1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apple Pro ModChip

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by BaconX, Jan 22, 2006.

  1. BaconX

    BaconX Guest

    Hi, I was wondering if the Apple Pro Chip:
    1). Supports Multi Disc PSX/PS2 Game Backups/Imports
    2). How Do You Turn Off The ModChip If Needed
    3). Does It Support DVD-9/Dual Layer DVD Game Backups/Imports
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2006
  2. BaconX

    BaconX Guest

    Also should I buy this or MARS III MA-502
     
  3. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Neither. Those are crap chips. I though you'd settled on the DMS 4 Pro SE. It's a little more, but it beats the hell out of those POS chips. If you must get a crap or clone chip, go with the Modbo 2.1.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2006
  4. KC36330

    KC36330 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Tokijin

    sometimes you just have to place your advice out there and let it go at that, people who get good advice and then still question it deserve to learn things the hard way.

    kc
     
  5. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    True. Good Point KC.
     
  6. BaconX

    BaconX Guest

    I know I already bought the DMS4 SE and getting it installed right this very second but my friend I gave a MC Exploit is getting sick of Cogswap Loader so I told him about this chip sinces hes very poor :(
     
  7. KC36330

    KC36330 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I own a PS2 + I own a DVD burner to make the backups with + I have blank media to make backups with = I am not overly poor or i do not have my priorities in order.......

    kc
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2006
  8. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If money is an issue check out the Modbo 2.1. Not my favorite chip, but according to Davbere (Pro modder) it's a better chip for the money than Apple or Duo chips.

    http://teammodders.com/ps2_mc.php?ex=2#51

     
  9. BaconX

    BaconX Guest

    MoBo 2.1 has big problems as a modchip with just killing your laser and the acuall modchip dying so I think I'll just give him some money and get him a Matrix Infinity
     
  10. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    That's a good decision. Where did you hear that about the Modbo? I talked to Davbere about the Modbo the other night, and he mentioned nothing of the sort.
     
  11. BaconX

    BaconX Guest

    I donno just hear ppl always complaining about it and the Attack of the MoBo clones
     
  12. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Well I used to bash it up and down. There are ton of POS MI clones, but according to DavBere, the Modbo 2.1 is the best of the bunch. I would never recommend getting the Modbo over one of the big three, but people always are suckered into saving $10, so this is the best of the worst, so to speak.
     
  13. BaconX

    BaconX Guest

    Haaahaa 10 $. Yeah I just got his Matrix bought and sent it in getting modded right now. BTW I got my DMS4 modchip w/ Toxic OS .41! Works so nice althought I already beat Shadow of the Colossus on my slim Ps2 Jak X is good off the HDD
     
  14. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    See us blowhards know are chips lol. Glad it worked out for you. the DMS 4 Pro SE is probably the most high tech chip on the market right now. Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2006
  15. BaconX

    BaconX Guest

    Yes but too bad Dirge of Cerberus Final Fantasy 7 doesnt work because it checks the HDD to see if it can use it for Online play/Updates
     
  16. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You can't play DNA's enabled games off a HD. Even then since you're playing the Jap version of FFXII, you'd need to play it on a region 0 (Jap) PS2 for it to work anyway.
     
  17. BaconX

    BaconX Guest

    I figured it out... To play Dirge of Cerberus you need an offical Sony HDD cuz when booting up it checks the HDD to see if it offical althought it works with my SMD 3.3
     
  18. zap91284

    zap91284 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What happens when you try running Dirge of Cerberus on a non-official HD? I'm having no luck w/ the original, and the image on the hardrive. It gets the "Square-Enix" logo, and then fades away to black indefinately. I've got an official HD, but it isn't formatted w/ PlayOnline on it or anything like that.
     
  19. BaconX

    BaconX Guest

    I think you need the ATAD patch in the Sony HDD tools found at SKSApps.com
     
  20. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    The MI and DMS 4 Pro SE give you the option to auto ATAD patch, if you're using a chip.
     

Share This Page