1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GT4 Burning Issues

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Nephilim, May 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sharky23

    sharky23 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    wait, i dont'think i chose the name "sharky23" by random, i was watching finding nemo and when i saw that shark in finding nemo i just typed in sharky23 as my user name.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2005
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    @ sharky23

    Stay on topic.
     
  3. RJSzynal

    RJSzynal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When I attempt Alkohols method I get an error instantly and nothing is written on the disc. It seems my drive tries to reserve the tracks which of course don't fit on my disc. Is there anyway around this (Eg, new firmware?) or do I just need to get a new drive? if so what is the best dual-layer drive to buy. all the log for writing is below. I'm using cheap 'budget' DVD-Rs and have a Sony DW-U18A with stock UYS1 firmware (I haven't touched the firmware). I have read that my drive is a re-badged Liteon-812s or something like that, if that helps. Thanks.

    I 01:14:33 DVD Decrypter Version 3.5.4.0 started!
    I 01:14:33 Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600 : Service Pack 1)
    I 01:14:33 Initialising SPTI...
    I 01:14:33 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
    I 01:14:33 Found 1 CD-RW, 1 DVD-ROM and 1 DVD±RW!
    W 01:15:08 User accepted disc space warning and is attempting to overburn!
    I 01:15:08 Operation Started!
    I 01:15:08 Source File: C:\Overflow\gt4\GranTurismo4.MDS
    I 01:15:08 Source File Sectors: 2,594,959 (MODE1/2048)
    I 01:15:08 Source File Size: 5,314,476,032 bytes
    I 01:15:08 Source File Application Identifier: PLAYSTATION
    I 01:15:08 Source File Implementation Identifier: DVD-ROM GENERATOR
    I 01:15:08 Destination Device: [0:0:0] SONY DVD RW DW-U18A UYS1 (E:) (ATA)
    I 01:15:08 Destination Media Type: DVD-R (Disc ID: TYG02) (Speeds: 2x, 4x, 6x, 8x)
    I 01:15:08 Destination Media Sectors: 2,297,888
    I 01:15:09 Write Mode: DVD
    I 01:15:09 Write Type: Packet/Incremental
    I 01:15:09 Write Speed: 2x
    I 01:15:09 Link Size: Auto
    I 01:15:09 Test Mode: No
    I 01:15:09 BURN-Proof: Disabled
    E 01:15:24 Failed to Reserve Track! - Invalid Field in CDB
    E 01:15:25 Operation Failed! - Duration: 00:00:17
    I 01:15:25 Average Write Rate: N/A - Maximum Write Rate: N/A
     
  4. evnflow

    evnflow Guest

    Alkohol,yeah i tried another one and i got 88%...that is wierd i don't see how it can read one percentage once and different the next...they should be the same files, unless its skipping some of the encoding and grabbing mostly the vol files...whatcha think?

    Crowy, yeah i have ntsc...i was wondering that also about layer0 but hey if it works it works who's to argue :)

    RJSzynal, i don't think you have the volume lock "unchecked" under your settings in dvd decrypter...it WILL NOT...I repeat WILL NOT let you burn that dvd if that setting has been checked...good luck and remember for all of these burns burn at 1x or at the fastest 2x(possibly get away with 2.4x, but stick to the slowest speed your burner will allow...Holla

    oohhh and i'm using Swap Magic 3.3

     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 24, 2005
  5. csskiller

    csskiller Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Last edited: May 24, 2005
  6. sharky23

    sharky23 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i was wondering if anyone can try to get the hdd kit and make it into 2 parts. i saw 2 torrent file already ripped to 2 parts.

    the first one is called:
    PS2-Gran.Turismo.4.PAL.MULTI5.DVD9.HDD.PART1

    and the second one is called:
    PS2-Gran.Turismo.4.PAL.MULTI5.DVD9.HDD.PART2

    i was thinking we could burn the files onto 2 discs.

    would that work?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2005
  7. canuck07

    canuck07 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have read throughout this thread to change the book type to dvd-rom when burning with dvd decrypter.

    The problem I am having is I don't know who manufactured my burner.
    in my device manager it is called "tsstcorp ts-h552b".

    Can anyone help me?
     
  8. evnflow

    evnflow Guest

    i would either bet on LG or Lite On...everytime i see a samsung burner they are far behind...if not you could always try it the hard way and get a dvd-rw and test each one out..lol...sorry i know it would take forever...but like i said my bet is on those two...
     
  9. evnflow

    evnflow Guest

    csskiller, yeah man you don't have to have that iso patched(it wouldn't allow me to burn mine while it was patched)...i would delete that iso and mds file and reread it with dvd decrypter and then make sure burnproof, volume lock are unchecked and that under the "CSS" tab under settings that you have "detect Mastering Errors" and "Force VOB CSS Flag Removal"(i don't think this one really matters) checked(at least that is what i have for mine....and then write that iso at 1x-2x....
     
  10. speccyfan

    speccyfan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    use dvd css+region free> http://www.dvdidle.com
    free trial,you can run it in the background,it works pretty well
     
  11. speccyfan

    speccyfan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    just tried the link above and it didn't work,just google css+region free,or e-mule it!!
     
  12. crowy

    crowy Guest

    @canuck07,
    Your drive is a samsung.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  13. canuck07

    canuck07 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So if my drive is a samsung, that means I can't change the book type to dvd-rom instead of dvd+r dl, since dvd decrypter doesn't support that function for samsung.

    Or am I just an idiot?

