1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

 Divx Question

Discussion in 'PS2' started by kr1m1n4l, May 31, 2003.

  1. kr1m1n4l

    kr1m1n4l Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I burnt a divx avi along with the ps2reality mediaplayer software on a cd-r.

    I dont have a modchip, so it obviously won't boot. Can I use gameshark, swap cd er something to boot the cd without a modchip?

    I dont want to get a modchip cuz i wont be playing any game backups... all i wanna do is use the ps2reality mediaplayer thing to playback mp3s, divx movies, pics etc on my ps2.

    Will i have to buy a modchip? or can i just buy a copy of GameShark to use to boot my cd-rs?
     
  2. psx245

    psx245 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes you need a modchip of course. or maybe you can use the knife trick or something.
     
  3. Aphexed

    Aphexed Guest

    yes u can boot divx-cd if u have AR2/GS +SBOX/NEO
    i personnally used this method before
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 31, 2003
  4. kr1m1n4l

    kr1m1n4l Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    can u do it WITHOUT a modchip (this includes no solder modchips).
     
  5. ps2fan

    ps2fan Guest

    Try the flip-top cover. It boots backups, costs about $50 shipped, does not require a modchip or soldering. While I havent used it with your application, it works for all others.

    And for $50 its a bargain!
     
  6. kr1m1n4l

    kr1m1n4l Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    could i just insert the gameshark cd, and then swap it with the divx cd...... with NO modchip?
     
  7. golden_35

    golden_35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the answer is no
     
  8. YodaX

    YodaX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    flip top sounds like what you want.
    there is NO way to do it with out ANY modification.NONE WHATSOEVER:(
     
  9. kr1m1n4l

    kr1m1n4l Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    alrite, i guess im gonna buy a flip top

    how hard is it to install?
     
  10. ps2fan

    ps2fan Guest

    its not very difficult. Look at the instructions on the seller's website. You have to remove the screws (8 or 10)holding the cover, then remove the screw holding the memory doors and transfer it to the flip top. Finally remove the screw holding the reset button and transfer it to the flip top. Make SURE you do not mangle the wire strip for the reset when you put the flip top cover on! Its not difficult; just hold the disc cover open when you put the shell back together.

    If you know someone that tinkers with electronics, let them do it.

    Good Luck.
     
  11. Wulfie66

    Wulfie66 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just recently installed my fliptop and the ps2 reality media player works fine for divx, haven't tested it with any other formats. One word of advice though, make sure that the divx uses mp3 for the soundtrack! I tried one with a pcm soundtrack and it crashed the ps2 reality player almost instantly. As far as installing a fliptop, it's fairly simple, took me about 15mins.
     
  12. kr1m1n4l

    kr1m1n4l Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    alrite, im gonna buy it

    but do u think i can install it by myself (im 13 yrs old by the way) LOL
     
  13. kr1m1n4l

    kr1m1n4l Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    can i????
     
  14. Wulfie66

    Wulfie66 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't see why not. As long as you take your time and don't get frustrated if it doesn't go together right the first time. Patience is a virtue! LOL
     
  15. kr1m1n4l

    kr1m1n4l Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok, im gonna get my dad to help me



    thanks for ur help guys.
     
  16. 1000HP

    1000HP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm looking into the fliptop to play divx as well. Can you insert subtitle files as well such as .srt files and .sub files into the cd? Do you need a magic swap cd used along with the divx cd-r? How can you tell if the divx has a mp3 sound or another type of sound track? Do Xvid movies play all right?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  17. robert34

    robert34 Guest

    my son did the flip top install on one of his friends ps2. hes a 13 year old also and he did it in 10 min. so i think you will have no promblem!

    ok 1000hp im not sure if you can put subtitles, i think you can but i dont know how.

    you need some method of booting, swap magic and flip top. no swap modchip....etc.

    most divx movies have mp3. i havent come across one movie that hasnt worked. (use the new ps2 reality 1.28 beta) it works with divx 3-5, mp3, and xvid
     
  18. Workshed

    Workshed Guest

    you can put subtitles in theres a quick note on how to do it in the readme file that comes with reality media player
     
  19. zamsak

    zamsak Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How did you boot PS2 Reality????

    Well I had these files

    virtual.irx
    ps2media.elf
    Install
    System
    <DIVX Movie>

    I created an image with CDGENPS2 and burnt it with Nero at 8X(lowest possible).

    I have a SCPH - 30004R with AR2V2+SBOX Mod. I even tried the Swipe trick.

    Please help
     

Share This Page