1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Codebreaker cheats on backups, tried, not working?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by tphalex, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. tphalex

    tphalex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  2. tphalex

    tphalex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I FOLLOWED THESE STEPS AND IT DID NOT WORK

    Download these:
    codebreaker 9.3.elf then rename it to BOOT.ELF,CB_LAUNCH.elf.html(Cogswap), CB_launch.elf.html(esr 7), ESR gui patcher

    1. Make a new partition in the root of your usb. Name it BOOT.
    2. inside BOOT move the BOOT.ELF and the CB_LAUNCH.elf(cogswag) or the CB_Launch.elf(Esr 7).DO NOT PUT BOTH IN THE BOOT FOLDER. ONLY ONE.
    3. from now on any Ps2 disc image you burn must be patched using the Esr disc patcher gui.(even if you use cogswap for your games, since cogswap can load retail games as well as esr patched games. it's nice to have a backup plan)
    4. load the BOOT.ELF you downloaded, using uLaunch. Make sure that a disc is in the tray(any disc will do)
    5. go into your new codebreaker's option menu and turn off the auto eject
    6. select your cheats and press start as normal.
    Now pay attention
    If you placed CB_LAUNCH.elf(cogswap) in the BOOT folder, then press the launch disc icon.cogswap will load
    make sure(using the soft mod) that you can keep the disc tray open while the dic spins, so you can swap discs as cogswap normally has you do. then your game will load(burned or not) with cheats.

    Does anybody know what could be wrong?
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2010
  3. tphalex

    tphalex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    anyone?
     
  4. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
  5. tphalex

    tphalex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It still doesn't work. I put the BOOT.elf (codebreaker) and CB_launch.elf in the BOOT folder. When I launch Codebreaker and press Game Start nothing happens. It just shows the insert disc message with ''Press (X) to continue and triangle (/\) to cancel''. If I press X it takes me to a black screen...forever. Does my usb have to be compatible with codebreaker? I had problems with that usb drive when using armax once, because it was only 2GB. I had to use a 4GB one. Maybe it's the same problem?
     
  6. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok what version of Codebreaker are you using. Do you have the patched version of either 9.2,9.3 or 10

    I have all three version, you will find a link in this thread

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/t.cfm/f...0_1_onto_fmcb_1_8_memory_card-840468/#5067992

    But if you already have a patched version, then do you have 'Disc Tray' set to 'OFF' in the OPTIONS menu.

    Another note is, that you can't use a USB device on PS2 V14 and higher, so thats SCPH 75001 and up.
    Its not the PS2, but rather Codebreaker and usb are not compatible with these versions.
    It will work off a memory card though.

    EDIT: I just realized something you posted above
    This is not necessary as you will overwrite your uLe which is named BOOT.ELF
    Just leave your codebreaker named CB 9.3 or whatever it is, then place the CB_launch.elf in your BOOT folder on the memory card.
    Make sure you still have uLe in your BOOT folder on memory card.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  7. tphalex

    tphalex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry if I didn't give enough information, it would have been easier for you. Ok, I've decided to start from scratch, I will give you all the necessary info. By the way, I have a fat PS2 so it's not lower than V14 but let's stick to your idea of booting CB_launch.elf from the Memory card in order to avoid confusion and make it an easier process altogether :)

    Ok, so without further ado here goes my report:

    I downloaded CB_launch.elf from the link you gave me and the patched Codebreaker 9.2 elf from the online folder you pointed me to.

    My new setup looks like this

    Memory card

    mc0:/BOOT/CB_launch.elf
    mc0:/BOOT/BOOT.elf(ULe)

    USB Flash Drive

    mass:/BOOT/ (EMPTY)
    mass:/files/codebreaker.elf

    My steps:

    -Started ule and opened codebreaker.elf.
    -Once codebreaker loaded I went to the "options" menu and turned "auto disc tray eject" to OFF.
    -Selected cheats, then went back to the main codebreaker menu and pressed X on "Game Start".
    -The screen prompted me "Please insert game, then press X to continue".

    Result: FAILED :(
    no cb_launch.elf no nothing...
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  8. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok not really sure what the problem is seeing you have under a v14

    Lets see about your fmcb menu

    Do you have the setttins to load the fmcb Sony Menu when booting

    http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/fmcb/config.php

    --Hacked OSDSYS


    ON - Default setting Displays list of apps in Sony main menu to be selected for booting
    OFF - Disables the OSD Hack

    This setting should be ON

    Maybe you could send me your config file if we can't figure this out.
     
  9. tphalex

    tphalex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I checked my ps2, it's a V7.

    The Hacked OSDSYS is ON

    Here is the config file.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  10. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok for me I have FASTBOOT set to 'OFF'

    And OSDSYS_Skip_Disc set to 'ON'

    Those would be the only changes you need to try.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. tphalex

    tphalex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried it and codebreaker stills shows "Please insert game, then press X to continue". I verified the FMCB configuration to check if the settings were saved and they were ok so ????

    I had another good idea that I tried, I used the trigger disc that helped me install FMCB so I could go into ULe and then use the MISC tool "PS2 Browser" to go back to the main ps2 screen. The problem was that the trigger disc is a PSX game so codebreaker makes the disc spin really fast and ignores it. If I press Game Start it just freezes codebreaker. But,...would it work if I made a PS2 trigger disc?
     
  12. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok well do you have any problems playing PS2 backups or Originals on your PS2

    I guess what I am asking is does the disc play fine if you don't use Codebreaker?

    If you have bad codes on your codebreaker, this can also happen. I have had that happen myself.

    Try a different game and see what happens?
     
  13. tphalex

    tphalex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Originals and backups generally play fine. Bad codes? Try different games? I don't know, I will try it later and post you back.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2010
  14. tphalex

    tphalex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok. Even if I try the codes or choose a different game it's still the same. However I made an important discovery. Instead of codebreker 9.2 or 9.3 I used codebreker 10 (gamestop version). This time when the screen shows "Please insert game, then press X to continue" if I press X then CB_launch.elf will start...at least it seems like that. This didn't occur before. It would just ask me again to insert a disk and if the disk was inserted it would start the game (original only) if there wasn't any disc inserted it would ask me to insert it again. The problem now is that even if CB_launch seems to start it just stays at a black screen. No browser or anything else.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
  15. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok well the CB_launch.elf if its working properly and your fmcb 1.8 is set up on memory card, should bring you to the Sony Menu so you can choose either esr, or whatever method you are using to play the backup.

    Make sure your CB_launch.elf is placed in the BOOT folder on mc0, and make sure you have no other CB_launch.elf files in any other folder on mc0 or USB drive.


    If your using esr to play the backup, you need to patch the games first with ESR disc patcher GUI v0.24a

    I am not sure what else you can do or try. Perhaps start all over. Have you tried launching your CB elf from memory card instead of USB drive?
     

Share This Page