     
  14. crowy

    crowy Guest

    @canuck,
    no your stuck with it unfortunately:(
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  15. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Your last resource would be Nero. I guess you can try to burn with Nero and set it at overburn, and set the "booktype" to DVD-ROM, or automatically set to dvd-rom whenever you burn any ps2 game.

    What version is your PS2? If it's somewhere from 7 - latest, I think you may just need to lower your burning speed. I may be wrong though, however, I hardly change the "booktype" 50 and 50 for me when burning dvd+r media due to the fact that my PS2 v9 can play it flawlessly.
     
  16. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    RJSzynal,

    What does it says? Does it said like "not enough space" on disc? If so, then you just click "OK" and "continue" to burn anyway. Later, when DVD Decrypter write the very last file onto the very last edge of blank disc (I believe it should be 88% of completion), it will give you another "I/O Error" - just hit "CANCEL" and DVD Decrypter will do a quick finalized on your disc, then it should eject the newly backed up disc out from the burner. Presto, you're done.

    By the way, check your dvd burner for it's media compatibility and its recommended burning of speeds. Perhaps, try some other good brand of +R or -R. Lower your speed if you can or try it at max and see what's the result. I did mine at 8X and it plays on my PS2 v9 flawlessly.

    Note: you don't need to use the "TOXIC PATCH" - DVD Decrypter all alone can handle the job easily.
     
  17. RJSzynal

    RJSzynal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    @Alkohol
    I get the same box come up as csskiller: http://media.fastclick.net/w/get.me...tp://img283.echo.cx/img283/4804/image12zu.png
    I have burn-proof and 'lock volume' unchecked, also I didn't patch it.
    my drive/disc info is:

    SONY DVD RW DW-U18A UYS1 (ATA)
    Current Profile: DVD-R

    Disc Information:
    Status: Empty
    Erasable: No
    Free Sectors: 2,297,888
    Free Space: 4,706,074,624 bytes
    Free Time: 510:40:38 (MM:SS:FF)
    Supported Write Speeds: 2x, 4x, 6x, 8x

    Pre-recorded Information:
    Manufacturer ID: TYG02

    Physical Format Information (Last Recorded):
    Book Type: DVD-R
    Part Version: 5
    Disc Size: 120mm
    Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
    Number of Layers: 1
    Track Path: Parallel Track Path (PTP)
    Linear Density: 0.267 um/bit
    Track Density: 0.74 um/track
    First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
    Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 0
    Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 0

    Thanks
     
  18. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    RJSzynal,

    Hummmm.... is that "I/O" error comes up right away or is it near the end like it has 88% of backed up completed already? If it's 88% already, then simply click "CANCEL" and DVD Decrypter should do a quick disc finalized, and you should be all square away. It seems like you're using good quality media (TYG02 should be ok.) What is the speed you're burning? Perhaps try the +R and see what's up. By the way, if you're backing up with a DVD+R, you need to change the "booktype" to "DVD-ROM" -- I believe if your burner is SONY, then go to "TOOLS, DRIVE, Change BookType, LITE ON, Change For (Drive DVD+R/+R DL media), New setting to "DVD-ROM," click CHANGE and OK.

    Anyways, here's my settings on my DVD Decrypter. You can take a look at it and see what's up alright. Here's what I have:

    ****Settings****
    I/O - "Transfer Lenght" (Automatic)
    Options [Check] on (Ignore Read Errors)
    Software Read Errors (20)
    Software Write Error (20)

    General - [check] Remove Macrovision Protection
    [check] Structure Protection
    [check] Hide Pack Header Warnings
    "Removal Method" should be (Aggressive)
    "Other" [check] Display Maximum File Size Warning
    [check] RCE Protection Warning
    [check] Region Mismatch Warning
    [check] Region Not Set Warning
    [check] MDS not ISO Warning

    ISO WRITE MODE - [check] Enable Burn Proof
    [check] Lock Volume - Exclusive Access
    Layer Break (for DL media) [check] Calculate Optimal
    Write Mode (Auto)
    Write Type (SAO)
    Link Size (Auto)

    ISO READ MODE - [check] Create MDS file
    [check] Remove IFO Structure Protection
    [check] Remove IFO RC Protection
    [check] Remove IFO RCE Protection
    [check] Remove IFO PUOS Protection

    CSS - on CSS Cracking Method [check] Brute Force -> I/O Key Exchange
    On Failure - use key from another file : YES

    File MODE - [check] Ignore Unreferenced VTS Sets
    [check] Remove IFO Structure Protection
    [check] Remove IFO RC Protection
    [check] Remove IFO RCE Protection
    [check] Remove IFO PUOS

    Hope this help a little, if not a lot.

     
    Last edited: May 25, 2005
  19. RJSzynal

    RJSzynal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    @Alkohol
    There I/O error comes up at the very begininng of the proccess (before it even touches the disc, it is still blank after each attempt) I was wondering if manually removing all the data from the ISO after a particular bit so that is the same size as my DVD-R would workbecause that is what happens anyway when doing it your method, also how much space do I need to leave for finallising if any?
    Thanks
     
  20. simpsim1

    simpsim1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @RJSzynal. I had same problem and got round it by splitting file with a program called HJSplit. You need to split file to 4450 Mb (Make sure that Megabytes is selected), then change the name of the .001 file it creates back to .iso (Best to change the whole filename too, because otherwise it'll be the same as your original. Just name it something like "image.iso"). You can the burn this image with DVD Decrypter. My image was toxic patched BTW.

    I'm just about to try Swap Magic with this one so I'll report back later peeps.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page