1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4.1 and below Firmware Softmod Guide - All Systems Except For Korean (LINKED 4.2 GUIDE)!

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by larrylje, Sep 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I don't cheat so no it will not be covered in the guide. If you want to know more about it do a search or start a new thread.
     
  2. gennix68

    gennix68 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, well thanks a lot any way, good guide and thanks for the help. i already soft modded my friends wii and there's no problem.
    next week i'll try to use the usb loader.
    have a good day!!!!
     
  3. THEFIZZER

    THEFIZZER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Larry

    I have followed the guide again and everything goes through fine.

    I have also added the usb loader and that was a piece of cake too.

    But when I launch either the neogamma or usb loader channels, the screen goes black and then freezes.

    I have got the 4.1e black Wii and I'm using a 4gb Sandisc sdhc card.

    Am I missing something out here ?

    Thanks in advance,
    Fizz

     
  4. gennix68

    gennix68 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    guys, can you help me, i just downloaded new super mario bros, and burned it on imation dvd-r and i got dvd read error 1101. anything wrong with the dvd or idid not format the dvd. i burned it on x3 speed.
     
  5. gennix68

    gennix68 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi larry! i need help. i downloaded new super mario brothers.rar and extracted it and burned it using imation dvd-r and when i played it with back-up launcher it says dvd read error 1101. can you help. i researched but no suitable answers yet. thanks!
     
  6. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    @gennix68
    Watch the back to back posts - edit your previous post instead.
    Also please pay attention to the thread note - No Specific Game Questions Allowed!!
     
  7. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I have asked in the guide and multiple times through the thread to please don't ask game specific questions in this thread. Start a new thread if you have a specific game issue.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
  8. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I don't know what to tell you. If you did everything properly then it should work.
     
  9. THEFIZZER

    THEFIZZER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Pitty

    I cannot find a similar problem in the forums

    There was 1 bad sector that I noticed during the nand backup, would that have anything to do with it?
     
  10. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    MNo you should expect bad sectors on the NAND it is normal.

    As I said you have to be doing something wrong. If you did everything as you should then you should have no problem.
     
  11. THEFIZZER

    THEFIZZER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Larry

    I have read on another forum that the black screen issue maybe down to not using the latest IOS.

    Would that make sense ??
     
  12. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If you followed the DOP-IOS section (which I recommended) you should have all latest IOS installed.

    Your the only one that seems to be having this issue. So you evidently have done something wrong. What that is I don't know I am not there watching you do the softmod.
     
  13. THEFIZZER

    THEFIZZER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I know your not here watching me softmod Larry but your here in spirit !!
    Somehow...(after going through the dop ios bit again) it's finally decided to start working but when i put the usb stick into the recommended port, the usb launcher doesn't boot up when I start it.
    But then, when I put the stick into the inside port, the usb launcher program works but I have to take out the memory stick and put it into the recommended port (the outside one) to load a game.

    That probably sounds difficult to understand but I'm just glad that it now works !!

    Do I need to install ios36 to play newer games such as nsmb etc...???
     
  14. metaphaze

    metaphaze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Wii System: LU38 4.1U Firmware

    Larry, or any other forum elders I need some assistance today.

    I have prior experience modding VG Consoles (ie. XB360, DC, PS1/2), but am struggling with what seems to be one of the easiest systems to "soft mod".

    I followed the beginning of your tutorial as stated.

    I extracted "EXTRACT TO SD CARD" directly to drive letter G: where my SanDisk 2.0GB card lay.

    All files extracted as expected. I followed your tutorial in order to obtain the 4 .wad files. I copied only the .WAD files (not the folders) to the root of the SD card.

    I turned on the Wii w/o the SD card inserted. I then clicked on Wii Setup, Data Management, etc... until I reached the screen with Wii + Internet and SD Card. I went to the SD card tab, and like you said it would ask me to insert a SD card.

    I inserted the SD card, and it did not load the autoboot. Instead I am staring at a TV Box with a ? (Question Mark). Clicking on this gives me the options of Move/Copy/Erase.

