1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A Complete Guide: Loading Backups with Action Replay Max (no modchip required!)

Discussion in 'PS2' started by jjax, Jan 21, 2006.

  1. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You have to go the gamesave memory manager and then select your usb device, it should show up on the left side.
    You would then select it and then on right select uncrush to mc
     
  2. Rebel_X

    Rebel_X Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nope, nothing. I looked in the manual and the closest thing to a flash drive they mention is a "Datel X-Drive USB ZIP Drive". I have no clue what the hell that is.

    I might go crazy if there is more crap that i have to buy just to make this work.
     
  3. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You don't have max memory , its right beside Expert Mode when you boot up the Ar max.
    Mine recognizes my USB Kingston 2GB Data Traveler.
     
  4. Rebel_X

    Rebel_X Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When i look in there my memory card shows up but not the flash drive. I don't know what to do.
     
  5. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    What type of flash drive do you have. Mine will light up when inserted.
    I hate to say but they are not all compatible with the PS2.
     
  6. Rebel_X

    Rebel_X Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This is the flash drive that I have. Mine lights up too when I put it in like my computer or something but not my ps2.
     
  7. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Can you back up what you have on it, and try formatting it too just FAT
    Then copy your exploit file again and try it.
    Here is a site with pictures for your max memory and then go to My Devices, choose your USB drive.
    If it doesn't recognize it, pull it out and insert again.
     
  8. Rebel_X

    Rebel_X Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How do you convert it to FAT?

    I looked in the same devices menu thing and it did not show up. The flash drive did not light up either.
     
  9. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Go to My Computer, Right-Click on your Drive ,then choose Format.
    Then select FAT and click Start.
     
  10. Rebel_X

    Rebel_X Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I already looked there there's only a FAT32 option.
     
  11. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    What operating system are you using. There should be a dropdown by the FAT32, and you select FAT.
     
  12. Rebel_X

    Rebel_X Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am using XP. There is only a FAT32 option.

     
  13. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Must be some flash drives can only be formated as that I guess.
    You would have to use the Hewlett-Packard’s USB Format Tool mentioned in the link I gave you above about the max memory if you wanted to try it.
    Its up to you.
     
  14. Rebel_X

    Rebel_X Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I downloaded the HP USB Format Tool thing and now when i format it gives me two choices: FAT32 and NTFS.

    Will NTFS work? Will i be able to change it back?
     
  15. Rebel_X

    Rebel_X Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey I just thought of this, do you think I can use my PSP? It shows up in the format tool thing as FAT, FAT32 or NTFS. Do you think I can format it as FAT and use it?
     
  16. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    To your first question yes if you format it, you can format it again either using the HP TOOL or windows xp, but for the PS2 to recognize it, it has to be formatted as FAT or FAT32.

    And yes you can plug your psp into the usb port on the PS2 and it will act as a memory card.
     
  17. Rebel_X

    Rebel_X Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, i plugged in the PSP and it didn't work. I guess im gonna have to buy that "X-Drive" that was mentioned in the manual.
     
  18. Rebel_X

    Rebel_X Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey, my flash drive seems to be USB 2.0 and my ps2 is REALLY old (got it in 2003) and I'm pretty sure the ports are USB 1.1. Will USB 2.0 devices work on a USB 1.1 port?

    I feel pretty strongly that my ARMAX won't support USB. I did some research and found out that the EVO edition supports USB, or something like that.
     
  19. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    My Kingston usb is USB 2.0 also and its recognized by my PS2 with Ar Max and with Codebreaker.
    I should have also said my Kingston data Traveler is 1.1 USB backward compatible.
    You need the Ar Max with Media Player to do the exploit properly.
    It has support for usb devices also.
    http://us.codejunkies.com/Products/PS2-Action-Replay-MAX---USA__EF000306.aspx

    The EVO edition just comes with a flash drive.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2008
  20. Rebel_X

    Rebel_X Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I will look for that at Best Buy or something cause I'm tired of asking my dad to buy stuff online. I'm just gonna use my own money or just steal one :D

    (not really)
     

Share This Page