1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GUIDE: HOW TO INSTALL PRIILOADER ON FWs 4.1 & 4.2 + AUTO-BOOT TO YOUR FAVE USB LOADER

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by pryme_H, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. pryme_H

    pryme_H Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No. Priiloader changes the normal behavior of the System Menu. The only way for this to work is to write those modifications to the NAND.
     
  2. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Theres a new Priiloader version 0.3b which the changlog has...

    Changed Autoboot setting so it would start system menu when having just updated/installed Priiloader

    I think this means after you install or update Priiloader the default setting would stay at Auto-Boot system menu.

    But this might fix the issue that some have auto-booting to system menu.

    You can get the newest version HERE.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  3. matrixebi

    matrixebi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, I'll try the update when I get home. Is Priiloader in the Homebrew Browser? or should I just download the new version to my SD card and install through HBC agian?
     
  4. zikronix

    zikronix Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    forgive me if this has been stated before. My wii has been hardmodded for a while, and now i just soft modded it last night. I was able to install bootmii as boot2 so i dont need prii loader correct?
     
  5. Bendeezy

    Bendeezy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I fixed my loading to priiloader on startup problem by installing the newest priiloader and applying the appropriate hack.ini for my sys menu. Thnx for the quick reply! owe yall a beer!
     
  6. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Priiloader still has other options that Bootmii does not. So if you want it as a safety option then Priiloader is not needed. If you want to use the system hacks then install it.
     
  7. matrixebi

    matrixebi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nice :) Should work for me then when I try it :)
     
  8. milkchoca

    milkchoca Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have downloaded the new priiloader but how do i add the files to my SD card?
     
  9. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Create a Priiloader folder.

    Now drag the icon.png, META.XML and boot.dol files (that came with the update download) to the Priiloader folder you just created.

    Now drag the Priiloader folder to the apps folder on your SD card.

    Then install using Homebrew Channel.
     
  10. milkchoca

    milkchoca Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    "Can't find Hacks.ini on nand" is what i get when i try going to System Menu Hacks.
     
  11. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You need to add the hacks.ini file to the root of the SD card also. Just like you did when you first installed Priiloader when following this guide.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  12. milkchoca

    milkchoca Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
  13. horace_g

    horace_g Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Gotcha. I figured that would be the case, but I wanted to make sure. Thanks again for the guide; it looks very easy to follow.
     
  14. jex29

    jex29 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can I delete the Priiloader from the Apps directory after the installation (so it does not appear in HBC?)

    thanks
    Jex
     
  15. pryme_H

    pryme_H Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yes you can.
     
  16. jex29

    jex29 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks a lot for the reply
    Jex
     
  17. red_shed2

    red_shed2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I followed the Larryjie thread on softmodding 4.2 (to the letter) and came to this guide.

    When I tried to install I got a files are corrupt error message. I saw from an earlier post that this is possibly due to not having IOS70 correctly patched?? Is that the case? I thought that would have been patched from when I followed the 4.2 guide?

    What should I do now to install priloader?

    Thanks!
     
  18. pryme_H

    pryme_H Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yes. Patched IOS70 should've been installed first before Priiloader. Anyhow, load HBC via Priiloader. Then re-install Priiloader. This should rectify your problem.
     
  19. red_shed2

    red_shed2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks. I updated the IOS70 from wad manager in HBC then re-installed priiloader and everything worked!

    I was going to install the IOS70 b4 I did anything but I saw a post from larryjie that if you have followed his guide you shouldn't need to, so I didn't bother!!

    Is that the case??

    Thks for all of your hardwork on these guides.....

    K
     
  20. pryme_H

    pryme_H Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Technically, you don't need a patched version of IOS70 to play backups or install Priiloader. However, if you want to play VC or Wiiware off the SD card then it is a pre-requisite. It's obligatory to install it first though before Priiloader to avoid a partial/banner brick.
     

Share This Page