    Any ideas?

    The only thing I can think of is a problem with the SD card, not sure though.

    I can not format the 2.0GB SD card "properly" to FAT32. Instead when formatting to FAT32 filesystem and reviewing the disk space it shows varying amounts of data in use, when none is present prior to putting on the softmod software. This appears to effect many, not just myself as a simple Google search yielded.

    I can however format to FAT filesystem, and everything checks out ok. I have talked to a relative who was successful in soft modding with his SD card formatted in FAT.

    However neither file system appears to make a difference. I have tried both and still get the question mark to appear when attempting to boot from the SD card.

    Any help and or advice would be appreciated.
     
  15. MetlHed75

    MetlHed75 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This man is a genius!!

    I followed this guide VERY carefully, making sure to triple check each step of what I was doing, and everything came out working perfectly. I backed up six of my kids' Wii games to DVD and every one works like a charm. Larry....you are the freaking man!
     
  16. john4582

    john4582 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi all i have a 3.4e wii

    i have followed the guide and managed to get the homebrew channel

    i could not put the bootmii on boot2 so had to use the other

    my problem is when i come to run trucha bug restorer

    i choose ios15 at the top and press b
    i then press 1
    i then choose downgrade ios15
    load from sd card and i get the following
    checking title and revision....
    loading contents...done
    reading file into memory complete
    decypting ios
    checking hashes
    wrong hashes for content 2
    could not open file:sd:/ios15-64-v266.wad.out.wad
    wrror reading ios into memory
    downgrade failed
    press any button to exit

    where have i gone wrong
     
  17. zabnit

    zabnit Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    DOP-IOS:

    DO NOT DOWNGRADE ANY IOS OR FIRMWARE. INSTALL & PATCH THE LATEST IOS REVISION AVAILABLE. DOWNGRADING TO A LOWER REVISION OR FIRMWARE MAY BRICK YOUR SYSTEM! (IT IS SAFE TO DOWNGRADE IOS15 AT THE START OF THE GUIDE)

    IOS9 - Used by launch titles (Zelda).
    IOS12 - (no description).
    IOS13 - (no description).
    IOS15 - (no description).
    IOS17 - (no description).
    IOS21 - Used by old 3rd party titles.
    IOS31 - (no description).
    IOS33 - (no description).
    IOS34 - (no description).
    IOS35 - Used by Super Mario Galaxy.
    IOS37 - Used mostly by music games.
    IOS38 - Used by some modern titles.
    IOS53 - Used by some modern titles and channels.
    IOS55 - Used by some modern titles and channels.
    IOS56 - Used by Wii Speak.

    Start DOP-IOS (via Homebrew Channel).

    Go to IOS9 (use D-Pad left & right).

    Press A to install latest version.

    Press A at Are you sure you want to install IOS9 vXXXX.

    Press A at Apply Sig Hash Check patch to IOS9.

    Let it do its work (Be patient it may seem that the Wii system has froze but do not turn off or reset the system).

    After it has finished press any button to continue.

    You should now go back to the DOP-IOS main screen. Now use the d-pad (left & right) to go to the next IOS I have listed above. Follow the above directions to install and patch the newest version of that IOS.

    After you have done the last IOS in the above list (IOS56) and you go to the Main Screen press HOME button to exit DOP-IOS.

    FOR MORE INFO ON DOP-IOS GO HERE.


    Could it be done offline I mean not using internet please...
    because it's look like need internet connection I'm I right tell me if I wrong I will give it a try again...

     
  18. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You need WiFi.
     
  19. zabnit

    zabnit Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank you Larrylje
    your guide was rock I can play the new game now ( new super mario bros, dll)

    but I think I'll pass coz I don't have the connection.
     
  20. milkchoca

    milkchoca Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Firmware 4.1U
    Serial LU39

    Formatted SD card to FAT32
    Extracted files to it...
    Inserted SD card into Wii according to guide as told...

    But nothing happens.

    Will someone please assist me with this?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page