Car Audio System Advice

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by brighteys, May 9, 2010.

1. brighteys

brighteys Member

Hey guys I'm very new to systems, I want to get this sub

It is a JL Audio 13.5" 600 Watt RMS 2 Ohm Subwoofer for $229.99
    First question: I need to get an enclosure for this, anything I need to look for specifically? Or any recomendations?

I want to set up an entire system with an amp, interface, and possibly new front speakers.

So my second question is can I just set up the sub with a wiring kit and add on the rest as I can afford it?
    Or will I have to set it all up at one time?

Thanks for your help

2. aldan

aldan Active member

sub without speakers is like coffee without cream.what speakers do you have now?

3. brighteys

brighteys Member

aw, I didnt know that lol
    They are just stock in a 2005 dodge neon sxt.
    I was hoping on waiting for the speakers, because my 6 stock speakers are very decent, but if it's as important as you say I was gonna get these

Focal 130V1 Polyglass 5" 2 Way Components $250

4. xboxdvl2

xboxdvl2 Regular member

ok you will need an enclosure for your sub.wood and a jig saw are the main things you will need for a sub box if you feel like making it yourself.we use to usually get the wood from building sites but you should be able to buy it from a hardware store.basically making a sub box means cutting a cirle in 1 piece of wood to fit the sub in and a small hole in another for the wires.once you have cut the hole for the sub fit it in the hole and screw it in.then make a hole in the another piece of wood for the wire to run through.attach the pieces of wood together (running the wires through the smaller hole before attaching them all together).maybe apply some felt or old carpet to the outside of the wood to make it look more professional.take a look at sub boxes on google images if you need more of an idea.

5. brighteys

brighteys Member