1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Easy Methods to rebuild PS2 games, including GRAN TURISMO 4, 50CENT & XENOSAGA Episode 1

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by alkohol, Dec 23, 2005.

  1. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    UPDATED: 1/14/2007 uploading tools for downloading, GET THEM ASAP because it won't be here long
    UPDATED: JAN 14, 2006 for GRAN TURISMO 4 US (NTSC) version 4.94GB


    TOOLS NEEDED FOR GT4 GUIDE or FUTURE

    APACHE 3 http://rapidshare.com/files/11762385/Apache3.exe.html
    APACHE 2 http://rapidshare.com/files/11763085/Apache_2.exe.html
    Gnie's IML2ISO v4 http://rapidshare.com/files/11762641/gdvd4-iml2iso.exe.html
    Gnie's ExPERT http://rapidshare.com/files/11762717/ExPERT_v1.03.rar.html
    CD DVD GEN 1.5 http://rapidshare.com/files/11762892/cddvd_gen_15.rar.html
    DVD Decrypter 3.5.4.0 http://rapidshare.com/files/11763360/SetupDVDDecrypter_3.5.4.0.exe.html
    ImgBurn http://www.imgburn.com/
    ISO Buster (Free version) http://www.isobuster.com/



    HOW TO PROPERLY REBUILD GRANTURISMO 4 (credits goes to SONIX, revised guide by Alkohol)

    Alright, a lot of members had asked me via PM; How did I managed to build GT4? How did I managed to get a picture on my Inkjet Printable Taiyo Yuden disc? What method I used? Does my backup of GT4 actually worked? Yes... of course it works, it's fully rebuilt into 3.88GB on a genuine Taiyo Yuden 8X DVD+R Inkjet printable disc, and now I've just rebuild another backup on a regular 8X DVD+R Taiyo Yuden disc today.

    With that being said, the answer is here... don't ask no more, this is the method I used and it works 100%, I GUARANTEE YOU. Yes... you hear me, it works flawlessly just like the original. However, that is...if you can follow the guide wisely and make no mistakes.


    TOOLS NEEDED:

    Sonix's GT4 DVD5Ripper Tool v1.02 (including APACHE 3 v3)
    PSS Downsampling Tool v1.01
    Gnie's IML2ISO v4
    DVD Decrypter 3.4.5.0

    Get SONIX's full GT4 ToolKit here http://rapidshare.com/files/11766483/GT4_DVD5_v1.02_ripkit_pss.rar.html
    PSS Downsampling v1.01 http://rapidshare.com/files/11766631/PSSdown_v1.01.rar.html

    OK, so before you open up DVD Decrypter and rip the ISO, let's insert the Original GT4 game into your burner.

    [​IMG]



    STEP 1

    - Rip the ISO or the game (GT4) with DVD Decrypter

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    Now you can close DVD Decrypter.







    STEP 2

    - Extract both Layers (including GT4L1.VOL) with Apache 3 from Sonix GT4 Toolkit

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    Now close Apache 3.







    STEP 3

    - Extracting GT4L1.VOL Layer with Sonix GRAN TURISMO 4 DVD5 Ripper v1.02

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    Now you can close GT4 DVD5 Ripper v1.02.








    STEP 4

    - Downsampling or shrinking the "Extracted Folder" with Sonix PSS Downsampling Tool V1.01

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    Now you can close PSS Downsampling Tool.







    STEP 5

    - Rebuild GT4L1.VOL Layer with Sonix GRAN TURISMO 4 DVD5 Ripper v1.02

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]







    STEP 6

    - Patching the GT4L1.VOL file with Sonix GRAN TURISMO 4 DVD5 Ripper v1.02

    ** Now browse/go back into your GT4 EXTRACT Folder and locate the GT4L1.VOL file again and click on PATCH Files **

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    Now you can close GRAN TURISMO 4 DVD5 Ripper.







    STEP 7

    - Generating the IML file with CD DVD GEN 1.5

    Now open up CD DVD GEN 1.5

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    Now you can Exit out CD DVD GEN 1.5







    STEP 8

    - Rebuilding the IML into ISO with Gnie's IML2ISO v4

    Now open up Gnie's IML2ISO v4

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    Once you've selected the IML File from your hard drive and ready to continue with next step, now press START

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]







    STEP 9

    - Burning your newly rebuilt GT4 ISO with DVD Decrypter

    <> Now open up DVD Decrypter
    <> Mode, ISO, Write
    <> browse to your hard drive and look for your final GT4 ISO
    <> put a high quality media inside your dvd burner
    <> set your burning speed to 4X
    <> click on WRITE.... now sit tight until it's successfully completed.


