1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hard drive boot

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by AMDUMD, Feb 5, 2006.

  1. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Thanks for clearing that up. My knowledge of PS2 HD's and booting elfs off the MC isn't as good as some other areas. You're right it wouldn't make sense, I just wasn't a 100% sure you couldn't boot HD Advance off a HD. What be the point of people buying the disc if you could just download it, and use Winhiip to transfer HD Advance to the HD, and boot it from there? Cheers!
     
  2. KC36330

    KC36330 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    as you know 95% of my installs are the DMS so i cant say for sure about the Matrix but the DMS will only boot DMS Explorer in Dev2 mode, you could then use it to launch the HD Loader elf off the harddrive so i guess on rare occasions someone might actually boot HD Loader off the HDD but I'd much rather just use Dev1 and boot it from the MC much faster or if you have a pro and don't want to use the Toxic OS you can boot HD Loader from the onboard chip flash :)

    I'm sure there are people out there that do things that way but i cant think of any benefit of doing it.

    kc
     
  3. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Exactly. Hopefully the MI team will come up with a HD Loader program. It seems like Team Toxic's is excellent with frequent updates and support. C'mon MI team, let's get cracking! Cheers!
     
  4. lawcase

    lawcase Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah, i want to be able to load HD Loader from the HDD somehow....screw the laser...
     
  5. lawcase

    lawcase Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    MY PS2 CAN READ CDs....DO I HAVE HOPE NOW????
     
  6. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Well it should allow you to compile an exploit disc and allow you to boot HD Advance/HD Loader off your MC. The Memory Card Exploit is far from my area of expertise, so look over the links I provided and see if it looks doable.
     
  7. lawcase

    lawcase Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    to run the disc, though, i need swap magic, dont i?
     
  8. Tokijin

    Tokijin Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yes. You're right. Brain fart. I don't like getting in depth with the MC exploit for that reason. Sorry.
     
  9. lawcase

    lawcase Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i just burnt HDloader to CD and loaded it..now it is askin me to insert a PS2 formatted disk...wtf?

    is there like a tutorial on what i'm trying to do?
     
  10. KC36330

    KC36330 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    you dont have a chip so it's not going to boot a backup disk.

    kc

    EDIT: when you do get a chip or swap magic so you can boot an exploit disk, do this for the idiot proof version, expert version is slightly different:

    download these:

    Independance Compiler: http://console.iscentral.net/request.php?183
    HD Loader Patched .ELF http://www.exploitstation.com/files/elfs/HDLFPP.rar


    unzip the elf file and save it to where ever you can remember it's loaction.

    open up Independance Compiler. follow the below instructions and DO NOT change any settings or click any buttons that your not directed to do or it wont work.

    click the 'close this window' button near the bottom right.

    click on the 'Title.db' tab

    put a PS1 game into your CD drive and select that drive in the title.db windown.

    click on the 'get id from cd' and it should pop up in the window above.

    if it does click 'add to title.db'

    if it does not come up (most of the time it should) then open that drive with your windows explorer and find the SCUS or SLUS file and single click that file, on the left side of windows explorer you should then see information about the file, and it will have the code as SCUS_xxx.xx or SLUS_xxx.xx the _ may be a - but most often not. write this id exactly as it is here into the space in Independance Compiler where it says 'Enter ID Here', then click add.

    now select the 'Files' tab. and click on 'browse for file' and select the hddlfpp.elf file (where ever you put it at when you unzipped it) then click Add.

    now click the 'Creat Exploit' tab,

    click 'creat exploit' button at the bottom.

    wait till it's done, it will say the exploit has been completed and the file is located at C:\iscentral\

    open your burn software and burn that ISO file to a CD

    make sure your memory card is in the first slot of the PS2 (the left port or bottom port, depending on the orentation you have your PS2 sitting)

    use a chip or your swap magic to boot the CD-R disk you just burnt as if it were a PS2 game, you should see the PS2 splash screen then the screen will go black and then text pops up saying 'installing exploit' then copying file 'XXXXXXX'

    leave it alone till it says 'complete'

    eject the exploit disk.

    if your ps1 game is an original, put it in and boot.

    if your ps1 game is a backup boot the chip in PSX mode

    when you try to boot the ps1 game the exploit will trigger (the only disk that will trigger this is the one you used when you made the title.db above)

    the screen will come up to 'press select to configuer'

    press select

    select the location named 'default' and press O (it's the very top selection)

    you should then get a browser type screen.

    scroll down to mc0:\ and press O

    scroll down to BSDATA-SYSTEM\ and press O

    scroll down to the hdlfpp.elf and press O you'll now pop back to the configuration screen.

    scroll down to TIMEOUT and press X to take that number to 0

    scroll down to OK and press 0

    now your all set and configuered to exploit from the mc any time that ps1 disk is booted.

    hit reset with the PS1 disk still in the console and you'll boot HD Loader directly.

    enjoy.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2006
  11. lawcase

    lawcase Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok, you gave me the MC exploit. Considering i have a HD in the PS2 w/ my games on it, i perform this exploit, and i should be set to go?

    If so. Thanks man!

    (one final question....can i get swap magic in any store? otherwise i have to order it and wait to perform this.)
     
  12. KC36330

    KC36330 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    as long as your console will boot the PSX game disk. i don't know of any store that will have swap magic you'll have to get it off the net in most locations.

    i may be wrong here, but i do not believe swap magic will boot a backup PSX game. anyone else more knowledgeable here wanna chime in?

    kc
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2006
  13. lawcase

    lawcase Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  14. KC36330

    KC36330 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yes that one will work, that how to was a copy/paste from an old email i sent a guy who was lost like a ball in high grass and it took me months of trying to talk him through it and finely had to get him to send me his disk and memory card and i installed it for him.........

    kc

    EDIT: the link still works for me, i guess you have to be signed in.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2006
  15. lawcase

    lawcase Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    haha...well i think i can do it...so i won't (hopefully) bother you too much anymore.

    i appreciate all of your help. i'll update you once i find a psx game (not hard) and buy the swap magic.

    edit: i'm not signed up for that other site...so if the one i linked above will work, i'll just deal w/ that
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2006
  16. KC36330

    KC36330 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i don't mind helping at all, i know for some people this subject is very complicated and they'll never fully understand it because they try to look to deep into it, kinda like they can't see the forest because all the trees are in the way.

    kc
     
  17. lawcase

    lawcase Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    shit..one more stupid question.....swap magic is a DVD....my laser wont' read dvds....this wont' work will it

    edit: i'm a moron..it comes w/ both versions, doesn't it.

    double edit: There is absolutely NO WAY to download swap magic? (i'm just trying to make sure before i shell out $30 for it)
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2006
  18. KC36330

    KC36330 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yeah a CD to boot CD based games and a DVD for the DVD game disks.

    kc
     
  19. lawcase

    lawcase Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    haha, yeah i figured that out just a second ago....but i double edited...(i'm assuming the answer is a big fat NO)
     
  20. KC36330

    KC36330 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    if you did download it how the hell you gonna boot it without an original copy or a modchip?????

    :)
    kc
     

Share This Page