connecting xbox to pc

Discussion in 'Xbox - Backup discussion' started by sweetm, Aug 31, 2005.

1. sweetm

sweetm Guest

Ok i am new to the xbox side of things, i'm just used to backing up my PS2 games.
    please be gentle!! it mentions a hub or crossover cable to connect the xbox to the pc, what if i'm still the only person in the world using crummy dial up? do i have to have dsl or other means of internet to be able to backup my xbox games?

i am waiting for my mod chip it is a Duox2 (a cheap one) lol
    hope you can help, thanks
    sweetm

2. tEChniiQue

tEChniiQue Guest

No worries...we'll get you off on the right track.

First of all FTPing into your xbox has nothingto do with your internet connection.

As for the set up, there are two ways it can be done. Via a direct connection by use of a crossover cable or via a router.

If you do it by connecting directly, the xbox and the LAN connection on your PC being used for the connection will need to have Static IP's assigned. When you know the xbox's IP (usually displayed on the dashboard of modded xboxes) use that to set up a connection with the FTP Client of your choice (i.e. Flash FXP, Cute FTP)

If using a router to FTP; the process is a little more easy. Make sure DHCP is enabled on both your xbox and PC, plug the xbox into your router, restart it and then input the current IP displayed on the xbox into your FTP Client.

3. sweetm

sweetm Guest

ok so where can i get a router and how much will that cost?
    and then i would need link cables for the xbox?

if i get the things above will the other end of the cable from the xbox go into the router? how would the router connect to the pc

like i said before i am not on broadband, i am using dialup.

thankyou sweetm

4. toney420

toney420 Guest