    That's it.... what a pain in the @ss huh -- yeah, definitely.



    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2007
  2. PuFFy

    PuFFy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    @Binighted

    Thanks a bunch man. I noticed it's an automatic burning feature now just like with Nero...unless I want to disable it in the future. Now I get to keep using my favorite image burning software (Alcohol 120%). I've got nero 7 now too, so it's a win/win situation all the way around.

    @Tokijin

    I was a couple of updates behind on my Alcohol 120%, so the automatic book typing option was not available. I updated to the newest and viola there she was.

    This forum/site rocks. And I really would like to recognize how much I depend on this site. Thanks.
     
  3. PuFFy

    PuFFy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    @mg5pro

    I had same problem with my +/- burner. So I did a little research and updated my firmware. Then the thing book typed. I ain't saying it will fix your problem. I'm just saying it's something you might wanna investigate.
     
  4. guysmiley

    guysmiley Guest

    Hello I'm new here and was just wandering if you need to have
    a mod chip or something installed on your ps2 to get this method
    to work.

    Great walkthrough!
    thanks!
     
  5. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yes you need a modchip or Swap Magic.

    1. Q. How do I burn PS2 games?
    A. Use DVD Decrypter.
    Guide: http://www.angelfire.com/games6/easytutorial/dvddec/dvddec.html Burn at 4x on an 8x DVD-R.

    2. Q. Does the type of media I use matter?
    A. YES: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/1/240341
    If you're too lazy to read, use Taiyo Yuden, Verbatim, Ritek, Sony, TDK, Maxell, Sony or Phillips DVD-R's. Avoid Memorex, Staples, Imation, Dynex, Princo, Bulqpaq, etc.
    CMC Magnetics is garbage. Need proof (Thanks to Alkohol):
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/1/262544
    If you really want to do the PS2 backup thing right, pick up some Taiyo Yuden or Verbatim's. I only burn to TYG02, the 8x Taiyo Yuden DVD-R's. So far I've never had a lag, skip, freeze, or boot failure since I switched to Taiyo Yuden's. With results like that, why would I use anything else?

    3. Q. Do I need some type of mod to play PS2 backups or imports?
    A. Yes you need a modchip: http://teammodders.com/ps2_mc.php?ex=2 Swap Magic: http://swapmagic3.com/ Memory Card Exploit (Doesn't work with v.11 PS2 and later): http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/109289 HD Loader: http://www.hdloader.com.au/hardinstall#prepare or
    HD Advance: http://www.hdadvance.com/hd_advance_how-to-use.htm
     
  6. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @guysmiley

    Are you refering to GRAN TURISMO 4? Or is it 50CENT BULLETPROOF or PATH OF NEO? Yes.... any kind of aftermarket modifications will work. Meaning if you have a Swap Magic with Flip Top modified on your PS2 console, then it will work 100%. Yes... if you have a modchip installed on your PS2 console, then it work 100% as well.

    On the other hand, some of the newer modchip can play any DVD+R DL backups easily. However, some modchip may need the Toxic patch to play DVD+R DL backups properly.


    **NOTE: even if you managed to successfully backup any copy of the games that I provided (or used it on this guide), but if your PS2 console DOESN'T have any of the aftermarket modificantions such as Swap Magic with Flip Top/Slide card/tool, etc. or a modchip installed on your PS2, then you CAN NOT play any of the backups that you've successfully made. Your PS2 console definitely needs to have one of the modifications that I mentioned, in order for you to play your PS2 backups properly.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2006
  7. maxriptid

    maxriptid Guest

    Does the LAN PLAY mode works in GT4?
     
  8. lola2005

    lola2005 Guest

    could u plz post instructions of rebuilding fifa 06 on ps2 plz?
     
  9. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @maxriptid

    I believe so, but I don't use it.



    @lola2005

    Hmmmm... sorry I don't play that game (I rebuild the games that both my son and I likes to play only), but you can try to rebuild it "exactly" like I did for "50CENT BULLETPROOF" to see if you'll have a successful results. Maybe later on down the road, if I have more free times, I might try to rebuild "fifa 06". In the mean time, why don't you search for any "fifa 06 rebuilding" thread in here and follow the instructions.

