Help with website

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by cubs23, Jun 16, 2009.

1. cubs23

cubs23 Member

Ok, I am going to create an auction type website and as of right now Im at ground zero. Can you guys give me any helpful resources, tips or info about web hosting, domian names and anything else related to what I want to do? Im really a newbie at this sort of thing. So, thanks for the help. Also I did find a script that Im going to download.

(also if there is a better place for this I will try to move it)

2. Vicious88

Vicious88 Regular member

Hello there.

What you're looking to do is very ambitious, and will not be an easy task at all, but if you're serious, I can help inform you of what all you're going to need.

Because I don't know how savvy you are with computers, I'm going to word this so that even a beginner can understand the bulk of it. Please don't take offense if you're a computer wiz, I'm just doing it for the sake of readability.

First and foremost you're going to need a server. This is the machine that the website runs from. Your server does not have to be very advanced in the begining, just a low level server will do, you can always upgrade later.

You'll want your server machine to have FTP (File Transfer Protocol) access, POP3 and SMTP server software (The stuff nessicary to recieve and send emails at addresses like cubs23@yourauctionwebsite.com or such), PHP Server Software (used for presenting website data in a streamlined format, saves time of writing a webpage for every single item), and support for a good many SQL databases (where all of the information is stored).

There's no need to go out and buy or build this server machine, however, as there are plenty of affordable server hosts out there.