1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A Complete Guide: Loading Backups with Action Replay Max (no modchip required!)

Discussion in 'PS2' started by jjax, Jan 21, 2006.

  1. jjax

    jjax Guest

    Well - you're not making an cd "image" of cogswap, you're just putting the file on a cd that's compatible with ARMAX media player. Just add cogswap.elf to a list of files you want to burn to cdr with Max Media Creator PC software, burn and load cogswap.elf through ARMAX media player - not that difficult! It will work if you have the older version of ARMAX, simple as that.

    It should be clear from the above paragraph that cdloader IS NOT NEEDED in this case.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 20, 2006
  2. Ace_2

    Ace_2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey, man, thanks. This is perfect(although I wasted a CD-R!).
     
  3. Ace_2

    Ace_2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    [bold]IT'S NOT WORKING!!![/bold] Ughh! What did I do wrong? I burnt at 4X, formatted the ELF using MAX Media Center, burnt the audio.cue file, anything wrong? What happens is that when the screen fades when I press "Play" in MAX Media Center, it hangs. My guess is that either I did something wrong or the downloaded ELF is corrupt. jjax, help me out here. By the way, do you have any screenshots of what the Cog-Swap screen looks like?
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2006
  4. Purity

    Purity Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Uhm... When you burn the CD with all the stuff on it, how are you running it? I don't recognize audio.cue... Is that just what you named it? When you run it in the max media part and the galaxy screen comes up it's probably because of a bad burn or the program just isn't working right. I tried my burns like 4 times and then it randomly worked after that so maybe try running your disc a couple times or try on another PS2 so you can install the Memory card exploit.

    Screenshot adds:
    Cogswap: http://team-nomod.metagames-fr.com/image/CogSwap_Psx.jpg
    Launch.elf screen after the program's loaded and you boot it from your PS1 game: http://www.exploitstation.com/articles/launchelf_tut/0.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2006
  5. jjax

    jjax Guest

    Ace_2 - this is what happens with the newer version of ARMAX, the older version doesn't hang at the black screen when you hit PLAY at cogswap.elf - all that i can guess is that you actually have the newer version, but it just didn't come in a tin box! (it's the only explanation i can imagine for this, cogswap.elf (57KB file) isn't the type of file to be "corrupt")

    I'm afraid cdloader is your only way to get cogswaploader to load in this case.
     
  6. qberty

    qberty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    and if i wanted to put just cogswaploader on a cdr would i need any other files for it to run . And I'm still stuck with the freezing galaxy its startin to piss me off.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2006
  7. Purity

    Purity Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What you do when you use everything in this manner is a memory card exploit. Broken down:

    You rip the slus of a PS game and you put a collection of other files together on a CD which basically has the ability to upload files onto a memory card and use the PS1 game you ripped the Slus from to boot up launch.elf

    You need a way to run cdloader so that you can run this exploit. You do this by burning it onto a CDR or putting it on a pen drive and running it in the ARMax media player.

    With CDloader you run the burn containing the slus, launch.elf and most likely cogswap.elf because it's easy to put on there.

    When that boots up it installs a collection of files (the "exploit") onto the memory card in slot 1 which makes the PS1 game you ripped the slus from basically a bootable disc.

    Next you start your PS2 with the PS1 game in it and it loads up launch.elf which is basically a file system organizer (Think Windows for your PS2) here's a great guide for launch.elf and it's functionality: http://www.exploitstation.com/articles/launchelf_tut/launchtut.html

    When you boot up into launch.elf you'll assign cogswap.elf a button on your controller, then you click that button to boot up the cogswap.elf program. From there you normally eject and put in a PS2 disc, wait for it to read "PS2 Disk" or whatever it says, then click and it will say "Use cogswap" physically open the drive with the cogswapping technique and a slide card (Or flip top) and replace the PS2 disc with a burn and then physically push and cogswap it back into the PS2. Click again and it will boot up.

    Hope writing it out that way will help some of you.
     
  8. qberty

    qberty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    But why does it freeze on the galaxy screen
     
  9. Purity

    Purity Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    That comes up when there's a faulty disc. So generally it's a bad burn. But I would try your burn around 5 times since I've had burns not work for a couple attempts and then suddenly register.
     
  10. Ace_2

    Ace_2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Okay, jjax, what version is it with the year 2004 written on the back after the Copyright sign at the bottom? And, according to what you said, the new version comes in a tin box(the Evo. Edition), I don't have that.
    Purity, the audio.cue file is the file MAX Media Creator created when I saved the ELF as a CD image.

