1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disks don't load after installing Wiikey

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by inapond, May 5, 2007.

  1. nintengay

    nintengay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i dont think its the media because im using verbatim disks burned at 4x so i think that should be fine. i might go back in to see if its the connections
     
  2. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    It still could be media. I have came across some members and including me that had issues using Verbatim and Tayio Yuden. I would try a different brand still. I use Maxell DVD-R media and have had no issues after going to those.
     
  3. V0RT3XXX

    V0RT3XXX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Mine is D2B

    I'm resorting to think it might be the media, although it could very well be the solder joints since they are so small and hard to tell.

    I'm starting to loose hope in this thing. Maybe those xecuter guys might be able to help me with their new chip
     
  4. carlnalex

    carlnalex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    An online guide for the missing 3 legs problem.

    PLEASE NOTE: for all you peeps having major problems, read this.

    THERE IS NOW NEW VERSION OF THE WII DVD ROM DRIVE OUT, THESE NEW DRIVES HAVE BEEN MODIFIED BY THE MANUFACTURERS AND HAVE 3 LEGS FROM THE MAIN DRIVE BOARD IC CONTROLLER CHIP REMOVED, WHICH MEANS THAT THE INSTALLATION FOR ALL BRANDS OF MODCHIP ON THIS WII CONSOLE MODEL IS NOW MUCH MORE DIFFICULT AS YOU NOW HAVE TO REMOVE THE TOP COATING OF THE CONTROLLER CHIP TO EXPOSE WHAT REMAINS OF THE LEGS SO THAT YOU CAN RECONNECT THE 3 LEGS OF THE CONTROLLER TO ALLOW THE MODCHIP TO FUNCTION. SO FAR WE HAVE ONLY COME ACROSS THIS ON CONSOLES STARTING WITH THE SERIAL NUMBER LEH123XXXXXX AND ABOVE, DUE TO THE INCREASED DIFFICULTY INVOLVED IN MODDING THESE CONSOLES WE RECOMMEND THAT YOU SHOULD ONLY ATTEMPT TO FIT A CHIP YOURSELF IF YOU ARE EXPERIENCED WITH A SOLDERING IRON AND YOU HAVE THE CORRECT TOOLS TO DO THE JOB. IF YOU ARE UNSURE WE RECOMMEND YOU GET A PROFESSIONAL TO DO THE INSTALLATION FOR YOU, Modchipfitters DO OFFER THIS SERVICE IF YOU REQUIRE IT.

    AN INSTALLATION GUIDE ON HOW TO GO ABOUT INSTALLING THE MODCHIPS FOR THIS NEW MODEL CAN BE FOUND HERE


    HELP
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2007
  5. gahau

    gahau Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    okok let me get this thing straight
    i am getting the wii next wii (out of stock)
    does the newer wii in the us or canada have the missing legs and D2C or both us and canada have the same problem?

    here is what i have understood so far
    you can either have a D2B or a D2C

    D2B can either be with or without the 3 legs
    and in either case the wikey can be instal on (more challenging when missing the legs)

    D2C you are just SOL...

    right?

    and one way to tell if i have a D2C or a D2B
    is that with serials LEH123XXXXXX AND ABOVE i will have a D2C

    am i correct so far...

     
  6. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    @gahau

    You are correct on most everything but using the serial# to determine what chipset you have is not 100% accurate.

    There have been D2B chipsets that have had a higher serial number then other Wii systems that had a D2C chipset.

    So you really won't know what chipset you have until you open the Wii up and read what is on the chipset.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2007
  7. gahau

    gahau Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is the D2C phenomenon a Canadian thing or i will also experience the same thing with a us wii

    i know it might sound stupid but how do i go about getting the right wii with the right chip i guess nothing is at 100% until i open but how do i maximize my chances?
     
  8. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    There really is no way to maximize your chances.

    If you get a D2C chipset you will need to wait till a Modchip is released that supports that chipset.
     
  9. gahau

    gahau Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    crap crap i might end up with a useless wiikey... =(
    i dont think my modchip resealer takes returns...
    oh please please made that i get a D2B lol

    how likely will i get a D2C if i buy a wii in the following weeks...
     
  10. locustrok

    locustrok Guest

    I had my friend install my chip, because he solders a lot better than I do. What do you need to check for on your multimeter to make sure it is working right? Also I have a first version Wii has anyone been able to use +R media on it, because I have had no luck, am going to try -R hopefully it works.
     
  11. alphy1313

    alphy1313 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    okay, been reading this whole thread. My father-in-law, an electrician by trade, just tried to install my wiikey. It started up but the disc does not run, and the pop up shows up saying, "disc error, check manual"

    I have the D2B chipset, and we identified that their was no shaving of anything.

    We took off the wiikey and I put everything back and it still won't run w/out the wiikey.

    Anybody got any ideas?

    Thanks for any input.
     
  12. V0RT3XXX

    V0RT3XXX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If you live in US, ur chance is smaller as I just got mine recently and it's a D2B with legs cut out

    I think D2C still haven't made it to the US yet
     
  13. gahau

    gahau Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i am still working of getting one right now
    what was ur approach and where did u get it (state) and if u dont mind store?
    i was told that next sunday some store might get shipments...
     
  14. V0RT3XXX

    V0RT3XXX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I live in Texas, and the store is Fry's electronic.
    I can get you the serial on my Wii later on today when I'm home
     
  15. gahau

    gahau Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    wow thanks a lot
    i am in GA
    probably gonna get in a bestbuy
     
  16. V0RT3XXX

    V0RT3XXX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my serial # is LU5157. Hopes that'll help
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2007
  17. gahau

    gahau Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    LU5157... i thought the format was like LEH....
     
  18. V0RT3XXX

    V0RT3XXX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    LEH is for Europe

    LU for North America

    and LAH - Australia
    LJH - Japan
     
  19. gahau

    gahau Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ohhh so it would be all the wii with serial higher then urs even tho ill nver know for sure untill i open the thing... i see
     
  20. PastorT

    PastorT Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey guys, for all of you with Wiikey's that required the Setup Disc 1.2 from Wiikey.cn the reason for this is as following:
    You have a Wiikey Clone..

    The Wiikey originals doesnt require a setup disc to work ;)

    anyways, thanks for the reccomendation of the Setup Disc, whomever you are, worked for me as well :)
     

Share This Page