1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Couple of Broken 360s!

Discussion in 'Xbox 360' started by lecsiy, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. lecsiy

    lecsiy Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Hey peeps,

    Haven't been on afterdawn for years! Used to come on here all the time but seriously got out of the loop and haven't been on for ages.

    Anyway, nice to be back :)

    My question is, I just came into possession of 3 broken 360's. They have the following faults :

    Xbox 1: 3 Red Lights, Non HDMI

    Xbox 2: 1 Red light, E73 on TV, Non HDMI

    Xbox 3: Working, Lights up & loads dash board, wont play xbox games, with HDMI port

    Now, I reckon :

    Xbox 1 : Should be easy enough fix, simple X clamp and re flow of the GPU and CPU should fix that. Assuming no problems with the drive and other bits of hardware, job done.

    Xbox 2 : Bit more difficult! I've done some googling and have found that E73 means that its a problem to do with the Ethernet chip, a reflow of the affected area is all i can think of what do for this one? This one could potentially be hard? Any suggestions?

    Xbox 3 : Hard to say with no drive info at the moment (i get the boxes in a couple of days). Assuming that i can retrieve the key data from the drive will it be possible to take a drive and spoof it to work with this xbox? Then that should fix?

    Like I said, i'm totally out of the loop and this is all what i would have done to the boxes had i got them when i was really up to date with all this? Has anything changed is my questions? And can anyone give me any suggestions on how i could improve what i'l be doing!

    Cheers

    Lecsiy :)
     
  2. ffocus06

    ffocus06 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'd say you're right on all of them. That's what I'd do. As for the one that won't play games, I'd say you're right again but as long as its the original drive. If not you should try and get the key from whoever you are getting them from. Other than that should be fairly easy fixes. Good luck! Let us know how it goes.
     
  3. ffocus06

    ffocus06 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry using my phone lol
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011
  4. lecsiy

    lecsiy Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    When you say as long as its the original drive, does that mean its not possible to spoof a lets say BenQ drive as a Hitachi drive or any other combination for that matter?
     
  5. ffocus06

    ffocus06 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its possible but if its not the original drive its gonna be harder to get the key. I'm not sure how to get the key other than from the original drive. Someone correct me if I'm wrong lol
     
  6. lecsiy

    lecsiy Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Oh no right misunderstanding I think.

    Yep, I plan on getting the key from the original drive. But then potentially injecting that key and spoofing it into the firmware of a different (potentially different manufacturer) drive. Is that possible?
     
  7. ffocus06

    ffocus06 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    As long as you have the key you're good to go
     
  8. helpplz06

    helpplz06 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you will get banned if you go online though as spoofing is no longer safe or supported in later ixtremes i believe..
     
  9. lecsiy

    lecsiy Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I see, so how would I go about spoofing an old drive? Using old software? Is this all available at the usual places that it has always been available from?
     
  10. helpplz06

    helpplz06 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you can only spoof to same hardware . . i tried spoofing the new ixtreme to an old banned xbox cause the drive messed up and it didnt let me. I suppose if u do not go online u can spoof .. but if u trying to go online u need the same manufacture to spoof and be safe.

    For example: any liteon can be spoofed to any liteon
     
  11. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,833
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    In that case I would have used unstealth firmware.
     
  12. b1gh3ad

    b1gh3ad Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no need to spoof to a different just dump original key from drive and write the key to a newly brought drive which is the same as the broken one
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
  13. miketrev

    miketrev Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The 3rd could possibly be the old hitachi open tray gem, fixable with a pot tweak.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011
  14. C4RN1

    C4RN1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Just trash the E73, from experience you're not going to be able to fix it. It's usually something with the southbridge and if the board is warped around the southbridge you'll have a world of problems anyway.

    As for the drive that doesn't play games or discs, clean the laser lens with some rubbing alcohol. Then you can try a laser pot tweak, you'll need a multimeter.

    Test cd's, dvd's and games. If it plays cd's but not dvd's or games then it's probably a laser issue. If it plays cd's and dvd's but not games then it's probably a drive issue. You also want to make sure the drive is spinning, sometimes spindles will gum up and have a hard time spinning up. I'll usually take some contact cleaner and spray it up under the motor then work it in by moving the spindle up and down. I've fixed a handful of dvd drives this way.

    Here's the tutorial for the pot tweak.
    http://dwl.xbox-scene.com/tutorial/XBOX_360_POT_CALIBRATION_V1.0_by_Moda.pdf

    For the 3rrod console get the secondary error code.

    Here's a link for you
    http://www.llamma.com/xbox360/repair/Xbox-360-error-codes.htm

    You can get a better description by entering your secondary error code into this search query.

    http://www.xbox-experts.com/repairguide.php?n=3

    Good luck
     
  15. cab0747

    cab0747 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ive fixed 2/3 e73 boxes I have ever gotten. Make sure you insulate the caps around the area you will bereflowing AND around the sata connector (I messed up both on my botched attempt).
     

Share This Page