1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3.3 twilight hack issues

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by parley, Apr 12, 2009.

1. parley

parley Member

hi guys, i have installed hombrew on my wii( which already had 3.3 firmware) via the 3.3 twilight hack, it plays some games colour but others black and white, eg. manhunt 2 and resident evil 4, do these require the firmware and hack to be 3.4 to play in colour? if so how do i update to 3.4 without going to 4.0, i have looked at other threads but i don't have sonic and the black knight, is there another way to do it? apologies if this has already been covered, i have looked but as a newb, i am looking for a simple explanation, and wasn't 100% sure of how to do it reading some posts.
    many thanks in advance.

2. nuke1105

nuke1105 Regular member

I was asking the same questions as you a couple of days ago and i only got one answer. According to Penguin he said you can get 3.4 with MadWorld or Sonic & The Black Knight. You can always rent the game for around 5 bucks at your local video game store.

3. larrylje

larrylje Active member

The black and white is a region issue not firmware issue.

More then likely you have a USA Wii and the game is PAL.

You need to force the game to NTSC.

I can't tell you how to do this since you haven't given specific enough info on how you are booting the backup games.

Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
  4. parley

parley Member

would the region issue not affect all games, the games that play in colour are PAL as well.I boot my back ups from wigattor 0.3 gamma back up launcher, how do you tell if the wii is USA or UK model.
    many thanks for your advice guys already.

5. larrylje

larrylje Active member

Some PAL games might boot with color automatically if they use 60hz. But the ones that are booting black and white probably are using 50hz so you need to force NTSC.