1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A Complete Guide: Loading Backups with Action Replay Max (no modchip required!)

Discussion in 'PS2' started by jjax, Jan 21, 2006.

  1. bhee

    bhee Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    jjax-is there any other way of doin it without max media ive got that software on my pc but its not on my disc n do u tink i shuld get the latest version of action replay max wat comes in the tin.
     
  2. bhee

    bhee Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    or can i buy jus the max media on a ps2 cd
     
  3. Crivens

    Crivens Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    firstly thanks for the guide, it's as close as I've got to being able to play my imports yet... frustratingley close in fact...
    So I just want to add that I have had exactley the same results as BustDustr down to the pink border on the red galaxy when it freezes.
    I also sometimes get a completley red screen that replaces the galaxy if I leave it running after the freeze.
     
  4. jjax

    jjax Guest

    bhee - yeah, there is a way of installing an MC exploit on a Fat PS2 without max media player - it's much more complex but is still possible! - also, that method won't work for slim PS2 unfortunately. I'd recommend buying the newer (tinned) version of ARMAX, it's worth it for the media player and makes installing the exploit much easier.


    Crivens - thanks man, i'm working on a solution for this problem - seems to be a commen problem - won't take me long to sort out i'm sure! ;-)
     
  5. bhee

    bhee Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i bought it 2 day for £13($26)
     
  6. bhee

    bhee Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i can load cd loader thruogh my pen drive can i do it that way
     
  7. jjax

    jjax Guest

    Yeah - if cdloader runs off pendrive, then all you need is your MC exploit cd made with the independence compiler program. You just swap an official PS2 cd for your exploit installation cdr and it'll work perfect! ;-)
     
  8. bhee

    bhee Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    shall iswap it or press eject
     
  9. jjax

    jjax Guest

    Yeah - you ALWAYS need to use slide tool or flip top to SWAP discs when you want a cdr or dvdr to load - this is true regardless of what method you are using (MC exploit, SwapMagic etc.) - pressing eject will always just refresh the PS2 TOC and then it knows it's got an unofficial cd/dvd in the disc tray, meaning it wont run the disc.

    Hope that helps.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2006
  10. bhee

    bhee Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    k but wen i load cd loader of my pen drive n press eject n put action replay max in n den swap it 4 mc boot disc ting the red galaxy jus stays der frm bhee(i have fat ps2)
     
  11. jjax

    jjax Guest

    That's quite odd - you seem to have done all the right steps - i can't think what could have went wrong there - it's obviously the MC boot disc that's the problem, if you've followed all the right options in the independence compiler program and burned with a standard burning program to 100% disc complete, no errors, then it should load no bother! - are you sure you chose NTSC (if you're in america) or PAL (if you're in europe)? - all i can think of at the moment! :S
     
  12. bhee

    bhee Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i ued pal becoz i live in da pal region
     
  13. BustDustr

    BustDustr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey jjax,
    I forgot to mention one other thing in my previous post. As I said before, I have a slim-line and I can load up cdloader both from a CD-R and USB. But after trying it out a few times, I noticed that in the top-left hand corner of the screen, there's an option where you can change the format from PAL to NTSC by pressing square. The default is PAL and as soon as I press square to switch it to NTSC (I live in Canada), the screen begins to roll (like when you have bad cable/satellite reception). If I press square again, the screen turns back to normal but the fomat also switches back to PAL. Is there a problem here or is this step completely unnecessary (switching cdloader from PAL to NTSC)?
    Thanks again
     
  14. Purity

    Purity Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had the same weird screen flip thing but I didn't realize that that hitting a button was the cause, haha, I thought it was just tweaking.

    I'm having a problem with my CD burns. I have a "fat" PS2 and I tried burning both discs and nothing worked at first. Next I put the cdloader on the pen drive and it comes up fine but I can't seem to get cogswap to come up by way of pen drive or CD swap to the burned copy.
    I'm getting the red swirling screen that someone else mentioned and it just sits there until I remove the disc then it says "CD Loading problem" or something to that extent and let's me put more discs in and switch things around. I'm going to switch my DVD burner (It's burning at 40x CD R) out for my old CD burner for some more burns and try some different SLUS rips from a different PS games and see if I can find a way to load the cogswap from the USB pen drive. Any other ideas for a fix for the part I'm at?

    Addition:
    Ok, I did a slow burn (Only 8x) on my old CD burner with a different SLUS file (The first cue and bin I made with the compiler was 100mb, this new one turned out to be only 20mb) and that worked fine. I got cogswap loaded up and the memory card has the files on it but now I'm stuck at the last point. (It's just trial and error for me, I do one section then figure out how I messed it up and fix it, haha...)
    So the cogswap screen with what looks like a disc in a case loads when I have the PS game I used to create my compiler info from and says PSX game on the bottom. How do I finish getting it to work from here? It doesn't exactly say "Swap discs now and hit X" or anything but I assume it's just that simple. I tried to run just that PS game by hitting X from there, no go. I tried using the eject button to put in DVD+R PS2 burns and regular PS2 games but that didn't work (I didn't figure it would but I thought it'd be worth a shot.) And I've used my slide card to insert multiple DVD+R PS2 burns and a regular PS2 discs and none of them load anything up. For both versions of the PS2 games when I slide card them in they sound really sluggish and chuggy in the drive. Like they want to start running but they won't. Any help would be much appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2006
  15. jjax

    jjax Guest

    BustDustr - i don't think the PAL/NTSC option in cdloader makes a difference. If you've got an NTSC PS2 and you switch cdloader to NTSC and it goes fuzz, you might have a PAL TV? - it wont make a difference to how the cd loads anyway, but is interesting nontheless.

