1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

another way to install freemc_boot

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by luke9511, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. luke9511

    luke9511 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok here is how i got freemc_boot to install when i couldnt use gameshark cause the newer versions auto open the cdtray on my fat ps2, also i couldnt find a copy of armax just remember to do everything this says, i copy and pasted this cause i didnt know if i could post links or not

    Code:
    Tutorial on how to use a ps2 game disc and a modified backup of that disk as a swap disk.
    
    Why I Did this:
    I wanted to install the free mc boot exploit but did have a swap magic disc or a mod chip.
    I didn't what to buy a swap magic disc because I didn't really what to spend 25 $ on some thing I would only ever use once. After the free mc boot exploit is installed you never need a swap disc again it's sort of like the independence exploit with out the need for a ps1 trigger disk.
    
    How I did this:
    Step 1:
    First you need to be able to swap discs on you ps2. For the fat you need to make a swap tool out of an old credit card to change discs with out pushing the eject button just Google ps2 swap tool. If you have a slim like me just follow this Tutorial
    [url]http://www.instructables.com/id/Mod-a-Play...-NO-CHIPS!/[/url]
    
    Step 2:
    Making your swap disc:
    What you will need:
    Original PS2 game disc I used 007 agent under fire.
    Apache v 1.1 newer version will not work
    Dvd Decrypter or other dvd burning soft capable or raw write
    Launch.elf v 4.21 other home brew launch might work don't know
    
    The game you use needs to have multiple elf binaries on it (irx might work don't know) preferably with self explanatory names so you know when it's launched.
    007 agent under fire has 3 elf binaries in the root of the dvd movie.elf, action.elf and driving.elf
    driving.elf is launch when a driving level is loaded. With action I think that's loaded when any other level is loaded, but I'm not sure I modded the driving file.
    
    Burn a iso of the game you are going to use for this hack.
    If you are using dvd decrypter select insert you ps2 game in the dvd drive select mode from the dvd decrypter menu and then iso then you chose where you want the file saved and you click decrypt.
    
    Hack the game:
    In this step you are going to replace one of the elf binaries with the uncompressed version of launch.elf (the compressed version might work I don't know)
    
    To do this you need to use apache v 1.1 if you use magic iso or ultra iso it will change the TOC values and the LBA and the hack will not work.
    
    Load the iso using apache v 1.1 select the file you are going to swap for the hack in my case driving.elf
    click iso tools then click change TOC for selected file do not change the LBA, change the size of the file to the size of launch.elf the size is in bytes so for launch elf 4.21 you would change it to 877420 ( I don't think you can change this value to a larger size and have it work but I might be wrong) now rename launch elf to the file you are replacing in my case driving.elf then in apache select iso tools again and click update, selected file then browse to the location of your renamed launch.elf and select it. Now close apache and burn the modded iso to disk. In DVD decrypter insert a blank dvd, select mode, iso, write, select your modded iso and then click burn.
    
    Step 3: swap it
    Insert the original game in the PS2 power it on let it load past the intro and all the various splash screens and into the game menu now swap the original game with your hacked copy.
    
    The next step differs depending on the game you use and the file you replaced, if you used 007 agent under fire like me and replaced the driving.elf then load up your saved game slot then go to select level and select the level where you are driving. Then you will get a loading screen and instead of loading the level it will load launch.elf which you can use it to load any exploit you want. I used launch.elf to load the free mc boot installer from a thumb drive.
    
    If you deleted your bond saved games then you might want to try replacing the action.elf with launch elf instead I think this will load launch elf on the first mission but I'm not sure I didn't try it. If you used a different game it's up to you to figure out how to trigger the exploit. A couple of the games I looked at had a credits elf I would assume to trigger that if that's the file you replaced you would have to beat the game.
    
    Sweet you are done if you don't believe this is possible I've included a video of the exploit in action. If you think this is way to much work you can always just buy a swap magic disc.
    
    PS don't try and put the launch.elf cnf on the disc it will mess up the toc and launch.elf run fine with out it.
    
    by the way i also used a copy of agent underfire as it seems to work the best
     
  2. butter619

    butter619 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I can confirm this method works. thanks man
     
  3. luke9511

    luke9511 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    your welcome :)
     
  4. ig0tn0thi

    ig0tn0thi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having a problem with using this trick. I don't have 007 so I was trying to do it with Socom and with a playstation magazine disk. I edited the .elfs correctly from following some of the guide up above but when ever I try to start network configuration or one of the games from the demo disk it goes to the red screen asking to put in a ps2 disk. When I try using the iso's with a ps2 emulator on the computer it boots the elf and runs uLaunch but not when I do it on the ps2. Any ideas?
     
  5. luke9511

    luke9511 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you need to boot with the original disc first and then once its past all the load screens and at the main menu you swap out the original disc with the burned one and thats how it works
     
  6. ig0tn0thi

    ig0tn0thi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah I have been switching them at the main menu it's just that for Socom I replaced the NTGUI.ELF so I am assuming that to launch it I have to go to the online menu and start the network settings in the game, which I do. It's just that I think the ELF try's to load but messes up and goes to the red screen saying insert a ps2 disk.
     
