1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DMS4 Lite install problems

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by gunnerone, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. gunnerone

    gunnerone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I recently installed a DMS4 lite solderless in my v10 ps2, but I'm having some problems getting it working. Without the modchip in I can boot both ps1 and ps2 original games. When I install the chip only the original ps1 games will boot, I get the RSOD with the original ps2 games or with my toxic cdr disc (I tried multiple brands).

    I opened it up, checked all the cables and chips, and put it back together, but get the same results. I don't have the LED diagnostic panel, but I do have a voltmeter if that'd be helpful.

    What would you suggest? Thanks for your help.
     
  2. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
  3. gunnerone

    gunnerone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've been trying but I get the RSOD or occasionally a disc read error. I've tried about 3 different brands of cdr and a cdrw. Where it won't boot original ps2 games with the chip installed I was thinkin there might be a problem with my install or the chip's bad or something. Should the bios that comes on it boot orig ps2 games?
     
  4. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Burn the Bios onto cd-r using imgburn and burn it at 12 or 16 speed, whichever burn speed it shows it supports.

    Then Boot the PS2 with the disc in beforehand.
    So if you don't have a flip top, put the disc in, then restart the PS2

    The chip does not come with a BIOS on it.
     
  5. gunnerone

    gunnerone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank you I'll try that tonight
     
  6. gunnerone

    gunnerone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No luck, I burned the toxicbios 1.4 at 16x in imgburn, then powered it on with the disc in the drive, but it's still giving me the RSOD. I'm wondering if I need a different brand of cdr or if something is up with my install? What do you suggest?
     
  7. xMastemah

    xMastemah Guest

    It could be that. Personally and among family we use Verbatim for everything and we've never had a problem.

    A lot of things can go wrong when doing a procedure like installing a modchip. Mainly static killing parts. I suppose you didn't work on carpet huh? I work on a polished stone and wear rubber gloves for that reason. :/
     
  8. gunnerone

    gunnerone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It ended up being a bad chip. They sent me a new one, and that did the trick.
     
  9. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Thanks for the update and glad you got it sorted. Enjoy!!!
     

Share This Page