    I have also been CONSTANTLY trying to get the Cog-Swap made with Independance Compiler 3, no luck AT ALL. I tried 6 TIMES IN A ROW!!! IT NEVER WORKED! Would Independance Compiler 4 do a better job than 3?
     
  11. jjax

    jjax Guest

    Ace_2 - answer: NO (u seem to have the new version of ARMAX, so it wont work without cdloader)
     
  12. Biggie76

    Biggie76 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I Have Xploder Will This Work The Same
     
  13. Dez123

    Dez123 Guest

    Still no luck I tried 4 other burns of the backup on the slowest speed and still it keeps hanging at the cogswaploader screen.

    I hit ''X'' and I hear the DVD spin but nothing happens and I can hit it multiply times with no result. :(
     
  14. Purity

    Purity Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    4 other burns of the same backup? Why not try a different game. Did you make sure the PS2 game you're running Cogswaploader with is large enough to run the game OR that the game doesn't have any other problems with burning? I'd try a different game, preferably a smaller one just to make sure you're doing everything else right. I've had cogswap loader screw up on me the way you're describing only one time and that's because I didn't physically cogswap the disc back in well enough.
     
  15. Dez123

    Dez123 Guest

    I tried with Silent Hill 3, SOCOM, TR AoD, FFX-2. (as TOC)

    I'm trying to run the Tomb Raider Legend Demo (Which is around 1,2G big).

    I also tried a few more backups which I played before my swapmagic disk broke but non seem to work.


    --

    Maybe if I boot up CDLoader and put Cogswapload on a disk it could work.
    Any suggestions on what kind if settings I have to burn Cogswapload with Alcohol120?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 23, 2006
  16. Ace_2

    Ace_2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    [bold]NO!![/bold] Ahh, man. I guess I'll have to try to find a way to boot Cog-Swap and get it past that orange galaxy/pink border background, and I think I found the solution. On console.iscentral.net, in the ELF section, Cog-Swap is at the bottom of the page. Here's what it says at the bottom, word for word when you click Expand, right at the end of the thing that pops:

    NOTE: you need PS2LIB 2.0 to compile this program.

    There. What do you think, jjax? Would you say that's the solution?

    EDIT: jjax, do you think you can answer this? Will the games Sega Rally 2006(NTSC J) and Colin McRae Rally 2005(PAL converted to NTSC) work with DVD Loader? The games were released in late 2004 and early 2006. And, how can I get DVD Loader to boot?
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2006
  17. Purity

    Purity Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Dez. I wouldn't waste the disc. If you're getting cogswap to boot up you're probably fine on that end. Also if you're using burns that you've used to boot up before and a game larger than them to start with that's good also. I don't see what the problem is but it sounds like your PS is struggling but trying to read them.

    Try cleaning your PS2 lens with just a regular CD lens cleaner disc and 80% or so rubbing alcohol (or whatever fluid they give you with it. Definately a must-have for PS2 users as it needs to be cleaned occasionally or just stops reading so if you don't have one I'd invest in one anyways.) And make sure you're using the cogswap program correctly. Put in the PS2 disc normally with the eject button, wait for it to say "PS2 game" then hit the X button, wait for it to say "Use cogswap" then physically swap the disc out without hitting the eject button, then hit X again.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2006
  18. Spanky17

    Spanky17 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Purity,
    I'm having the same problem that Ace_2 is. I burnt my Cogswap Loader first at 52x, then, realizing this was mistake, burned another one at 8x. I can get the CD Loader to load fine, however, when I insert the Cogswap Loader disc, it goes to the red galaxy thing. I've tried to boot it numerous times with failed results. I've followed the directions EXACTLY. And, if you're wondering, I'm using the new slimline. Can anyone assist me? My Swap Magic disc just snapped in half and I really want to play my games.
     
  19. Purity

    Purity Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You have a seperate disc with cogswaploader on it that you're trying to boot? That's wrong. You don't want a disc with cogswaploader on it. You want the cogswap.elf program on your memory card OR USB pendrive so you can access it from launch.elf which is the program that boots up when you put the PS1 game in. CDloader is just the program that allows you to upload the launch.elf and the cogswap.elf to the memory card so you can run them.
     
  20. bhee

    bhee Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    jus wanted to know if u can play ps1 bakups jus with cd loader of the pen drive with the fat ps2 new versin of action replay max in tin frm bhee
     

Share This Page