1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bit torrent speed

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by aXidburn, Jan 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    i have bit torrent i have been using it for a while, but my dl speeds are never higher then like 9kb, is it because i use a router, like emule? so with emule u can set the ports a stuff and it will speed it up, is there any way to set certain ports with bit torrent?
     
  2. shitface

    shitface Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    wow u listen to kc ull never get good speeds
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2004
  3. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    it only has the colors if u have the experiment BT, but i forwarded the ports it very simple. and now the speeds are up around 65kb dolwnloading and about 35kb uploading
     
  4. takeit

    takeit Guest

    hey aXidburn how did you forward the ports or whatever you did to the router to speed up the bit torrent...i have the same problem and i figured it was the router, but i have no clue how to get past it! :(
     
  5. takeit

    takeit Guest

    okay i figured out a little from the manual...but i dont know what port does bit torrent use? what range should i set for the ports and all that? please helpppp
     
  6. daniello

    daniello Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I believe torrents uses ports from 6880 - 6900..
     
  7. coltdwyer

    coltdwyer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    To make this quick. How to unlock ports for BIT TORRENT to use.!!!EASY!!!. If you are using windows XP ofcourse. If you are just one computer connected to the internet go to CONTROL PANEL and then go to NETWORK and INTERNET CONNECTIONS and the to NETWORK CONNECTIONS. You should see the CONNECTION you use to dial out. Right Click on that and click show notification when CONNECTED.Click on the two computers on the bottom right of your computer screen and a properties menuwill come up. Click on support. It will give you a IP Address. Copy that. Go back to your network connections and right click on your internet properties click on ADVANCED. Click on settings. Click add and in the name area type what you want. In the IP ADDRESS paste in the IP ADDRESS i told you to get early. Make the port something easy like for me I put (8888) and (8888) again because their are two places to type it in. Make sure its on TCP not UDP. You should have a client fot your BIT TORRENT. The Best Client is BIT TORANDO. Click on PREF and in the PORT SETTINGS type in (8888) to (8888). Wula your SPEEDS should be traveling faster than INSTANT TRANSMISSION one of GOKU's MOVES.
     
  8. coltdwyer

    coltdwyer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If your on LAN your IP ADDRESSS should be something like this 192.168.0.00. And just so you know everytime you Disconnect and reconnect to the internet your IP address changes. And the CLIENT for Bit Torrent is BIT Tornado.
     
  9. neewbie

    neewbie Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have got bit torrent and i have opened my ports but it is still downloading at 3, 4,7 ks speed. any suggestions
     
  10. shitface

    shitface Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    listen to kc the kiddie
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2004
  11. neewbie

    neewbie Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ummmm i dont know how to change my connection cos i just use the bit torrent download manager to get my files. i cant change my connection any help? should i try like azeureues
     
  12. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    well u can only dl how fast ur internet is so many people wont be able to get 300kbps...
    i have dsl so i dont get that fast but mine hit about 50 and i share about up to 20 but i use the real version now, but i used to have cable and i forwarded my ports and that makes the biggest differnce, so basicly if u have a router and havn't forwarded your ports yet DO IT!!
     
  13. neewbie

    neewbie Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I dont c y it shud d/l at 2,3 when i have done the ports and my friends downloads at 55ks and my broadband is the same as his.
     
  14. shitface

    shitface Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    kc is tha man listen to that dipshit
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2004
  15. cooliobro

    cooliobro Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im getting really crap speed on my bit torrent thing.
    i did the internet settings that coltdwyer explained
    now how do i get to the bit torrent preferences??
    and whats a router, and how to i get to change its ports? can someone please help me
     
  16. neewbie

    neewbie Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I downloaded the bit torrent shadows experimental program. and i get slower downloads than before. the light is on yellow and i have no clue how to use it. how do u make it go fast?
     
  17. uanmi

    uanmi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Guys -
    I've been reading your posts, and all have been great, so thanks.

    My questions is a bit different:

    I have no router, working on a 1.8mhz pIII 512 SD Ram CPU. I am also using a Comcast cable modem. My Bit Tornado speed max's out at 25ish. Since I don't have a firewall and don't have to open ports - how can i increase the speed of the download. BTW, i'm downloading a game connected to 34 peers and 5 seeds. HELP
     
  18. kcc76

    kcc76 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    uanmi to improve d/l speed you need to open ports
    and depending what tracker you are using.
    certain ports are throttled and choose a range between
    how many uploads you will ever have at one time
    ie port 6881---6891 keep at about 10 above first port
    ps wich site do you use to d/l.
     
  19. kcc76

    kcc76 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    neewbie you are on yellow status when behind a nat or firewall allso on shadosw click on prefs and look at top right you will see ports this is where you change them depnding on where you are downloading from.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2004
  20. santo66

    santo66 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    HEY! can someone plz explain how to get higher levels at Torrent Storm or Bit Tornado... im using windows 98, and i usually download stuff at 4 to 10 kb/s. Apreciate guys if u help me!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page