1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freezing and Skipping DVDs

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by MikeJames, May 6, 2005.

  1. MikeJames

    MikeJames Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Guys,

    It seems that many of my backups start to skip aned freeze really bad towards the end of the movie. The move plays fine on the computer, but not on the DVD. I've used DVD identifier to check disk and I get no errors listed at all and from what I can tell the disk are high quallity. Here's what I use from supermediastore as recommended by this site. Please provide any suggestions.

    [​IMG]

     
  2. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    What speed did you burn at? Try 4x or under. If you are useing dvd shrink set the target size to custom, type in 4350. I'm just guessing but those are probably G05's. Give that a try and let us know. If setting the target size to 4350 helps but doesn't completely solve the problem then try 4300 or less.

    Mort
     
  3. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I agree with mort, 4x max and definitely reduce that backup target-especially on the end of your backups- in dvd shrink:

    open up shrink
    edit
    preferences
    click on dvd-5
    Scroll till you get to custom
    Enter 4300 in box next to custom
    OK!

    If playback looks a lot better,then you can increase it little by little up to 4360 mbs. I leave mine at 4360 even on high quality media.Just a hair more compression,but it does prevent a lot of issues later on down the road.

    I haven't tried any ridata,but the go5's should be very good. You may want to watch your burn settings. Some of the newer 16x burners can do the 8x media at 12x and 16x if that burn setting is left at max.
     
  4. MikeJames

    MikeJames Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok...I'll give this a try
     
  5. MikeJames

    MikeJames Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok..I changed my shrink settings to 4360 and my burn settings to 4X and thre frezing got worst. I poped Blade Trinity in my DVD and right from the start if froze and skipped like crazy. It wouldn't play at all in my daughters portable DVD. If I put in previously recorded disk at normal shrink settings and 8X burning into my duaghter's portable DVD player, it plays with perhaps some freezing at the end.

    Not all my DVD were having the freezing problems at normal settigs, just some. However, it seemed as I lowered the shrink and burn settigs, that the problems got significantly worse. I'm gonna go back and backup blade trinity again in normal settigns and let you guys no what happens
     
  6. Unjust2u

    Unjust2u Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello , I have a similar Situation . I bought Taiyo Yuden's from supermediastore.com they are 4x TYG01 -r's well they are perfect till you get to the end credits of a movie ,then i get a little skip. Does anyone think i should lower my fit to target size in nero recode ?? it is currently at 4360 i am going to lower it to 4260 ...is this overkill?? my verbatim 8x +r's play just fine at 4360. Also i am using an optorite dd0405 8 x dvd +-r burner ...should i upgrade? So far on my current system it would seem the verbatim disks have an upper hand over the Taiyo Yuden's . Any advice would be highly appriciated . P.S. as of this typing i just ordered an NEC ND-3520A im hoping this burner is of good quality ? Unjust
     
  7. StanH1000

    StanH1000 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I had same problem with Ritek Ridata media, but 4X burns did much better with TDK or Verbatim media. My older burner seems to like the lighter hue bluish purple disks better than the darker deep purple brands. Your particular burner may prefer certain brands and get very tempermental at the ouside of the disk.
    BTW, I also couldn't resist that NEC 3520A burner on sale at Newegg.com for $47.99 + $2.99 FedEx ground shipping. Arrived in two days without choosing any of the processing or shipping upgrades.
     
  8. MikeJames

    MikeJames Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok...here's the latest. I left DVD Shrink to 4360 and set burn speed to 8X. I re-backed up Blade Trinity using some leftover FuJi printable DVD-Rs. The playback was 99.9% perfect...none of ther big time freezing or skiping. It also played in my daughters portable DVD player. Oh..through trial and error, I found out that her player won't play 4X burns at all....it has to be 8X (didn't try 6X).

    I also burned another copy on my Ritek Ridata to see how it turned out. If it still skips and freezes, then I would have to say (dispite what DVD identifier says) that I have some bad Ritek Ridatas. If it plays well, then I guess I just have a mixture of some good ones and bad ones. It's bound to happen in a batch of 100 DVDs.

    Again, I'll keep you posted.
     
  9. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    MikeJames,

    Although a lot of people have very good results with Ritek Ridata's, they have been known to be inconsistant at times from batch to batch and IMO are a good [bold]budget media[/bold]. The Fuji's are considered by most to be more of a [bold]premium media[/bold] and therefor normally cost more. I quit useing Ritek Ridata's and now primarily use Verbatum DLP dvd+r hub printables but you've got to take into consideration that these cost twice as much as the Ritek's too.
     
  10. brenda893

    brenda893 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have found a lot of help on here in the past so i hope someone can help me this time, i am using the latest updated version of dvd fab and i am using memorex blank cd's,my problem didn't start until i bought new disc,i bought 100 on ebay. Now every thing i burn skips and freezes, can someone help me? Also what is dvd identifier?Also i think the write speed is set at the fastest speed,i have never changed that b/c i don't know how.
    thanks,
    Brenda
     
  11. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,567
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    128
    DVD identifier will show you the manufacturers ID code - thus the disk may be labeled Memorex, but may carry different coding indicating that Memorex contract out manufacturing to many sources.

    If you use the (best) burning program ImgBurn, it will show the same information.

    If you want a consistently reliable DVD, get some Verbatim disks that list 'Advanced AZO' on the package - don't buy their 'Value' series.
    The optimum burning speed for a particular disk is set by the firmware of the burner (if it contains up to date information) - Imgburn can also check for firmeare updates for your burner.

    The link shows various ID codes for Memorex disks indicating who made them.

    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdmedia?d...rder=Name&hits=50&search=Search+or+List+Media
     
  12. StanH1000

    StanH1000 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
     
  13. StanH1000

    StanH1000 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
     
  14. StanH1000

    StanH1000 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    1.) Need to make sure burner firmware is up to date so that it recognizes the properties of whatever blank disks you are using. Update if necessary. Search forums for "how to update firmware of burner".
    2.) Use quality media e.g. Verbatim with AZO dyes or Sony. The brand or batch you bought from ebay may be of lesser quality.
    3.) Burn at no more than 1/2 the maximum speed of the disks you are using. So if 16X, burn at 8X. This is adjustable on the program you are using for burning. like Imageburn or Nero.
     
  15. Berryone

    Berryone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    One Other Thing to Add Is to Set The Target Area to 4300. Thiscan Be Done Usually In The Programs Preferences.
     
  16. brenda893

    brenda893 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks a bunch on all the info,i am going to try the things you suggested,i will be back with more questions and to let you know if it worked, thanks again for all the help.
     
  17. brenda893

    brenda893 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My question is should i leave the write speed on the recommended speed or should i set it on 8x myself ?
    thanks
    Brenda
    I went in to change the write speed and it was set on recommended speed.do you think i should still change it?
     
  18. StanH1000

    StanH1000 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes
    I never burn higher than 1/2 the rated speed of the blank disks that I am using. Usually this is 16X X 1/2 = 8X.
     

Share This Page