1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPS1PSP How to run ROMS?!?

Discussion in 'Sony Handhelds' started by truejay, Oct 8, 2007.

  1. truejay

    truejay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, can someone please tell me how i play roms on the CPS1 emulator?

    Whats the file format for the roms?
    The file came as a .zip so do i load the game as a zip, it doesn't let me anyway???

    Plz help!
     
  2. chwoolgar

    chwoolgar Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Unzip the game and there will be either a folder or 2 files (.keys .bin) if there is 2 files put them into PSP/GAME and make a folder called "PS1 Game 1" or whatever you want to call it and put the files into here.
     
  3. newgen06

    newgen06 Guest

    Games don't need to be unzipped, just place them in the "roms" folder.
     
  4. chwoolgar

    chwoolgar Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ive never bothered to use emulators as the latest custom firmwares have them built in.
     
  5. truejay

    truejay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Basically, i downloaded some roms for the CPS1 PSP and the roms are in zip format ... when i extract the zip, there are several files.
    If i leave on zip format, the emulator doesn't allow me to open the rom ... i think?!

    Whats the file format for the roms, they come in .zip ... do i just copy the .zip or extract and convert to something else?

    help ...

    Thanks!!
     
  6. newgen06

    newgen06 Guest

    I can confirm that zip roms do work. If you extract them you will end up with loads of files, which isn't right for the emulator. MAME emulator uses zipped roms. Try launching one and see, also make sure you are getting the right the rom versions. I had a few that wouldn't open, I got some more and they were fine. Check out the readme file,it lists the games that are supported. Also tells you the rom names. The ones I used where from my MAME 0,34 collection which I used on my GP2x and PSP MAME.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 9, 2007
  7. truejay

    truejay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Where else can i download CPS1 Roms from?
     
  8. truejay

    truejay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I get this error .. with the games that can be loaded: -

    " Checking ROM info...
    ROM set "Strider"
    File not found. "0*00000"
    Press any button. "


    What does that mean? ...

    PLease Help ...
     
  9. newgen06

    newgen06 Guest

    Sounds like you are using the wrong roms. Are the roms you are trying named the same as the readme games list? I had this error when I tried some other games that were not on the supported list.
     
  10. truejay

    truejay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i got it working, downloaded another emulator that came with some roms!

    K .. now the question .. which emulator is better:-

    CPS1
    or CPS2?
     
  11. ledikom

    ledikom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I played CPS1 ROMs with the MAME Emulator and I have no problems loading the games, before the MAME emulator I used RetroArch and have some problems loading the games. Maybe I don't know how works RetroArch because it is a more complicated emulator then the other ones.
     

Share This Page