TB Hard drive.

Have made a couple of attemps to digitize video using Windows Movie Maker and Virtual VCR. Here's what happened.

For video quality purposes, let say 10/10 is HD quality video. 7.5/10 is DVD quality, 5/10 is VCR quality, etc.

Windows Movie Maker(WMM) makes making videos fairly simple. The video quality was OK, but should be alot better. When I hook up my camera to my LG 42 inch plasma, the picture quality is excellent(DVD Quality, 7/10). Amazing picture. When I digitize(on PC), using WMM, the quality on my Sharp 19 inch LCD was not great(less than VCR Quality, 3/10) I don't expect to get 10/10 video when I digitize my analog video, but I should be able to get the same(7/10) as when I hooked my camera up to my plasma.