1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with Jak 3 FMCB/ESR

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Xero302, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. Xero302

    Xero302 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I patched Jak 3 with the ESR patcher , the game loads up and the begging cutscene plays. But then eventually it hangs up the visuals freeze but the audio continues, and eventually there is no sound at all. I have read that Jak 3 isnt compatible with esr could anyone confirm this? If that is the case what are my options for booting this game up if any? My swap magic dvd disc is broken which is what led me to do Free Mcboot to begin with so any other option would be awesome.
     
  2. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
  3. Xero302

    Xero302 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I will try that now thanks for the help!
     
  4. Xero302

    Xero302 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    That worked! Got through the beginning cut scenes and playing through now, works flawlessly. Just out of curiosity when playing FFX International also esr patched. I noticed today there was some slight graphical issues mainly with the battle menu, nothing major and the game never hung up or froze But I was just wondering if the same method would help that also? If not that's fine cause that game is actually a backup of a backup lol.
     
  5. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    With the FFX INternational it may also work with the esr gui, or perhaps burning a new disc at a different speed may fix that.
     
  6. Xero302

    Xero302 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well i burned using nero at 4x speed the slowest it would let me, I am using a memorex dvd-r I have read that memorex isnt that great of media but It was the only thing walmart carried plus I have about 15 backups so far and besides jak 3 that now works I havent had any issues with memorex dvd. Either was like I said my backup is of a backup because I own FFX-Int but the dvd was so damaged I couldnt back it up so my friend burned me one, but that wasnt esr patched so thus I backedup and backup so that is most likely to be the reason.
     
  7. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I have made many backups of backups, so as long as the image is created with no issues, then burning shouldn't be an issue.
    Your right memorex isn't the best media, although many have no issues with it.
    But could just be a bad disc or just doesn't work well with esr.
    4x speed is what I use all the time and never any issues.
    I just have FFX and FFVII and they both work fine
    I have seen reports of FFX Int JP version working fine with esr also.
     
  8. Xero302

    Xero302 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well if I run into any major problems then Ill get "better media" until then thanks for all your help its really appreciated.
     
  9. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    No problems. I also have found that for some games I use Swap Magic 3.8 ELF instead of ESR to play the backup.
    I have had a few where that works better.
     

Share This Page