1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GameShark 2 CogSwap help?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Munchzors, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. Munchzors

    Munchzors Guest

    Okay, so I followed a guide to make the CogSwapLoader, I used gameshark 2 v1.3 to copy to mc, then I resetted the PS2, put in the PSX and triggered it. I clicked Square and it prompted me to the CogSwapLoader. I continued to eject the cd, and put a PS2 cd, then when it said PS2 DVD ROM, I clicked X and when it said Use CogSwap, I used a slide tool to take it and replace it with my dvd rom. When I locked it, Iclicked X and it turned black and did nothing else.
    CAn I have some help why this had happened?
     
  2. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If your playing a PS2 DVD backup, then you first need to insert an Original PS2 DVD game, not a PS2 CD

    -boot up Cogswap
    -place a PS2 disc in the tray
    -wait til it displays the disc type
    -press O button for CD or X button for DVD
    -wait til it says "use cogswap"
    -then use a slide card (fat ps2) or sensor mod (Slim ps2) to swap out the game disc for your backup disc.
    -press X to play the disc

    If you are able to do this exploit, you should just install fmcb 1.8 to your memory card
    Then you wouldn't have to keep doing the Insert PS1 game
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2009
  3. Munchzors

    Munchzors Guest

    I did put in a original PS2 DVD game, sorry I wasn't more specific.
    I put in Tekken 4, and I got all the way to where you say "press X to play the disc". When I click X, the screen turns black and nothing else happens.
    I don't know what to do after that, maybe it's the way i'm burning it? I use DVD encryptor or w/e it's called, and I wrote it at MAX speed.
     
  4. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok, try burning it at 4x and see if it works then.
     
  5. Munchzors

    Munchzors Guest

    Okay, I will do that right now, and i'll respond back with the answer.
     
  6. Munchzors

    Munchzors Guest

    Very sorry for the double post, but it burned perfectly!
    I just burned Naruto Ultimate Ninja 4 (NTSC) and it was going through perfectly until it got near the title screen, and it froze.
    If I put it at 8x (half of 16x on the disc), Will it get rid of it or is it based on software wise?
     
  7. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It might. A lot of the factor is your burner and the brand/speed of discs your using.

    You can try it at 8x and see.
     
  8. Munchzors

    Munchzors Guest

    I'm using the brand Memorex, that might be the problem.
     
  9. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It might be. It is considered crap media, although some people use it for PS2 games anyway.

    I have mostly used Sony DVD-R

    Verbatim, Taeyo Yuden are the recommended

    But you can try 8x anyway seeing you have them and see if that makes any difference or not.
     
  10. Munchzors

    Munchzors Guest

    No difference.
    I might try Naruto Ultimate Ninja 5 and KillZone and see what difference it makes. I'll contact you for any problems I have. :)
    thanks for helping out.
     

Share This Page