1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Direct Boot Any PS2 From Any Mem Card!

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by comminup, May 20, 2008.

  1. 75aces

    75aces Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Would this work with the latest PSTwo? Where can I get the utilities and the loader to make it. I also wanted to know if this method will prevent me from playing originals. Which is more reliable? Modchip or softmod. Thanks.
     
  2. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If by the latest PS2 you mean the SCPH-9000x series, fmcb 1.7 will only work with the Date Code 8b , the ones with Date Code 8c will not work.

    No fmcb 1.7 does not prevent you from playing Originals.

    A modchip is always best choice, but fmcb 1.7 is reliable and is cheaper.
    Check out the freevast forum on psx-scene for more info.
     
  3. core2kid

    core2kid Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  4. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Thanks for the update core2kid
    Been waiting for it.

    I was just there earlier today too. Well I will be going there right now.
     
  5. core2kid

    core2kid Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  6. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yes I have always used the compressed 75k DVDELF.bin in all my fmcb installations.

    Very nice installer too, I just installed to 3 mc's, as I use a different one for each PS2 I have.
     
  7. core2kid

    core2kid Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I've never had a problem with the same memory card on each PS2.
     
  8. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Me either. But I have 2 V7 each with HDD and a V14, so I have the setup on each mc different is what I mean.
    I have different codebreakers on them, and don't like to mess them up.
     
  9. core2kid

    core2kid Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Is codebreaker a cheat device? Is it free homebrew? More info on that please.
     
  10. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Codebreaker made by Pelican (Gamestop) is a cheat disk.

    I have a retail Codebreaker 10 disc.
    But one can patch codebreaker ELF for use with hdloader, or ESR.

    http://psx-scene.com/forums/ps2-hom...l.html?highlight=codebreaker+patched+hdloader

    That explains the procedure and how to use it.

    There is even a CB_launch file made by jimmikaelkael that will boot you back to the Sony Browser to choose which program you want started after choosing the codes you want.

    Or you can just rename your own program to CB_launch.elf and place it in the BOOT folder.

    A thread here has the file needed to use with hdloader or ESR
    Read #3,#6 and #9

    Works great for me on my hdd and I use it for DVD backups using ESR.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2008
  11. ndimbo

    ndimbo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Quote "Then once installed to mc, you can boot from a USB drive using USbadvance or you can get a hddcombo and run games from a IDE hdd (better compatibility) ".

    This is where I am stuck since the memory card was set up with fmcb, hdloader and ulauncherelf.

    In this case, how do I run usbadvance?

    Thanks,

    Nick
     
  12. SProdigy

    SProdigy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you're trying to load games from the IDE HDD via HDLoader or using ESR, you won't need USB Advance.
     
  13. ndimbo

    ndimbo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am trying to load games from a usb stick or a usb hard drive. My ps2 laser is broken also.

    Thanks for the reply,

    Nick
     
  14. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Did you format your USB stick with FAT32
    Run the USBExtreme Utility to copy games to the USB drive.

    Launch USBAdvance.elf from the mc

    You can use Ulaunch.elf to copy the USBAdvance.elf to the mc.
    If your using the latest uLe 4.36 you are able to use two USB drives now, so you if you had a pen drive you could run USBAdvance from the pen drive.

    This was the link I posted way above
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/5/250563#4374184

    uLaunch.elf tutorial if needed.
     
  15. b2sdad

    b2sdad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    still looking for swap magic myself, until then I'm stuck??
     
  16. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    where do you live?
     
  17. core2kid

    core2kid Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  18. b2sdad

    b2sdad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Palmdale, California.
     
  19. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok well I can tell you where you can buy it, or you can let "core2kid" above install fmcb 1.8 to your mc.

    He is reliable. Just click the link he provided and contact him.
     
  20. b2sdad

    b2sdad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How about both, drop me a pm or e-mail as to where I can find SM and I will also get a hold of core2kid. because even if core2kid loads up my memory card I still need a boot disc (Swap Magic) correct?
     

Share This Page