Firewire Stopped Capturing :-(

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by skvideo, Aug 20, 2007.

1. skvideo

skvideo Member

Being a video broadcast instructor, I've captured using firewire IEEE from a wide variety of DV camcorders and to various pc's, so I'm not a novice, but have encountered a problem I can't figure out. Maybe someone's encountered this before and knows of a solution?

I'm putting my attempts and discoveries in bold so you can see what I have already tried or ascertained:

FIREWIRE CONTROLS CAMERA BUT WILL NOT CAPTURE! - I'm using Premiere 6.0 on my home pc and here's what happens - When I connect the camera, the pc recognizes and 'installs' the cam immediately. All good. Then when I try to capture, the play, rewind, stop, etc. buttons on the software WILL make the camera respond as expected, BUT the VIDEO WILL NOT APPEAR on the capture screen, nor will the audio. Video and audio plays when mouse clicks play, so firewire is obviously connected to some degree, but the signal does not make it through. Premiere device control options show that the camera IS connected, but when I try to edit capture settings, it gives a message: "UNABLE TO CONNECT TO CAPTURE DRIVER".

DIFFERENT CAMS - SAME PROBLEM - I tried two other cameras, different brands and models, and same thing. All of my cameras previously captured to this same pc with no problems.

IT'S NOT THE SOFTWARE...I tried Premiere, Windows Movie Maker, Nero Vision, Ulead Video and even WINDV that I found on this site. They all allow camera operation but get no picture/sound or give an error message.

DEVICE MGR SEEMS OK...The IEEE 1396 card seems fine in the Device Manager. I've even deleted its driver and had the computer re-start and re-install. Made no difference. Device Mgr also lists the camera and it is working properly. No device conflicts on anything.