1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hard Drive in PS2

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by bbugger, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. bbugger

    bbugger Guest

    Would this hard drive work with a PS2, and would it fit in the exspansion bay of the "fat" one?

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=463374953&pf_rd_i=468294

    If not, which hard drive do you recommend? And is there a limit to the size? I heard there is a 48 bit patch for hd loader, which allows up to 2tb, but i'm a little hazy on this.

    Also, what method do you recommend for putting files on the Memory Card, for free or cheapest?
     
  2. PsYAndrew

    PsYAndrew Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I DO NOT recommend generic anything..when it comes to electronics.BTW for future reference,any SATA capable HD should work.However fitting in the Slot,is the question.

    I think the Ps2 Bay is 2'5?Not sure though.

    Size-Really doesn't matter,it will connect any as far as I l know.Its just it will only see up to a certain size,I think 500GB?

    As far as HD's I recommend:

    Maxtor,but I do have a link that will help you alot I think!

    http://ps2drives.x-pec.com/?p=list

    Shows all ps2 compatible HDs
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2009
  3. bbugger

    bbugger Guest

    Thanks for that link :)
    so it doesn't have to be an ide hdd? it could be sata also? sorry if this is a stupid question... :)
    What's wrong with generic compared to the Maxtors? Just wondering, i also heard good things about Seagate. Is this true?
    And is the setup only possible using a pc (windows) or can you do it with a mac?
    thanks again :)

    Edit: Oh and its 3.5" but thanks :)

    Edit...2: would this work then:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Maxtor-Diam...6?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1235223693&sr=8-6
    ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 21, 2009
  4. goth1k

    goth1k Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The hdd has to be ide and not sata. Although pata drives will work as they are just updated ide drives. And hdloader can see drives up to 2tb if its patched for 48bit. Hope this helps
     
  5. PsYAndrew

    PsYAndrew Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thats absolutely FALSE.I have modded SEVERAL ps2 fat's with Sata HD's.Please research these things 1st Gothik.Trying to help is one thing,but giving false info is BAD.Sata's will work fine.
     
  6. goth1k

    goth1k Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    bbugger never mentioned anything about doing any mods to his ps2 to fit the hdd he just asked if that hdd would fit straight into the expansion bay which it wouldnt. Hence no research necessary
     
  7. PsYAndrew

    PsYAndrew Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You did NOT understand my message..

    I have put SATA harddrives on fat ps2 network adapters.WITHOUT any mods being done to them.I will not argue.An yes(research is pretty mandatory).Always double check your info first,especially if you don't know.
     
  8. goth1k

    goth1k Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So how exactly without making any changes to an ide NA can you possibly fit a sata drive into it?
     
  9. nodgree

    nodgree Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I gotta agree with goth1k. The Ps2 network adapter has an IDE controller on it. Once the 3.5in drive is attached to it, there is no room to add a SATA converter and still have the network adapter plug into the ps2. However, it you were to get a 2.5in sata drive and a sata converter (ide to sata) I dont see why a SATA drive would not work.

    This is just based on my own observations with my fat ps2. Please feel free to correct me if I am wrong.
     
  10. PsYAndrew

    PsYAndrew Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok..I am just going to give one Example.

    MY OWN ps2 fat has a SATA drive.a 250GB one at that.
     
  11. nodgree

    nodgree Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is that a 3.5in SATA or a 2.5in SATA. Not to hijack the thread but I'd be interested in how you did this for my own future modding. :)
     
  12. goth1k

    goth1k Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Tbh i agree with nodgree if this IS at all a possibility i would like to know how. Have you got a pic of your setup at all
     
  13. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    WRONG. sata drives are NOT compatable. the network adapter is IDE ONLY.

    [​IMG]


    even if you use a sata/ide converter, it will NOT FIT in the expansion port. the port is sized for a standard 3.5" drive only. nothing else.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    psyandrew, post pics of your setup, or stop posting FALSE INFO.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2009
  14. PsYAndrew

    PsYAndrew Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't have a way to post pics..But I swear I am using a SATA Drive.Well it doesn't matter..so w.e,

     
  15. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    it does matter. no proof means you're lying.

    prove, with pics, that you have a sata drive directly connected to the network adapter with no modification, and everyone will get off your back. simple as that.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2009
  16. goth1k

    goth1k Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @cee43ja1 im glad im not the only one who knew this was complete BS and i agree that pics = proof otherwise bbugger i stick with my original post stating that it has to be an ide hdd with NA
     
  17. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2009
  18. PsYAndrew

    PsYAndrew Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Man..Idc what you guys are saying.I know its a SATA Seagate 250GB harddrive.an it fits FLUSH in my ps2 fat with no mods to network adapter made.I have been using it for over a year.Whether you want to believe me or not is irrelevant.
     
  19. PsYAndrew

    PsYAndrew Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ceejay"..Ok then Buy me a fancy Digital Camera,an I will take the pics.Because otherwise pics are impossible.At least for the time being,but I will talk to a friend an see If I can borrow his Sony one.I WILL prove you guys wrong,an then laugh in your face when I do.believe it!...God I hate naruto
     
  20. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    There is no way a SATA drive can be hooked up to the Network adaptor without some modification, adaptor etc.

    Take the model number from your SATA drive then and post it.
     

Share This Page