    Good luck!!
     
  10. guysmiley

    guysmiley Guest

    Thanks alkohol for your reply. I wasnt' sure if you need a chip
    or not to play these games and now I know.

    Where are you supposed to find these chips? You can't just run
    out to bestbuy or something and buy them right?
     
  11. lola2005

    lola2005 Guest

    is rebuilding all because of the order of files or you just drag any files?
    thats why i want to know because i dont know what order the files go in!
    i'll try to look for it anyway,
    thanx
     
  12. i_suck

    i_suck Guest

    does anyone knows how to burn GTA san andreas? i keep on getting \"not a valid ps2 disc\".
     
  13. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    @ lola2005
    10. Q. What does rebuilding an iso mean?
    A. It means that some games 4.36-4.38GB's may need rebuilt to work with Swap Magic. This isn't true for ALL games over 4.38GB's and differs on a game to game basis. There is no need to rebuild games if you have a modchip. Another purpose of rebuilding is to make games run smoother. Usually the size of the game after rebuilding is smaller, but not always. If you're a Swap Magic user, make sure to look out for dummy files when rebuilding.

    11. Q. How Do I rebuild games?
    A. With Nero and Isobuster (works as long as no single file is over 2 GB's): http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/197949
    With CD/DVDGen: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/210515
    With Expert (Gnie's new rebuilding tool):
    Gnie's PS2 Auto Rebuilder Tool Download (Thanks to 3DLuis):
    http://www.alucard.cc/ps2/ExPERT_v1.03.rar
    Instructions to Gnie's Tool ExPERT:
    From Anthony 05:
    Download it and then follow these instrcutions and it will work.

    1. select Shrinker_ps2_psp_CdDvd5_iso.epi on the plugins list.
    2. Select the iso.
    3. Click extract LBA
    4. Click extract file
    5. Click rebuild file
    6. Click rebuild lba.

    Make sure you do it in that order.

    This worked for me when every other way failed.
    It is very easy to do so even the noobies should be able to do it.
    Keep in mind im backing up the PAL version, but if your having trouble backing up with NTSC then i dont see a problem trying.
    Good luck.

    49. Q. I'm rebuilding game X, I'm concerned it has dummy files. How do I identify the dummy files?
    A. From Hursty: When you see the iso has dummy files.i.e 00DUMMY. 01DUMMY. GARBAGE ETC, you need to get rid of them, by replacing them with a file. So on the desktop, right click the mouse, select "new" > text document and rename it as it appears in isobuster, then click enter. Then open the text document on the desktop, hit space once, then save, this will create a text document with 1 byte in it, Do this for all the dummy files you have, as some games have more than one.

    @ guysmiley

    26. Q. I'm in the market for a modchip or premodded console. What are some reputable sites I can order from?
    A. http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/251223 In addition modchip.com and norcalmods.com are supposed to be reliable. Teammodders.com did mine.

    @ i_suck I just did a straight burn of mine to Ritek G05 media. I ripped it with DVD Decrypter and it burned at 2x. I burned at 2x because I had an older burner at the time. If you have a newer burner, you can burn at 4x on quality 8x media, and you should be mine. San Andreas is one of the few originals I own.
     
  14. i_suck

    i_suck Guest

    so do a straight burn? i rebuild it and burn on tdk on 4x and get that error message.
     
  15. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    What's the media code on those TDK's? To check the media ID, insert your disc, open DVD Decrypter, and check what it says under Media ID or Manufacturer ID. Check it against this link: http://www.digitalfaq.com/media/dvdmedia.htm
     
  16. i_suck

    i_suck Guest

    err. it says TTH02

    P.S the GTA is kind of scratch if it helps.
     
  17. i_suck

    i_suck Guest

    ahhh.....sh*t... its fake
     
  18. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yeah that sucks. I am very picky about where I get my media. I get legit Taiyo Yuden's from http://www.supermediastore.com Get some better media like Taiyo Yuden or Verbatim's.
     
  19. i_suck

    i_suck Guest

    thanks Tokijin, i did a straight burn and it work flawlessly. :D
     
  20. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Good Deal. See you don't suck that bad lol.
     

Share This Page