1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

downloading new Socom maps

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by phoenix2, Oct 25, 2004.

  1. atlnicca

    atlnicca Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    used to access the harddrive? or do u mean to make it think its an official drive?
     
  2. pnonso

    pnonso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    To format the HDD if that's what you mean.
     
  3. AmrcanHro

    AmrcanHro Guest

    Wut if you use the disc that comes w/ the Official Sony Hard Drive , for the Playstation to recognize it. If you install those files onto the HDD, you think it'll work?
     
  4. pnonso

    pnonso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No, that disc will not recognize the hard drive, it will not install the files.
     
  5. AmrcanHro

    AmrcanHro Guest

    So I guess there is no way for the PS2 to recognize a non-sony HDD. This guy online had a 40gig HDD in the PS2 a while back when the first map came out. He got to play on After Hours. IT wasn't an official HDD by Sony. He said "It needs to be 40Gig or more and Not Western Digital".

    http://ps2drives.x-pec.com/?p=ps2_installation
     
  6. pnonso

    pnonso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, he used HD loader/advance.
     
  7. AmrcanHro

    AmrcanHro Guest

    Can you download HD Loader advance? HE "said" he didn't install anything just went to enable HDD and it started working.
     
  8. pnonso

    pnonso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ya you can download it, burn it to CD and install it onto hard drive, but level of difficulty depends on what format the file is in- ELF,.cue,.bin,etc.
     
  9. pnonso

    pnonso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You can also buy it for $24.99 or something close to that, but now it's called "HD advance", not sure they sell HD loader anymore. You may want to read this entire forum, you will learn some stuff.
     
  10. atlnicca

    atlnicca Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hd loader/advance will not get socom 2 to recognize the drive, or any hdd enabled games for that matter. yes, you would need the disk that came with the official drive, or either download it from the net. and you also need atad patching from a modchip like dms or matrix infitiny. if you dont have one of those, i guess you're s.o.l. sorry
     
  11. Newbkilla

    Newbkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    damn i just got a maxtor 120 GB HDD with HDadvanced2.0 and the HD advanced doesnt do shit but download games to your hard drive so you dont have to have the disks to play them, and you can even play SOCOM online without the disk. shit i cant believe this thread hass gone on for 4 pages and no one has gotten anywhere! we seriously need a solution
     
  12. ps2mike13

    ps2mike13 Guest

    Hey all e-mail me if you want a program to format HD to read on the ps2
    P.S did not want to post prog for other issus
    e-mail No_Posting_Emails_Or_You_Will_Be_Bannned!!!!@afterdawn.com
    Thanks
    O And How Much is a PLAYONLINE ID THAT WILL HELP ME A LOT THANKS
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 10, 2005
  13. MaDmAxX

    MaDmAxX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Are you saying you have a program that will let us activate our unofficial HDD from Socom? Or is it just a program that formats it so you can use it with HDLoader or HDAdvance?
     
  14. ps2mike13

    ps2mike13 Guest

    i am not 100% sure that it will let you but e-mail and try for your self i don't cause i have the offical PS2 HDD
     
  15. giveer

    giveer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay folks.. Here it is: A simple straight answer would be fantastic:

    1) Unmodded PS2
    2) Maxtor 120 gig Hard Drive.
    3) Purchased Socom 2 Game.

    Question:
    - Is it possible to save the Socom Maps onto my hard drive even though Hd Loader has saved a few games on it already.

    (We do have the original Sony Hard Drivers Disc, but I can't imagine installing those on an already in-use hard drive.)

    Okay, that's it.
    later.
     
  16. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    ps2mike13,

    Read the Forum Rules. Post your email again and your gone
     
  17. themind

    themind Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I love this thread because no one reads it they just post and hope that people will explain. Okay this is what we are working with a non moded ps2 with modem and a non official hdd. 1) Copy an official hdd thats working with a non official hdd, tryed, failed. 2) Use the official hdd formating disc to format a non official hdd, tryed, failed. 3) Format non official hdd on a pc with programs that format hdd to ps2 format, tryed, failed. 4) Use the HD Loader to make the non official hdd act like an official hdd, tryed, failed. All that the HD Loader does is trick the ps2 into thinking it is reading from a disc but instead it is reading from the hdd. Thats all it does its just like if someone came out with a MC Loader (memory card) Loader where a person could have an old school small NES game on there memory card and play the game derictly from the memory card. Now that you know how the HD Loader works forget about it. You cant run HD Loader and Socom at the same time, though you can run Socom on the hdd useing HD Loader you cant go online, so that defeets the perpase. My thought is that in order to get the non hdd with Socom maps is a mod chip in the hdd or ps2 that wont efect online play, there agen the reson we are doing this is to save money and with a mod chip the price will more then likly be more then going out and getting the official hdd. :) Have fun, I quit. $ony 1 all of us 0
     
  18. mvincent

    mvincent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    themind: Have no fear, I will bring this thread back in focus for you...although it is not too optimistic of an outlook.

    Results:
    I. I have successfully cloned an original working HD. After trying many different imaging tools, the only one that could do this effectively was Ghost 8 in raw mode (-ir switch). Using an external USB 2.0 drive, the clone took approximately 6 hrs !!! That was a long wait, but it worked. The full image was only approx 1.2G on -z9 compression.

    II.Next issue I had was finding a drive that actualy fit the PS2 connector. I have literally 15 40-gig drives on hand, but only one I had fit (Since I am a diehard WD fan). This segate drive was 40 gig to be alligned with the size of the original Sony drive.

    III. Restore worked, and only took about 45 minutes.

    Unfortunately, the drive would not recognize at all in the PS2. it did spin up though as the origianl drive. Since this is a forensic copy of all data, you can be assured that the drive image copied successfully.

    Just so you know: this PS2 is a US v1 (bought on release day !) w/ the original Neo chip installed (thats right folks they are still out there!) Aside from SocomII, my Ps2 collects dust since XBOX rocks PS2 graphics, so i have no need to update this unit. I have also tried on 2 other units that have Magic chips installed.

    Now, I do not have these Sony drive tools that I have seen mentioned in this thread. If anyone has an idea they would like me to try or would like to share these tools so that I may test, please reply to this thread or PM me directly.

    My Theory: PS2 checks something in the Firmware of the HD itself to verify it is a Sony XXXX drive type.

    -m8

     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2005
  19. pnonso

    pnonso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Did you format it with the original sony format disc?
     
  20. mvincent

    mvincent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No, I did not as I do not have that disk. Where can I get that from ? Is it part of the Sony toolset ?

    I borrowed the drive to test with, so I have no discs.
     

Share This Page