1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GUIDE: Max Out Download Speed Using Utorrent

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by DVDBack23, Apr 25, 2006.

  1. vaig11

    vaig11 Guest

    DVDBack23,

    Well ive spent all morning reading / trying to configure azureus for optimal dl speeds, but with lil to no success .... then i stumbled upon your thread ... so i decided to give utorrent a shot . I must say , that there is a slight improvement in dl speeds compared to azerus , but im averaging 15 kb/s with utorrent when compared to 10 kb/s with azerus.
    Im on dsl (1.5 meg) that's connected to a linksys wireless router
    ( but im connected directly to the router through an rj 45, not wireless for this specific cpu ) , i have done all port forwarding, limited uploads to 10kb/s as well as folowing to the letter your guide but my dl speed still sux ! I know your not marvin (the magician) but do you have any ideas on WTF is goin on? ive tried the speed test ... with unrealistic results ... dont know if having azerus on @ the same time affected it , but my upload was twice as fast as my DL speed ! weird no ? my upload was around 450, while my dl was 250 .... did i mention im on a 1.5 Meg dsl connection?

    anyhoot speed test aside, from what i read in the posts i should be getting better speeds then 15 kb/s ! what speeds should i be satisfied with, and how / what else can i do to obtaine them ?

    thanks in advance !

    Vaig11
     
  2. Schwaber

    Schwaber Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey people, something weird happened in my UTorrent two days ago. I was downloading Bleach episode (lol) and I noticed that my firewall is blocking the internet connection! WTF?!

    I mean I've been using UTorrent for like 5 months now and I already did the port Forward thing and all. It was really weird seeing something unexpected.

    Before that incident, it allows incoming connection. I even test the port if it is directly forwarding the connection. And I have no problem with it. But now, it blocks again. I even put my port# in the exception for Firewall.

    As far as I know, no one tried to change it and I didn't even touch a thing. I really don't know why it blocks the internet connection now?!

    If anyone knows the answer, tell me why. THANK YOU
     
  3. SOCOMII

    SOCOMII Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Schwaber, is this a software firewall or the firewall on your router, because a few weeks ago that happend to me on my router, turns out it reset itself, but all i had to do was forward the ports again.
     
  4. DVDBack23

    DVDBack23 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    48
    vaig, please post me your speed test (in screenshot form) and i will continue yo help you from that ;)
     
  5. Schwaber

    Schwaber Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is that so? I remember reseting my router since my internet crashed.

    The problem is, I couldn't access into my router since I forgot what the password was.

    Anyway, I'm just gonna use my other account since its still forwarded properly.

    Hey, what # do u usually put in you port? I heard from some people that it is best if the port# is between 45000-65000. Don't know if this thing is true though.

    Do u guys know any good number to put in the port? As long as it is not the default one..
     
  6. Schwaber

    Schwaber Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Never mind guys, sorry for bothering you all..

    I just checked my port if it is forwarded properly and it says "ok"

    Weird eh? Oh well...
     
  7. vaig11

    vaig11 Guest

    np! although i can take screenshots with the "print screen" button, i have no clue where there saved to... silly me 8p

    anyways just did the speed check on http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/,
    my results are 398 DOWN and 480 UP ,
    i also checked on another speed test web site by the address of "http://us.mcafee.com/root/speedometer/test_0150.asp" gave me a result of 100 kbps , im guessing down as theres only one meter.
    also tried "http://reviews.cnet.com/7009-7254_7-0.html?CType=2278&ac=819&ISPID=&ISPNAME=&&kbps=441.8"
    that gave me 441.8 kbps down ... with utorrent runnin in the background for all tests.

    Well this said , i then tried it without utorrent runnin in the background with simular results. My conclusion would be that in fact this might not be a torrent related problem but more likely a dsl speed problem. Ill be looking for a few tweaks as well as calling my isp for further info on why im getting such crappy speeds !
    Would you know any good tweaks or websites for my speed prob.?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 8, 2006
  8. DVDBack23

    DVDBack23 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    48
    well, for a prnt screen to work, just paste in MS Paint and save ;)

    as for your speeds, at 400kbs down, that means your MAX d/l speed is in the 40-50 KB/s range, so you arent doing to bad if you are downloading at 30 KB/s. I dont know any other tweak sites besides the ones in my tut :)
     
  9. Schwaber

    Schwaber Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey Vaig11, what kind of cable are you using? Cuz I heard that some company cables actually block torrents and P2P sharing..
     
  10. SOCOMII

    SOCOMII Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Were you downloading something while doing these tests?
     
  11. vaig11

    vaig11 Guest

    "Hey Vaig11, what kind of cable are you using? Cuz I heard that some company cables actually block torrents and P2P sharing.."

    cable? you mean my isp or my rj45? well i have dsl (through my phone line ...) and anyways, my speed test woudnt be affected even if the torrents were capped by them .

    "Were you downloading something while doing these tests?"
    yep, i then shut all dl , turned off my bt client and tried the speed test again... all with simular results.

    well thanks for the input guys , seems like ill b callin up my isp soon !
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 9, 2006
  12. Schwaber

    Schwaber Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So what company phone are you using then? Bell or Rogers?
    Cuz if it is Rogers, then it blocks torrent files. That explains why your donwloading speed isn't picking up. I'm using Rogers as well and I know how slow it is, but I can't do anything.

     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2006
  13. DVDBack23

    DVDBack23 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    48
    encrypting the files should solve those problems i think
     
  14. SOCOMII

    SOCOMII Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ya i have rogers and encryption made my downloads [bold]ALOT[/bold] faster.
     
  15. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    In practice what's the difference between enabling encryption and forcing encryption?
     
  16. Schwaber

    Schwaber Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Isn't it that encryption is only for protection? I mean its usage is to secure some of your important things that you don't want to leak in the Internet? Such as credit card#, personal info, etc...

    Please correct me if I'm wrong. hehe

    BTW, for the protocol encryption in UTorrent, did you guys put "forced" or just "enabled"?
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2006
  17. SOCOMII

    SOCOMII Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    "BTW, for the protocol encryption in UTorrent, did you guys put "forced" or just "enabled?"

    I put enabled but according to an article on this i read earlier it says try enabling it and if that doesent help then force it, but for rogers enabling it should work just fine.

    "Isn't it that encryption is only for protection? I mean its usage is to secure some of your important things that you don't want to leak in the Internet? Such as credit card#, personal info, etc... "

    Well in this case it(bittorrent traffic) is enrypted to be not noticable by your isp so your isp cant slow down or block your torrent traffic.

    Oh and if youre not sure if your ISP blocks torrent traffic check out this list...
    http://www.azureuswiki.com/index.php/Bad_ISPs
    Hope this helps
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2006
  18. SOCOMII

    SOCOMII Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  19. Schwaber

    Schwaber Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2006
  20. yosefg

    yosefg Guest

    are you kidding? The most I've only gotten was up 722 kbs And I finished a 1.5 GB download in an hour
     

Share This Page