    Purity - you've came across an interesting point there that might solve some of the problems people are having with installing the MC exploit - i dont know why the .bin file is as small as 20MB, but it seems to have worked (did you reduce the size of the dummy file?) - also, make sure you burn no faster than 8x speed folks cos' this majorly affects whether a cdr will load through cdloader or not.
    And back to the point - once you've got cogswaploader loaded (it'll show your PSX boot game as a black circle), you load a PS2 dvd game backup like this:

    1. Eject disc tray normally and put in an "big"/"high TOC" official PS2 game (like GTA)
    2. The screen will say PS2 DVD
    2. Press "X" on the controller
    3. The screen will say "Use Cogswap"
    4. Manually eject the disc tray (by slide tool or fliptop method)
    5. Replace the official PS2 game with your backup dvdr
    6. Push the disc tray back in and pull white cog to the left to close (or close fliptop if that's the method you're using)
    7. Press "X" on the controller
    8. Your backup game will load as normal!
     
  16. Purity

    Purity Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OMFG, that worked freaking brilliantly! Thanks so much! I never would've figured that way to disc swap without you writing it out so boldly and plainly there, haha... You might want to edit that into your first post, it was a big help.

    Honestly, I swear, it was 20,000kb before I burned it (I was thinking of trying to get a smaller one and pen driving it over but I just slow burned it instead and I'm glad 'cause it worked.) But NOW it's reading at 118,434KB... I have no idea, I assume you'll know what happened better than I did? 'Cause I have no idea how or why that would've happened just because I burned it. If you want I can rip another one exactly the same from the same disc and send you both files.

    Wow, I'm just so psyched that it works perfectly! Loaded with my PS disc (Final Fantasy 9 disc 1 for the record), turned cogswap on, ejected and put in Final Fantasy 10 (Tried a couple other games before but they weren't bringing up the PS2 game at the bottom) and it read PS2 at the bottom, hot swapped in my burn and it took a minute to load (I was like "Darn, still isn't working....") but then bamf. Woot, thanks a lot for this guide. I've been trying to get this to work for about 5 days (Serious, nonstop, straight working on getting this done. Days.) I've burned like 7 CD-R's with different programs, 10 DVD's, mangled and took apart the PS2, haha... But it was all worth it even if all I get was the 3 minute FMV I just got to watch and the knowledge that I pwned that shit. XD

    Addition: I saw someone post the exact same guide, word for word on another site with the name Tweeker or something like that. Was just curious if it was you, otherwise you may have to go lay the smackdown on someone. ;p
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2006
  17. jjax

    jjax Guest

    Lol - glad it worked for you man! - proves that with a bit of effort it's possible! - welcome to the world of backup-playing!!!!!!

    BTW - i have no idea who this tweeker guy is, i'd better look into that! (what site was it on?):p

    Also, I took the advice and added the "how to use cogswaploader" instructions! ;-)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 2, 2006
  18. Purity

    Purity Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Here we go, I went through history and found it. I was off on the name "Tweeder" instead of Tweeker. It's some guy's blog but definately your guide with no links (Which would probably be helpful to anyone coming across it.) And no recognition.

    So I've got everything set up in an odd sort of way. When my PS game goes in, it boots the LaunchELF menu fine but the cogswap loader is nowhere to be found right off the bat (I hit the button I set it to and it's not there.) So I was like "Wtf?" and then I changed discs while in the menu from the PS1 game to the CD I burned with cogswap on it but it only registers the PS1 game's information still. What I was actually doing was saving and booting cogswaploader from the USB drive after getting into the ELF menu. Also when I loaded it originally I didn't need to burn a disc just for the CDloader menu, I just put it on the USB drive and loaded it from the player menu. That will probably save a lot of people out there a disc with just this gimpy loader on it. I was trying to think of a way to get launch ELF and the memory card stuff to load without the other disc but I just don't think it's possible. Although...

    The other cool thing is you can use cogswaploader from your USB drive straight from the media player, kind of bypassing the rest of the stuff if I'm not mistaken. Although you would have to load through the incredibly slow ARMax windows when you boot up every time so it might be better in the long run to just make the exploit and launchelf menu and go from there.
     
  19. jjax

    jjax Guest

    That's a bit of an alternative way of going about things - cogswaploader should be on the MC and if it is and it's not appearing on the main screen of launchELF, then you're not pressing the confirm button to assign cogswap to a button. If for some odd reason cogswaploader isn't on the MC, just put in the pendrive and access it using LaunchELF - once you see cogswap.elf on the screen - just "copy" it and "paste" it anywhere on the MC - then assign it to a button as you would normally in LaunchELF - i've assigned cogswaploader to the START button - so all i do is switch on console, put in ps1 boot disc, wait for launchELF menu to appear and hit START and cogswaploader will appear. You can do the same for any other elfs you want to add to the collection.

    If you're happy doing things the way you're doing them, then that's fine too!

    Peace.
     
  20. Purity

    Purity Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No-no, contrarily I'd like it to be on the memory card but I can't find it anywhere in the launch.elf files until I put in the pendrive. I didn't know I could just transfer it to the memory card from there but I'll have to try it. The cogswaploader IS on the main screen of launch.elf but /from/ the pen drive. I assigned it the "O" button but if I hit the button then it says it can not be found unless I put the pendrive in. The pendrive copy is the only copy I can find within the file system.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2006

Share This Page