  7. luke9511

    luke9511 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    do you use a swap key or do you hit the eject button?
     
  8. ig0tn0thi

    ig0tn0thi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a slim ps2 that I used the tape and tissue mod with, and I have a fat that I opened and left the top off to do the disk switching. I get the same thing on both of them though. I have tried the ISO on an emulator on my PC and it worked fine. It can't be the dvds either because I can play through the rest of the games using the back up but when ever I try to launch the elf is where it goes wrong.
     
  9. luke9511

    luke9511 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i had a slim ps2 but traded it for a fat cause i can put a hard drive in it, only thing i can think of is the slim not wanting to do it, or the game it self also whats the exact name is it NETGUI.ELF or smaller? also did you remember to make the old file the same size as ulaunch and rename ulaunch to the same name of the old file?
     
  10. ig0tn0thi

    ig0tn0thi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Heh I have the actual HDLoader disk's it's just that my hard drive crapped out on me so I want install freemcboot so I can play games off my usb drive, all my other HDD are all sata which wont work.

    But yeah I am using the file NTGUI.ELF I changed the size to match uLaunchELF and changed the uLAunchelf files name to NTGUI.ELF and replaced it and everything. I can't for the life of me figure out WHY it won't launch though.
     
  11. luke9511

    luke9511 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    im not sure either, maybe someone else will see and reply, i use a key myself and didnt have any problem what so ever, only thing i can think of is try another game with elf files maybe
     
  12. monu12345

    monu12345 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can any one give me the step by step instruction for loading iso images of ps2 games on to a 160gb WD usb hard drive. What softwares are used and which files are to be burnt on the cd/dvd, which files are to be put on a memory card and which files are to be copied to the usb hard drive. plaese also provde the links to download the softwares or any files.
    please do me this, i will be very thank full to all in advance.
     
  13. butter619

    butter619 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i tried using this method on various games and none of them worked. i got 007 AUF and ulaunchelf opened perfect.

    swapping 007 with its modified backup requires slide trick for ps2 fat or the sensor blocking trick for the slim models.

    any isos you make must be ESR patched, just google for a esr patcher, pretty simple. am currently playing ZOE2

    007 AUF is easy to get so i would recommend just getting it at your local store and use that
     
  14. flowrent

    flowrent Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Interesting , do you need to use swap keys and have the tray open ?
    Any other games that have multiple elf's ?
     
  15. cheez_cs

    cheez_cs Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, I understand how to install free McBoot, but how do I put ESR on the memory card? Or do I put ESR on a flashdrive?
     
  16. cheez_cs

    cheez_cs Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have tried with 007 Nightfire. I replaced DRIVING and that didn't work. I tried replacing ACTIVE and that didn't work. I ever tried replacing both and all it does it sits at the Loading... screen.
     
  17. allandu

    allandu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have got only one question, where the heck do you get Apache v 1.1, i have looked everywhere, and in my game(Jaws Unleashed) theres no elf files and only one folder where there are irx files, its IOP or something like that, please reply, and il be awaiting for the reply because im really desperate, and lots of people have copy pasted this tutorial :(

    EDIT: I found the link, and for the sake of new people im going to paste the link : http://sksapps.com/index.php?page=mis.html

    EDIT2: I changed the uLaunch.elf`s file name to the stream.irx, but the file type stays as elf, how can i change it to irx
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2009
  18. cheez_cs

    cheez_cs Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I really don't think any other game will work beside 007 Agent Under Fire. I tried with 3 different PS2 demos and with 007 Nightfire and they all failed. I went to Gamestop and got 007 Agent Underground for $3.50 using my Edge card, and it worked perfect. I would suggest just getting Agent Underground since it is the only one I got to work.
     
  19. Skidmarks

    Skidmarks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What about a demo disc you sometimes get off the cover of magazines... They usually have a few different games on so I''d guess a few elf files?!?
     
  20. Skidmarks

    Skidmarks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I plucked up the courage last night and opened my PlayStation to doctor it. All seems to have gone well thanks to the guide linked to and a little youtube plundering!

    I'm now trying to make the disc to use as a swap disc. I'm using Midtown Arcade Treasures as it has many ELFs on there that are clearly named. I found Apache and ripped the game with DVD decrypter, but I'm a bit unsure of whether or not Launch.ELF is the same as uLaunch.ELF as available on sksapps site.

    The reason I say this is that when I downloaded uLaunch v4.39 in a zip file there wasn't an ELF called "Launch.ELF" but there were 2 others: BOOT.ELF and uncompressed BOOT.ELF which I'm guessing are the ones you mean.

    There is a file called LAUNCHELF but it is staed as SpeedDial under properties, so Imagine this is something else entirely.

    Once again confusion reigns... Any pointers would be hugely appreciated if you or anyone else knows what I should do.

    Thanks, LD!
     

Share This Page